We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another Great Stay at this Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Grand at Wild Horse Pass
Ranked #6 of 32 Hotels in Chandler
Certificate of Excellence
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
263 reviews
204 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
“Another Great Stay at this Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

We stayed here for one night before returning back home, since we had been here before and had such a enjoyable experience we wanted to return..

We were welcomed upon coming into the Front Door and the bellman was helpful in getting our stuff and brought inside...

The front desk staff (who was from Roanoke, VA) was helpful in answering questions and all..we had requested a room in the Maricopa Wing, but was told that there were no rooms available on that side and we were put in the Pima Wing (Room 3032).

A little unhappy, but were told nothing was available, even though hotel was only at 12% occupancy...

The pool area which is very vast, was very inviting and comfortable, and the adult pool which is deeper (5 feet) was nice as usual..

The views were excellent of the sunset and of the Dust Devil tornadoes that were around...

The room we had was nice and had a very comfortable bed and a view of the Pool through some trees and of the mountains (facing west)

The only drawback, was our favorite restaurant Kai (was closed) until the middle of September)..

Rawhide was closed indefinately, because of a monster storm that had struck three weeks previous and blew most of it to the ground, and the waterslide was closed for maintenance while were there..

I did play golf at Whirlwind and that was another awesome experience, thanks to the staff at the golf shop for giving us a lift back to the hotel, since we didn't have to wait for the shuttle (which runs through every 20-25 minutes)

We didn't have dinner there, since only one place was open, however there is a huge shopping area about a 10 minute drive away, with numerous restaurant options (to fit all types) of cravings..

Will return again and hopefully next time when things are open...

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caneshockey31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHeckathorne, Manager at Sheraton Grand at Wild Horse Pass, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience during your recent visit. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the room and leisure amenities. The Kai team is excited to announce our reopen September 5th. We hope your travels bring you back to the Sheraton Wild Horse Pass Resort & Spa to visit Kai Restautrant again soon! Please let us know if we can be of assistance in any way.

Sincerely,

Kai Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,477 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    792
    450
    122
    64
    49
See reviews for
351
308
74
519
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (358)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woodridge, Illinois
Level Contributor
221 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

This resort is a Starwood property and is very nice. I common areas are nice, the pool area is great and the spa is very nice as well. Sorry, did not see any wild horses! Wish I did. Their is not alot to do within walking distance, but their is plenty to do within a 10 minute drive. You can take a really nice little boat ride to Rawhide, which is fun. The saloon/steaskhouse is not bad either. Their is also a local casino not far, if your into that sort of thing. All in all a niceresort. The only downfall - their are not alot of elevators. So if your on the second floor or above and your not close to an elevator it can be a long walk.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa2735
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHeckathorne, Manager at Sheraton Grand at Wild Horse Pass, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Dear Guest,

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed many of our resort offerings, including the spa, boat ride and nearby Rawhide. We hope that you will return and visit us again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Resort Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
59 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

This was our third visit to the Sheraton Wild Horse- We keep returning because of the wonderfully serene atmosphere. You are immediately immersed in peace upon entering the front doors. This stay did not disappoint. We LOVE being totally away from everything! This visit we took the WHOLE family- 8 of us sharing 2 rooms. We had plenty of space with our adjoining rooms. Our room was quite comfy and beds awesome- no complaints and housekeeping helped us out by providing much needed extra shampoo and conditioner for our girls :)

Our children had a wonderful time in the pools, which, we found to be in perfect condition. Only one pool seemed a little 'dirtier' than all the rest and I attributed it to the shallowness with much more use with children. The adult pool was as blue as can be, and pristine, with not a speck or dirt to be found. (And because I'm picky, believe me, I'd find it!) Hanyo poolside grill has tasty food and the best smoothies ever!

The staff is simply wonderful and extremely accommodating. One member of our party needed to find eardrops, so they personally shuttled her to a drug store to find what she needed.

Upon arrival we were very upset to find that Rawhide had been shut down due to a monsoon a few weeks prior. The staff told us about Rustler's Roost, so we went there instead, and think we actually enjoyed it a little more. Love Rawhide, but with the heat, it was very comfortable to be totally indoors with an unparalleled view of the Phoenix lights. The kids had an absolute blast and the food was amazing!

Took the shuttle to the Outlets one evening to save money by eating at their food court. The outlets were quite modern and the family enjoyed shopping in the upscale outlets.

We will be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jujuscorner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHeckathorne, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Grand at Wild Horse Pass, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the wonderful feedback. We are thrilled to know that your experience here continues to be a memorable one. We will share this story of success with our staff, as they enjoy hearing the outcome of all their hard work. The Sheraton Wild Horse Pass Resort & Spa has a perfect balance of being surrounded by the natural elements while providing great access to all the other amenities the Phoenix area has to offer. We look forward to your next stay with us and thank you again.

Sincerely, Housekeeping Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

We live locally and like to escape here for a night or two. I think we've stayed here 6 times over the past 15 months so we've got a good feel for the place.

For a couple looking for a local escape at a great summer price, this is an excellent option. If you look for their summer deals in April or May, you will find some excellent specials. I booked two summer stays for $99 per night -- but it also included a $50 resort food/beverage credit per-day (note: the food/beverage credit is only good on a per-day basis and there is no carryover – meaning if you used $0 of your credit on Friday, you won’t have a $100 credit for Saturday.) Obviously the rates in the fall/winter/spring increase by about 3 to 4 times. Do note that the resort now charges a $20 per-day per-room resort fee.

Their rooms are extremely comfortable, peaceful, and well apportioned. The beds are exceptionally comfortable. Each room comes with a patio and the curtains do a very good job of keeping out the sunlight in the morning. The deluxe rooms are nicely laid out for two people. If you spend a little more money and upgrade to an Executive room, your space about doubles. Our rooms have always been clean. If you don’t want an accessible room, be sure to let them know when you book your reservation. Considering the resort is quite nice, we find it funny that they provide disposable plastic drinking cups in the rooms – as opposed to glass. If you are a Starwood Platinum or Gold member they will upgrade you to a poolside room view – but be sure to request it just in case. I am no longer a Starwood Platinum or Gold member but as a preferred member they have been good about upgrading this as well. Also note that some resorts/hotels are great about providing room upgrades to their Platinum and Gold member when available, but from my experience, this resort is not one of them. I have never received a room upgrade here – even when I know for a fact that they were at low occupancy.

The hotel is beautifully decorated throughout and has a very open environment.

The pool area could use better lounge chairs. Poolside food and beverage service is almost always slow. I usually end up walking to the pool bar and ordering. They seem to run out of towels semi-frequently.

Note where the resort is located. We like just hanging out at the resort, spa, & golf course but depending upon your goals, you may want to have a car with you. They do have shuttle service to the nearby casino and outlet mall. And by the way, Whirlwind is a great golf course.

Smoking should not be allowed near the pool and should only be allowed in out of the way designated areas. They need to change this.

If you “self-park” note that it is a bit of a walk uphill to the lobby. When it’s 108 degrees, this can be an issue. However, directly west of the self-park about 25-50 yards is an easy entrance on the same level. You still have to walk a ways to the lobby but at least you're inside with air conditioning. Also, you should consider asking for a room on this side of the resort for easy entry/exit.

The staff is extremely friendly and helpful.

We've eaten at Kai once and Ko’sin several times. The food and service has always been great. The bar service has been excellent as well.

The only downside on the summer resort deal is that more recently we've noticed that it seems to draw a bit of the “cooler” crowd. These are the people who bring their own very large cooler loaded with alcohol and they’re not necessarily looking to moderate their booze intake. We would not come here during a summer holiday.

My only gripe is that recently I asked for a 2PM checkout and was told that they would have to charge me $50. As I mentioned I am no longer a Starwood Platinum or Gold member (just “Preferred”), but as I mentioned we have stayed here a half-dozen times over the past 15 months – so to want to stick me with a $50 charge was disappointing. I’m guessing they also look at the rate I’m paying when making the decision to charge $50, but we always run up a pretty good food, beverage, spa, and golf tab while we’re there.

We’ll definitely come back again, but since I am a Platinum with Marriott, Hilton, and IHG, given the additional benefits this membership provides, we will start checking out some other local resorts as well.

Room Tip: Request a southside room (entrance is close to the self-park area) with a poolside view, non-accessi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank veritastraveler66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHeckathorne, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Grand at Wild Horse Pass, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Dear Guest,

We love to hear about repeat local guests coming to stay with us. We appreciate your feedback about the room cleanliness and overall feel of the resort. Thank you for your kind words. We appreciate your kind words about Kai and our entire resort staff. We will be sure to pass along your compliments. We are sorry that we could not grant your late checkout on the particular day in question. We hope to meet that expectation next time.

Sincerely,
Resort Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

This summer I wanted to visit 3 different resorts in Az and desided on this resort as one of my stops. When we visited in the middle of July of course it was hot and we love the heat. The large open lobby with indian murals on the walls was breathtaking. The views of the desert went on for miles and you could see the dust blowing from all the wild mustangs running by. I give this a 3 rating as it seems the resort needs to work on keeping the pools cleaner and they are in need of repairs. The pools needed to be re plastered in a few of them. You could see them peeling. There was also a musty smell in the rooms. All of the staff working was very nice and easy to deal with though. I really liked the food quality and a excellent steak I had at the casual restaurant. As a travel agent I try to keep up with all the resorts I send my clients to. I hope they can work on getting the pools in order soon.

Room Tip: Get a suite for the most room and nicer amenities!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adent1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHeckathorne, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Grand at Wild Horse Pass, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your recent stay and review.
We are glad that you decided to stay with us and that you enjoyed our sweeping views and our cultural artwork. I have shared your few concerns with our relevant department leaders. We are thrilled to know that you enjoyed the friendliness of our staff. We hope that you will return to visit us soon.

Sincerely,
PR Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
College Station, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

Spent a week at resort for a conference so had lots of activities to stay busy. Highly recommend you have a vehicle as there is not much at hotel and you need transportation to get back and forth. There is a shuttle that will take you to and from the Casino which has several restaurants and lots of games of chance. The pool was fun even in October, but the nights were really cool. Rooms were fantastic and loved the spa tubs in every room.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pw H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHeckathorne, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Grand at Wild Horse Pass, responded to this review, 3 August 2013
Dear Guest,

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Sheraton Wild Horse Pass Resort and Spa and had the opportunity to experience some of our amenities outside of your conference agenda. Thank you very much for sharing these experiences with us.

We look forward to sharing more memories with you on your next visit.

Sincerely,
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

I hosted a meeting at this property in February and the feedback was excellent. Our meeting was confined to the hotel so we had no issues with transportation since we hosted all of the meals. However, I could see the remote location as an issue if you wanted to explore the Phoenix area.

The service was excellent and the views from the hotel lobby are incredible.

I did get complaints from our group about the $4/night cleaning fee as this was new to almost everyone in the group. It seems a bit petty - just tack that $4/night on to the room cost?

Room Tip: Try to get a room near the lobby/restaurants or you may have a long walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FLJtodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHeckathorne, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Grand at Wild Horse Pass, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for electing to host your meeting at Sheraton Wild Horse Pass Resort & Spa. We know there are many great resorts in the valley and we appreciate that you brought your business to our resort.

Our staff puts great effort into connecting personally with each guest. We are passionate about what we do and it is gratifying when a guest senses our genuine care for them. It is truly our pleasure to assist.

Please come see us again.

Sincerely,
PR Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chandler
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Camelback East
Royal Palms Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Grand at Wild Horse Pass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Grand at Wild Horse Pass

Property: Sheraton Grand at Wild Horse Pass
Address: 5594 W Wildhorse Pass Blvd, Gila River Indian Community, Chandler, AZ 85226-5400 (Formerly Sheraton Wild Horse Pass Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Chandler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chandler
#6 Business Hotel in Chandler
#8 Family Hotel in Chandler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Grand at Wild Horse Pass 4*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Grand at Wild Horse Pass is located in the Sonoran Desert on an expanse of rugged Arizona landscape where the ancient vistas, mountains, and roaming wild horses remain untouched. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Starwood, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Grand at Wild Horse Pass reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Wild Horse Pass Hotel Chandler
Sheraton Chandler
Chandler Sheraton
Sheraton Wild Horse Pass Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing