We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad Decision”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Radisson Hotel Phoenix / Chandler
Ranked #13 of 32 Hotels in Chandler
Bullhead City, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Bad Decision”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

I am typing this letter as both a parent & chaperone for Special Olympic Athletes. We stayed at the Radisson Hotel 7475 Chandler Blvd in PHX/Chandler on 3/27-28th during the SO Basketball & Cheer tourney. I was saddened & appalled by the segregation we received. There were 5 groups of SO athletes staying at the hotel consisting of 15-20 kids & chaperones/coaches per group. I’m not positive, but I think the number of our Special Olympic athletes far outweighed the number of other guests at the hotel for the weekend.
Upon check in we were told that breakfast was from 6-10 am.
Friday morning we went downstairs & got in line for the awesome looking breakfast buffet consisting of several kinds of fruit, 4 kinds of dry cereal, 4 carafes of milk, 3 types of bread to make as toast, pancakes with 2 kinds of syrup, bacon, sausage, scrambled eggs, corned beef hash & 4 different kinds of juices to choose from. At that time we were asked for our vouchers. When I handed them to the server she looked at them & told me that we were being served in another room & that this buffet was for the “OTHER” guests & directed me & my two athletes around the corner to a room where “OUR” breakfast buffet was at.
Our buffet layout was 1/3rd the size & had only a two choices of dry cereal, an empty carafe of milk, one kind of fruit, bacon container, scrambled eggs & pancakes with one kind of syrup. The bacon dish was empty with just crumbs, the syrup container was empty. I asked the server in the room if they were bringing out more bacon & that the milk & syrup was empty and wanted to know if they were bringing out more. She said, “I don’t know let me check with my manager”. This was at about 7:40am. A few minutes later they brought out & replenished the empty containers & a different lady (I guess the manager) asked me if everyone had come down to eat. I informed her that there were still most of our group that hadn’t been down yet but wasn’t sure about the other groups that were there. She told me they were closing this buffet down at 8 (in about 15 minutes) to which I replied “Oh I guess they can go to the other buffet”? She told me that was for the “Other Guests” and then said something that both shocked me & angered me. “I don’t know how you put up with “THESE PEOPLE” I just don’t have the patience for “THESE KINDS OF PEOPLE”
In closing, I think that our complaints were heard, because the following morning our athletes were treated much better & allowed access to the buffet for all the guests. Overall I was very disappointed & saddened at the treatment. I don’t know who made the decision to segregate us, but it was bad form! I feel it very important to let the people know how we were treated.
Respectfully yours…..
Donald W Coen

Room Tip: Heard of several complaints about the A/C in several rooms. Its Arizona & it wasn't even tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Donniecus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RadGM, General Manager at Radisson Hotel Phoenix / Chandler, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Mr. Coen,

I regret that you walked away from our hotel with that impression. I can assure you that quite the opposite is true. We work very hard and directly with the Special Olympics organizers to give your athletes a special buffet based on requested dietary restrictions and selections. Due to the large numbers of competitors eating at the same time; and at the request of Special Olympics we moved the custom buffets into a banquet setting to assure a timely completion of breakfast and increasing your ability to depart on time for your competition. This upgraded breakfast service is provided by the Radisson Hotel and added to the room package because of our strong relationship with the Special Olympics organization.

I do apologize that our staff was unable to communicate this properly to you on site on those mornings. We did not have the banquet space the second day, which is why the set-up was modified on the weekend due to a different mix of business effecting the timing and usage of the main dining room. I can assure you that our staff loves to serve this special group along with all the variety of guests that we serve on a weekly basis and I will work with the team on how they communicate the custom buffets that we offer large groups of hotel guests.

Please feel free to contact me directly if you would like to speak further regarding your experience.

Sincerely,
Ted Trembath – Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    137
    73
    43
    13
See reviews for
102
70
35
146
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Goodyear, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

Nice staff, clean room, just one complaint... I didn't like the sleep number bed. Everything else was great! I could not find my correct number. The pool was very refreshing. I spend the whole weekend out, yes the bikes fired up early, but it was a bikers event. Lots of love and food.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Latasha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RadGM, General Manager at Radisson Hotel Phoenix / Chandler, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed the nice staff, pool and clean rooms. I apologize the Sleep Number bed was not to your liking. I look forward to your next stay.
Sincerely,
Ted Trembath - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duncan, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Wish we had more than one night at this hotel. It was quiet and clean. Liked the large bathroom counter and the 2 suitcase carpeted storage bench. Great desk for working. The pool in the inner courtyard looked so inviting but we just didn't have time. Easy drive to the airport in the morning.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DuncanMusicman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RadGM, General Manager at Radisson Hotel Phoenix / Chandler, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at the Radisson Phoenix Chandler. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed the location and cleanliness of your room. I hope you can come back and visit us again to enjoy all of our amenities like that great courtyard pool area!
Best Wishes,
Ted Trembath - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sterling Heights, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

The hotel and staff was really nice room Jr. suite great but.........there was a kids soccer group in town for a tournament or such. The children ran wild while many parents sat around (fathers and mothers) the fireplace with their bottles of wine/booze tucked under their arms . They let the kids ran up and down in the lobby very disruptive. I felt sorry for the staff who had to put up with the noise and disruption. Will ask next if any kids groups are booked when I stay again.

Room Tip: The junior suite was nice. Restaurant was lacking in choices and or menu. prices high for menu offer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toolmaker253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RadGM, General Manager at Radisson Hotel Phoenix / Chandler, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write your review. I apologize that you had to experience the other families behaving inappropriately in our hotel. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed our staff and the Junior Suite room. I hope you can come join us again when there isn't the same type of hotel traffic in the lobby.
Best wishes,
Ted Trembath - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cloquet
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

As a partner in the Carlson Properties, I expected more. It didn't start out well when as a Silver Elite member, I had requested an suite. We were to be there for 3 nights, but ended up cancelling as we were not happy with the accommodations given. I was given a bit of a run around from the front desk on how to be reimbursed for my Club Carlton points; I called Club Carlson in the a.m. and was told the Radisson should have taken care of it. We did spend one night, as we were worn out from a hectic day. The room is one that staff said was remodeled, but it left a lot to be desired for a Radisson. Supposedly a non-smoking room, but it was pretty easy for a non-smoker to smell smoke. Then they attempt to deodorize and it only makes it worse. Sorry, but the Sleep Number bed is a joke, it felt like we were sleeping on a glorified air mattress. Noisy, noisy hotel. There was at least one group there I was aware of and pretty sure they thought they ran the property. Not sure if it was poor timing on our part or just a poor hotel, but will not stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FarmGirl62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SisiRChandlerAZ, Operations Manager at Radisson Hotel Phoenix / Chandler, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
On behalf of our entire staff at Radisson we apologize for the concerns you shared about your experience at this hotel. I have addressed your concerns with our team, and I assure you we are working diligently to ensure a similar situation does not occur again in the future.

We appreciate the feedback and will use it to fine tune our operations in the hope that upon your next visit we can exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, California
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

No rooms with 2 queen beds, just double beds,which are small,or rooms with king sized beds. Tile in the shower was clean but older. When staying here for a kids' sporting event, we were given a good group rate for this that included breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level 6 Contributor
70 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

I was there for only one night last Monday, called ahead to ask if I could check in early. Front Desk girl checked and let me know they have rooms and let me check in at noon. Although she said the room is in front of the ice machine, but that didn't bother me at all, I didn't hear any noise throughout the night.

The hotel is just off the freeway, but it's quiet and clean. I was assigned to the room on the 3rd floor, the elevator was quick and I never had to wait for too long. I think they have breakfast buffet for under $10 per person from 6am to 10am, but I didn't try it out. Front Desk also gave me a discount voucher for their restaurant, that was a nice touch!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chandler hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn - Chandler / Phoenix South
1.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#24 of 32 in Chandler
123 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Phoenix/Chandler
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Wild Horse Pass Hotel & Casino
3.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Phoenix Chandler-Fashion Center
1.8 mi away
Best Westerrn Plus Chandler Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Hotel Phoenix / Chandler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Hotel Phoenix / Chandler

Property: Radisson Hotel Phoenix / Chandler
Address: 7475 W Chandler Blvd, Chandler, AZ 85226-3210
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Chandler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Chandler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Radisson Hotel Phoenix / Chandler 3*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The sophisticated Radisson Hotel Phoenix-Chandler sits in the beautiful and growing southeast area of the Valley of the Sun. At our Chandler, AZ hotel, guests enjoy proximity to Phoenix-Sky Harbor International Airport (PHX) and easy access to Phoenix, Tempe, Mesa, Gilbert and a variety of venues (both sports and leisure) in the Glendale area of Phoenix, Arizona. The Radisson is also just a short drive from Chandler Fashion Center Mall, Firebird Raceway, Polar Ice Arena, Bob Bondurant School of Driving, Wild Horse Pass Casino and renowned Rawhide Western Town. These venues offer shopping, a multitude of eateries, movies and special events. Business travelers find the Radisson Hotel Chandler nearby Intel, Honeywell, Verizon Wireless, Microchip, Freescale and Bank of America, among other widely known businesses in the Chandler area. Historic downtown Chandler is approximately seven miles away, offering eclectic dining, shopping and galleries. Our Phoenix area hotel offers spacious and stylish guest rooms, warm hospitality and an inviting atmosphere with superior service. At Radisson Phoenix-Chandler, it’s our employees who make the difference! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Radisson Hotel Phoenix / Chandler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Hotel Phoenix Chandler
Radisson Chandler
Chandler Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing