We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always reminds me of Kauai”
Review of Roy's

Roy's
Reserve with OpenTable
Roy's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 664 Restaurants in Chandler
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$45
Cuisines: Asian, Seafood, Hawaiian, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Private Dining, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: N 54th Street
Transit: Bus stop at Ray Road & 54th Street
Description: Blending classic techniques with adventurous Pacific Rim flavors, culinary pioneer Roy Yamaguchi created an entirely new approach to fine dining. The first Roy's opened in Honolulu in 1988 and we've spread our warm hospitality and passion for innovative and creative cuisine around the world ever since. Indulge in one of our spectacular cocktails or choose a glass from our award-winning wine list while you discover the fresh ingredients and outstanding seafood, expertly prepared by our local chefs that made us famous.
Palm Coast, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
570 reviews
525 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
“Always reminds me of Kauai”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Roy's is one of the best Pacific rim restaurants and this is one of the best. You can't go wrong with anything on the menu but try the Ono if they are serving, it's a great fish.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank denisx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    50
    17
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Gilbert, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“In a Word ... Excellent”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

My wife and I went to Roy's on the recommendation of a friend and she was spot on with her recommendation. This is an upscale restaurant with upscale food and the prices are moderately expensive but in keeping with the ambiance and the quality of the food and service.
We started off with the Canoe Appetizer for Two and both enjoyed it but my wife would have preferred it if the shrimps were hot instead of cold.

For the entree my wife had the Macadamia Crusted Mahi Mahi which was cooked to perfection and was absolutely delicious. My entree was Roy's Trio which was a mixed plate with Hibachie Grilled Salmon, Butterfish and Macadamia Crusted Mahi Mahi. All three were cooked to perfection and were delicious. The Butterfish was the stand out fish and is something I would recommend. I would confidently recommend any of the dishes we had but the Butterfish was my personal favorite.

With the ambience, friendly and efficient service and excellent food it is now firmly on my 'will visit again' list. Yes, it is a bit pricey but it is money well spent if you want a great dining experience.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank robvg47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandler, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Dinner”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We were looking for an upscale restaurant in the Chandler area as my brother was flying in from Philadelphia area and thought of Roy's. I made last minute dinner reservations. Upon arrival at the restaurant, we were met by the hostess who directed us to our table. The menu is simple with a nice choice of entrees. My brother and I had fish, my husband had steak. We enjoyed a nice glass of wine with our meals. The fish and steak was cooked to perfection along with some vegetables and rice/potatoes. The price of the entrees are in the $20 + range. I would return again! Great place for a special meal with your special girl or guy!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cecilel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandler, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pricey food and drink for what you get.”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I will admit that this was my first venture to Hawaiian food ... So, it could just be my personal taste pallet but I was not impressed with the food and less impressed by the price! With so many choices in the area, I won't be returning to Roys.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ckelly74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Roy's is pretty awesome. Food, wine, ambiance, friendly.....”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

I don't ever review restaurants but I just left from my third visit at Roy's. You will be hard pressed to find another place like this. It's a little pricey but 2 out of the 3 times I've been here I've left perfectly satisfied.
My first time here I was with a group and got the Chicken since I was not paying. The Chicken was chicken.
The second time I dined I ordered a sushi roll with Wagyu beef wrapped around it for an appetizer, the Sea Salt Ribeye, and Chocolate souffle, wow, satisfied.
The third time I took my girlfriend for her birthday. This is where Roy's separates itself. They had a custom Happy bday message inserted in our menus. They had a sparkly purple bow around the candle. Everyone we interacted with wished my girlfriend a curteous 'Happy Birthday' without being intrusive. The server brought a free dessert at the end of the meal that had Happy bday written in chocolate. Then they took a picture and printed it out for her to take home. The best part, no singing!!! They handled her birthday with class and genuine kindness. I haven't even mentioned the food that night. We got the calamari (freshest I've ever had), she had the Butterfish for her entree, I had the Hawaiian Ono with risotto, and Pineapple Upside Down Cake and Chocolate Souffle for dessert. Perfect meal. The Butterfish might be the best dish in town.
Like I said, I don't write reviews but there is something special going on at Roy's.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Roy's also viewed

Chandler, Central Arizona
 

Been to Roy's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing