We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“August Visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Grand at Wild Horse Pass
Ranked #6 of 34 Hotels in Chandler
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2014

3 night stay for friends' event was a mixed set of pros & cons. The resort itself was lovely, well maintained, and pleasant. The room had a very comfortable bed and excellent bathroom with separate shower stall along with a deep tub. A nice beverage bar for coffee and water bottles along with extras in the room like a safe, iron& board, and hair dryer. The bell/doormen were polite and helpful alerting one to when the shuttle was arriving & always offering complementary water which was appreciated with daily temps over 100. The food offered at the lobby cafe and the pool/bar- Hanyo was fresh, well prepared and very good. The staff at both were friendly and personable.
The cons were the disappointing closure of the spa which was a plan for the group staying for the event. The closure was not divulged by the staff when planning accommodations for a group event to my friend who could have chosen an alternate set of dates so guests could enjoy the Spa as planned. Coupled with closure of 2 of the restaurants, the 'resort fee' of $20 should have been waived or at a minimum reduced by 50%. The mandatory $12 bellman fee is - excessive & insulting. If I do not need the service, therefore I should not be forced to pay for it. Same for the $4/night housekeeping fee. While I understand some guests do not tip appropriately, I do but now there is no recourse if the room is not up to par or not maintained daily to standards. Ironically, once in the room, there is a card to hang on the door if you wish to participate in the 'green' program and forgo daily housekeeping services...that you have already been charged a tip fee. Really?! There is no insulation between rooms and conversation can be clearly heard in rooms next door; gaps under the adjoining and entry door are also contributing to the issue. The door locks themselves are the loudest I've ever experienced and sound like a gunshot in the middle of the night when other guests allow the door to close normally. Despite the comfort of the bed, the middle of the night noise from inconsiderate neighboring guests is very disruptive. My experience had the added 'benefit' of guest next door smoking something unidentifiable and the odor concentrating in my room. Stuffing towels at the base of doors in the middle of the night and opening patio to air out the room then let the a/c re-cool the room was a lost night of sleep. Sound proofing is a major flaw with the hotel.
The aesthetics of the property are beautiful as is the desert setting, the guest experience is lacking in attention to detail for the primary reason for staying at the resort- restful sleep.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Di7740
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHeckathorne, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Grand at Wild Horse Pass, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your thoughtful review of your recent stay with us. While I am pleased that there were several positive aspects of your experience, I truly apologize that we missed on some of the details of communication and service delivery. I am also sorry that the circumstances of the work on property interfered with your experience. We are very excited and pleased to have had the opportunity to renovate our spa and food and beverage venues in August and hope that you will be able to enjoy the results of this work in the near future!
Sincerely,
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,562)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

517 - 523 of 1,563 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2014

Made our reservation on the SPG website for this specific property as a staycation - when arriving to the property we were advised that the primary restaurant, Kai was closed as part of the 'seasonal shut down' - this was our primary purpose for staying here; to enjoy a special birthday celebration (luckily Shula's had an open time slot for our reservation that night, and they were close by) – after stopping by the room with our luggage, I took a walk down to Aji Spa and find a sign posted on the door stating they are closed for renovation and apologize for the inconvenience (the front desk staff didn't even advise us that it was closed - and the hotel still charged a 'resort fee' of $20.00 for use of the Spa, shuttle and wifi). The next morning we were looking forward to a good breakfast in the Ko’Sin restaurant, and it too was closed for renovation and seating was set up in the lower level lobby area by the bar (this too was not explained during check in) - This entire unfortunate experience could have been avoided if the property were to have advised its customers upon making a room reservation that these areas were not accessible during the time of our stay …..departed the next day feeling disappointed

Room Tip: Call the hotel in advance to ensure all areas of the property are open (especially in the summer mon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AZHarrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHeckathorne, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Grand at Wild Horse Pass, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide this valuable feedback regarding your recent stay at Sheraton Wild Horse Pass Resort & Spa. I am happy to hear that you chose to “staycation” with us for your birthday celebrations. However, I am disappointed to learn that we were unable to accommodate you and your family for your dining options. It is unacceptable that you were not notified of our renovations until after arrival and furthermore displeasing that we did not bring it to your attention during the check-in process. This is a matter that has been rectified immediately and will not occur again in the future. As for renovations, Kai experiences a seasonal closure annually for approximately one month during August, and will have its grand re-opening August 28th 2014. Additionally, the resort service charge of $20.00 provides access to the fitness center located within the spa which was opened during the time of renovations. The spa has since re-opened for treatments and continues to offer unparalleled relaxation in what we pride ourselves on as the only authentic Native American spa in all of Arizona.

My hope is that you will return to our resort so that you can experience our true level of service and relax and enjoy the vacation that you deserve. Thank you again for your feedback and please do not hesitate to connect with our team prior to arrival.

Sincerely,
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Our family (two adults and college student) stayed at this resort for a long weekend in July 2014. We had a wonderful time. Check in was quick and efficient. I made reservations online using the hotel's website. We had a king size bed with a balcony which overlooked the back of the hotel and conference center which was fine as we were not in our room much. We did have a roll away bed in our room for two nights and it fit fine. It is my understanding if you join the Sheraton preferred guest program you would get a room overlooking the pool. In the lobby is a cafe where coffee and muffins can be purchased and charged to the room. I spent Friday by the pools of which there are three - one of the pools is sufficient size for swimming laps and there is a water slide which I enjoyed and there were children using the water slide too. My husband played golf at one of the resort's golf courses and he easily got a tee time playing with some other hotel guests. There is a bar/restaurant (sandwiches and salads and some appetizers) by the pool. I ordered lunch and it was brought to me where I was sitting by the pool. Friday afternoon by the pool was not that busy - Saturday by the pool was quite busy. For the weekend in the summer in Phoenix, there was musical entertainment in the lobby on Friday and Saturday evening and on Saturday afternoon, there was a group of three musicians by the pool. On Friday afternoon, there was a wine tasting which was enjoyable. The staff was pleasant - I had difficulty using the computer for printing my boarding pass and the staff at the desk printed my boarding pass for me. I spoke with many of the staff people and everyone was pleasant and friendly. We enjoyed our time here and will return again when in the area. We checked out on Sunday very quickly. This hotel is in a breath taking location on an Indian reservation surrounded by mountains. In the summer, the sunset was gorgeous.

Room Tip: We were on third floor facing conference center and room was quiet - our room had a king size bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHeckathorne, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Grand at Wild Horse Pass, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with valuable feedback regarding your most recent stay. We are more than happy that you were able to enjoy all of the wonderful amenities our property has to offer. We are also glad to hear you connected with several associates, finding them helpful and friendly - as that it the kind of service we aim for. We cannot wait to welcome you back to our property.
Sincerely,
PR Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

The A/C in the room wasn't working correctly (this seems to be a reoccurring theme at SPG properties), so I asked to change to another room. The guest services department said, "We will send an engineer to look if the thermostat is working correctly, and then she would look at other options about changing rooms." Another issue I had was that my room was not made up until 5:30pm - I left my room at 9:00M and returned around 3:00pm. I phoned guest services to request to the room be made up, but it wasn't until I went to the front desk, to request the room be made up, that a house keeper cleaned the room. What disappoints me most, was that both times I contacted customer service, I was given excuses, and not solutions to my problems. I had to wait around for the engineer to repair the a/c unit (which was clogged with lint and dust particles preventing proper air circulation), in a hot a muggy room for 40+ minutes and I need to run errands. Secondly, my first request for house cleaning was ignored because the house keeping manager told me the room wasn't cleaned because the room attendant for that floor had left for the evening. Good customer service, would have been to acknowledge the inconvenience I was experiencing, and transfer my room, so your team could have made all the necessary repairs and allow housekeeping to clean the room. Instead, I felt I was paying to provide convince to the hotel. I was forces to waste my time and wait in a hot unkempt room until the engineer and housekeeping could address the rooms issues. This is what I expect to do when I am at home, but not on holiday in a 5 star resort.

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHeckathorne, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Grand at Wild Horse Pass, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear guest,
Thank you so much for your comments. We truly value your feedback and we appreciate that you would take the time to post your experience. It is very disappointing that we failed to meet your expectations and we sincerely apologize for our errors and the inconveniences you experienced. We know that you have many choices when traveling to the Phoenix area and hope that in you would consider us again for your next visit.
Sincerely,
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

My husband and I went there on a business trip and we were amazed. The grounds are beautiful and the food was beyond reproach. We were upgraded to a suite for free which had a spectacular view. They have a fantastic trail and very relaxing poolside service. I would love to visit again!!

Stayed: May 2014
1  Thank Amber R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHeckathorne, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Grand at Wild Horse Pass, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience from your recent stay at the Sheraton Wild Horse Pass Resort & Spa. We sincerely appreciate your kind words and are so glad to hear you enjoyed so many of the amenities we have to offer.

Whether on business or leisure, we are elated to hear you enjoyed the grounds, food, and upgraded room with a view, our Interpretive Trail and Hanyo Pool.

Again, thank you for sharing your resort experience and we look forward to your next visit!

Sincerely,
Restaurants & Bars Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I found out about this place through a military site who are known for offering typically 3* and above hotel and resorts. I haven't a clue as to how this place slipped through the cracks! There where truly RED FLAGS & WARNING SIGNS from the day I reserved the room. First they immediately charge my credit card for the entire stay (3 days)... I still had 15hrs before I would even arrive in any part of Arizona. After going to this place direct web site I notices a number of difference in the way they listed there rooms and other sites that they have as 3rd parties after checking about three I called the SHERATON WILD HORSE PASS RESORT & SPA directly, questioning the room that I reserved and the charges to my credit card. I was informed by staff that their practice is to charge one- two nights upfront and that they don't guaranty rooms, they are on a first come first serve basses! I was OUTRAGED and asked for clarity... so you mean to tell me, I can pay for a suite and reserve it online and when I get there you can put me in a regular room? "UHH Yeah" was the young woman's reply. Then told me, " you need to take that up with the third party you made your reservation with, not us". I immediately called the travel agent and was put on hold for 45min while the two went back and forth. After the agents return, I was told that my King Deluxe room was confirmed but if they offer a variety of King Deluxe then which one couldn't be guarantied ( scratching My head now) so you are good to go, but they don't allow refunds less than 7 days out. Never the less!!!! I get there and not only am I in 2 basic room with a king size bed that LOOKS and SMELLS like the cheapest MOTEL you can think of when I print out a copy of the advertised room and my conformation, I get the OMG look and I'm told if you could let me copy that I will turn it in to a manager but we are booked to capacity though the rest of this month. SERIOUSLY!!!!!!!!!!!!!! In the three days of being there, no linen was changed, just remade beds and turned pillows with my make-up over! Who does that? We literally saw maybe ten other people out and around the entire place during our stay (adults and children) but they considered the place to be booked to capacity! Absolutely NO CONTINENTAL ANYTHING and the two complimentary waters, I am sure I paid for with the $42 or $43 resort charge they hit me with on check-out! Overpriced MOTEL, then want you to pay for leaving your room or better yet stay in your room and watch a t.v that is programed to do more advertising than entertaining... like a MOTEL! I promise there was not one person walking around with a smile on their face... and I will do everything in my power to make sure this place is not OFFERED to ANY OTHER SOLDIER ever again!!!!!!! And I hope the general public can learn from our tragedy and go some other place, I mean we Couldn't even check out w/o having to wait half an hour for someone to return to the front desk, SMDH! Thanking God above, we left that place and went just down the highway and stayed at the Homewood Suite for less money, got us a two bedroom suite with a separate living and kitchen for the same amount of days with breakfast and DINNER included, more entertainment and beautiful surrounding and I must say they turned our frown upside down.
I'm not interested in any comments from the resort whatsoever this post is strictly for the consumers!

Room Tip: "TURN AROUND AND RUN!" "A/C didn't seem to work"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank chanda b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHeckathorne, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Grand at Wild Horse Pass, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts an observations regarding your recent stay with us. We are extremely concerned that your experience left you frustrated and we truly apologize that we failed to meet your expectations. We understand that you did not specifically want a reply from us. As is our policy, we must reply and we do feel it important that we expand the explanation of some of the circumstances of your stay that may have been unclear in your evaluation.
We have many seasonal packages that are available directly through the Resort and our external partner web sites which vary in cost, based on content and availability. This includes one package specifically intended for Military members, but this is only available through the resort specific special offers page.
Third party partners are a component of our marketing and guests who choose this option enter a separate financial arraignment directly with the third party which includes prepayment of the room fees. All of these special rates are subject to the resort service fee, which is clearly stated in your arrival confirmation email. We do not have any packages through these partnerships that are targeted for specifically for Military members. Perhaps there was confusion during the booking process, but the rate selected was specific to the room type assigned.
Again, we sincerely appreciate your time and apologize for your frustration.
Sincerely,
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

It's just a beautiful resort. My room was very clean, and quiet, and had a wonderful view. I must say that the staff I dealt with only added to a perfect stay. To name a few, Larry and Nathan would have to be at the top of my list for having and using the skills needed to make a good stay a great stay. The whole experience from checking in to checking out was flawless.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank J R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHeckathorne, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Grand at Wild Horse Pass, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear Guest,
I want to personally thank you for providing us with the excellent feedback from your most recent stay with us at the resort. I was delighted to read about the wonderful experiences you had with Nathan and Larry, please be assured we will share the kind words with them. We take pride in our service and we strive to make every guest's experience unique and wonderful just like yours. We cannot wait to welcome you back to The Sheraton Wild Horse Pass Resort and Spa to enjoy the beautiful views and amenities that our property has to offer to all of our guests.
Sincerely,
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chandler
1.6 mi away
Wild Horse Pass Hotel & Casino
5.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Phoenix Chandler-Fashion Center
6.3 mi away
Hilton Phoenix Chandler
Hilton Phoenix Chandler
#4 of 34 in Chandler
796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Chandler Hotel & Suites
6.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Phoenix Chandler Fashion Center
7.5 mi away
Arizona Grand Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Grand at Wild Horse Pass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Grand at Wild Horse Pass

Address: 5594 W Wildhorse Pass Blvd, Gila River Indian Community, Chandler, AZ 85226-5400 (Formerly Sheraton Wild Horse Pass Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Chandler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Chandler
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chandler
#6 Business Hotel in Chandler
#7 Family Hotel in Chandler
Price Range: £129 - £324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Grand at Wild Horse Pass 4*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Grand at Wild Horse Pass is located in the Sonoran Desert on an expanse of rugged Arizona landscape where the ancient vistas, mountains, and roaming wild horses remain untouched. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sheraton Grand at Wild Horse Pass reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Wild Horse Pass Hotel Chandler
Sheraton Chandler
Chandler Sheraton
Sheraton Wild Horse Pass Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing