We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great first experience”
Review of Otaku

Otaku
Ranked #87 of 665 Restaurants in Chandler
Price range: US$29 - US$31
Cuisines: Sushi, Asian, Chinese, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Otaku: obsessed, hardcore fan, cult fan, fanboy or nerd. Originating in Japan from a polite second-person pronoun meaning "your home." Otaku in the U.S. is used much like the term geek. We have brought this obsession to South Chandler. Enjoy traditional Asian cuisine, artfully prepared. Fresh maki (rolls), sushi, sashimi, noodle dishes and omakase are just the beginning of this incredible dining experience.
Gilbert
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great first experience”
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Husband said the squid salad was the best he's had. The Dynamite, Red Blossom and Shrimp Tempura rolls are awesome. Unique atmosphere. Service at bar on an early Saturday night was great. Definitely give it a try. It's pricey but all sushi is anymore.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rhonda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    10
    5
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gilbert, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food and service”
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Excellent food, great service, perfect all the way around. The wait people were attentive but not annoying. The food was delivered with perfect timing as we completed each round. The sushi was fresh and well made.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MOm_Anne2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandler, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hidden Little Gem”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We moved to the area about two years ago and have always traveled to Kona or RA for our nice Sushi dining. Honestly, I pass by this place daily and other than the nice looking building, it never caught my attention to stop by and see what this little shopping center has to offer. Well, we finally did. My husband and I stopped and had a quick lunch. It was super nice! The inside just completely caught my attention. It is more like a modern style with beautiful furniture. Now on to the food. We ordered what we normally order in other sushi restaurants, which is rolls and calamari. The calamari was so good and unique, while the rolls were good too! I was impressed, give it a shot, you might be too!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Fake”
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We went to get some Sushi. While the sushi wasn't bad, it wasn't super either. I'm not even sure why I didn't like the place all that much. I think it was just bad Feng Shui. The place was split in a bar area and an atrium kind of seating area. But the whole thing was just fake. The 'marble' on the wall was just plastic. Even the staff, while friendly, wasn't Asian but pretended to be. Just don't. We know you're not Japanese and that's ok. Just stop pretending. Weird experience.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank J0hnUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandler, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 9 May 2013

We were very hopeful for a nice chic looking Sushi place so close to home. Obviously we should have checked Tripadvisor first. We started with the Pork Gyosa, which were deep friend and not pan fried. They were crispy and a little difficult to eat that way. For our entree's we dined on all Maki rolls as we're wont to do when we go for Sushi. They did accomodate our request for soy paper wrapped rolls, and had a decent selection. Unfortunately everything we ordered was very bland including some of their special rolls, and the taste from roll to roll really ran together. The service was average at best. We'll be driving to Ahwatukee and dining at Ra or Sakana for our Sushi fix from now on.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JohnNJackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Otaku also viewed

Chandler, Central Arizona
Chandler, Central Arizona
 
Gilbert, Central Arizona
Chandler, Central Arizona
 
Chandler, Central Arizona
Chandler, Central Arizona
 

Been to Otaku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing