We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice resort, but they have you captive”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Grand at Wild Horse Pass
Ranked #6 of 32 Hotels in Chandler
Certificate of Excellence
McFarland, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice resort, but they have you captive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2013

The resort and surrounding grounds are very nice. Rooms were clean and updated. All staff I encountered were very friendly and helpful. They have a nice 2.5 mile interpretive trail through the desert my wife and I enjoyed one morning. Even saw three coyotes hunt a rabbit (unsuccessfully). They have a fire pit that they'll gladly start-up upon request.
The one thing I really don't like about it is how much everything was: the food, drink, they even charge $35 for small in room dorm fridge. You couldn't find a sandwich for less than $13, a glass of wine for less than $10 and a domestic beer for less than $5.50. They're able to charge that much because this resort is on an Indian reservation, with nothing else w/in walking distance. I highly recommend renting a car if you have a prolonged stay. The nearest town is even a 15 minute drive away. Because the food was so expensive, we basically stayed at the pool and ate at the outdoor bar/restaurant. Allbeit expensive, the food was very good and the portions were enough to fill us up.

Room Tip: Request a room close to the main lobby if you don't want to walk. Resort is sprawling and rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Massamule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHeckathorne, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Grand at Wild Horse Pass, responded to this review, 22 March 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to host you and for taking the time to share your valuable feedback. We genuinely appreciate your insights and learning that our staff and resort grounds left a lasting impression with you.

We are excited to announce the new Phoenix Premium Outlets, opening April 4, 2013. This outdoor shopping experience will add over 90 luxury and upscale brands as well as several dining options to the Wild Horse Pass area. Our destination has longed for additional amenities to offer our guests and we think this is the perfect fit.

With our resort’s complimentary shuttle service to and from the Phoenix Premium Outlets, Casino and Rawhide Western Town we think our guests will truly enjoy our secluded yet easily accessible destination.

Once again, we would like to thank you for sharing your review. We hope to see you again.

Sincerely,
Stephanie Sanstead
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,477 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    792
    450
    122
    64
    49
See reviews for
351
308
74
519
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (358)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quad Cities USA
Level Contributor
284 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2013 via mobile

Just completed a stay for company meetings and the busy itinerary and cold temps (in the low 30s!!!) kept me from enjoying the pool which appeared to be wonderful. Room was ok ... small for the $240/night I paid (by the time they added all if the taxes, gratuities, etc.). And if you're not a member of Sheraton's frequent stay loyalty program (Star-something), you'll pay an additional $12.95 per day for Internet access. Can't speak for any of the amenities since I had no time to enjoy them. If it'd been my money and my choice, I'd have stayed elsewhere closer to eateries and activities.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blandboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHeckathorne, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Grand at Wild Horse Pass, responded to this review, 22 March 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We regret hearing that your experience did not meet all of your expectations.

The internet charge is common and quite comparable to our competitive set in Phoenix/Scottsdale. As an option for our guests, we do provide wireless internet in upper and lower lobby completely free of charge. We apologize if this information was not communicated to you.

The wild horses are a beautiful sight to see but it can be difficult to catch a glimpse. The best time to spot the wild horses is around sunrise or sunset, they are often times seen outside of our lobby windows running along where the golf course meets the desert.

We appreciate your feedback and hope to have the opportunity to host you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Stephanie Sanstead
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2013

A beautiful resort hidden in the desert. A spectacular pool, upscale golfing and unparalleled spa. It is a very large complex yet never feels crowded. My only question is why does the spa/fitness centre close at 6:00pm when the resort is so isolated???

Room Tip: Request a pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2013

This place is top notch.The rooms are spectacular and the views are great. This is definitely not a family place as the activity options are limited and the food is overpriced. However, for business its a really relaxing and enjoyable spot to be.

Room Tip: get a pool side view as it looks towards the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jpaw88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monroeville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2013

Stayed while visiting sister and kids. Pool area great for kids who liked the slide. The water temp of the pools could have been a touch warmer. Hot tubs nice. Hanyo pool bar/grill was very nice. KoSin was good. Did not eat at Kai, would love to though. Rooms are decent with nice views of pool, golf course and mountains. Aji spa great. Whirlwind Devil's Claw excellent both days of golf. Courteous staff at every place.

Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheila Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
130 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2013

Stayed here on a conference in February, the hotel is awesome, great entrance area and lobby, grounds are well maintained. I had a room on the fourth floor with a great view of the pool and golf course (room 4034) . The hotel is isolated by itself and a little ways from anything, so if you fly here, make sure you rent a car to get out and around. There is a casino close by and free shuttle service to it from the hotel. The golf course is very nice but a little pricey for what you get. Paid $146.00 for greens fee. Played the Cats Tail track, not over hard, very well maintained. Course Marshall did nothing to speed up the group ahead of us, who were extremely slow. Pool is heated and has a great water slide for kids.

Room Tip: Room 4034 has two double beds, and a great view of the pool area and golf course and great sunsets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wongchez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHeckathorne, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Grand at Wild Horse Pass, responded to this review, 22 March 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words. To receive a high recommendation from our guests is an honor and each time that we hit the mark it is cause for much internal celebration.

It sounds like you took advantage of many of our resort’s amenities and we are so glad that it made for an enjoyable week for you.

Please come and stay with us the next time you are in Phoenix.

Sincerely,
Stephanie Sanstead
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2013

We come here a few times a year. It is my get away retreat and since we live in Utah its only a short flight. We come as a couple but have come with our adult kids too. We usually get a room overlooking the golf course and have our coffee out on the balcony every morning. We try to get a room way down the end of the hotel so its quiet.Not that its noisy, because so far after 6 trips to this hotel its been very quiet in the room. Bathrooms are very nice with very deep tubs and a separate glass shower. There is a wonderful fireplace in lobby to sit and relax at night or outside by the fire pit toasting smores is great. Two pools and most of the time its not too crowed. Food poolside is terrific and not expensive I thought anyways. We ate lunch outside at one of the restaurants and it was just OK. The Spa is to die for. I booked two treatments for us for 2 different days because you can stay as long as you want at the private pool, hot tubs and the food there is great too. They provide free shuttle service to the casino, that's a big plus because I don't want to drink and drive. We travel there again on Feb 14-19 so if anything changes I will update this review.

Room Tip: Well I wouldn't get a room facing the parking lot, but some people wont mind that to save money...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunlover8149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chandler
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Camelback East
Royal Palms Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Grand at Wild Horse Pass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Grand at Wild Horse Pass

Property: Sheraton Grand at Wild Horse Pass
Address: 5594 W Wildhorse Pass Blvd, Gila River Indian Community, Chandler, AZ 85226-5400 (Formerly Sheraton Wild Horse Pass Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Chandler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chandler
#6 Business Hotel in Chandler
#8 Family Hotel in Chandler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Grand at Wild Horse Pass 4*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Grand at Wild Horse Pass is located in the Sonoran Desert on an expanse of rugged Arizona landscape where the ancient vistas, mountains, and roaming wild horses remain untouched. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Grand at Wild Horse Pass reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Wild Horse Pass Hotel Chandler
Sheraton Chandler
Chandler Sheraton
Sheraton Wild Horse Pass Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing