We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A few minor glitches but had a nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Grand at Wild Horse Pass
Ranked #6 of 34 Hotels in Chandler
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 July 2010

We are locals and were taking advantage of the great summer deals and having ourselves a staycation. We went with 3 other families and between us there were 8 adults and 10 children ranging in age from 2-11 yrs old. Everything went well with our check in. Our package included an upgrade to a room with a pool view. Our friends had a different package but asked to be upgraded to the pool view room and they did so with no problem.
For dinner we all wanted to take the water taxi from the hotel to Rawhide. Unfortunately a dust storm was predicted so the boat was shut down. The concierge, GiGi arranged for us to be driven over by the hotel van and an additional vehicle. I was in the SUV but the people who rode in the van had to deal with a wild ride - excessive speed and ignored stop signs. The A/C was also out in the van. We hoped that by the time we were ready to head back to the resort that the dust storm was over and we could ride the boat. The night seemed to have cleared up but we found out the boat was still not running. Rawhide called the hotel and arranged for the van to come back for us. The ride back was a different driver and much calmer.
Breakfast at Kosin was nice. The food was good. We were surprised though that the servers were unaware of what packages were available and we had to tell them about the "kids eat free". They got confused trying to break down the bill and get all the different rooms orders separate. I would think that a resort like this would do stuff like that all the time but it seemed like a whole new concept for them and on our second morning they made a comment that it took too long to figure out the bill yesterday and they would take each room order separately. Again- we are wondering why this isn't something they would think of already. Then, upon check-out it turned out they never took the kid's meal prices off the bills and everything had to be adjusted. It was a minor glitch to deal with but the food was good. Service was strange- all the orders came out at separate times.
We spent the day at the pool and ate lunch poolside. The food was good but service was slow- it seemed like they were short staffed. There was no one supervising the waterslide. The second day at the pool there were a bunch of rowdy kids on the slide that were being irresponsible and unsafe- walking up the slide itself and going down one after another without making sure it was clear. I was disappointed that no one was supervising and again it looked like the pool was short staffed. I did point this out to a staff member who went up and said something and then he disappeared and the antics continued.
Aside from that, we had a good time. They had some organized activities for the kids at the pool too which seemed to be fun for the ones who participated. On the second day they had a pottery painting station set up. Unfortunately they were charging $18 per piece and not one person was partaking. After an hour or so they packed up and left.
We did get to ride the boat the second day just to see what it was like. We did a loop from the resort to Rawhide. It was very laid back and we enjoyed it.
Overall, I would give the resort a thumbs up. It offered a great package deal for the hot summer months and is only a 15 minute drive from our house. I would go back if the same deal was available. The resort is beautiful, the rooms were very nice and clean. The lobby is beautiful and the views are breathtaking.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank azdavisfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,562)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,258 - 1,264 of 1,562 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2010

Recently we stayed at the Sheraton Wild Horse Pass Resort and Spa. The service from the Valet's, front desk and housekeeping proved to be above and beyond what we could have experienced. The beauty of the resort goes without saying and very unique. The resort was very very busy that weekend, but it was fun watching all the families having so much fun. The brunch on Sunday was outstanding and our room was wonderfully quiet and very peaceful. After arriving home from such a great weekend, I discovered that I had left my wedding rings in the bathroom. We called immediately and housekeeping went to the room where they were already cleaning and was able to get them for me. I cannot say enough about the honesty and trust I feel for the staff at this hotel. It is a place we will return to in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JTH990000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHeckathorne, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Grand at Wild Horse Pass, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2010

Dear Guest,

We are elated to learn that that we connected with you and impressed upon you the sincere concern and passion we have for our guest’s well-being. You must have been beside yourself when you realized that you had left your wedding ring in the bathroom. I know that I would have been. I am sorry that you went through that but I am elated to learn that our esteemed associates were able to quickly make your world right again. We are extremely proud of the people who make up this resort’s soul.

It is an extreme honor to hear that we delivered the type of service that warrants your return in the future. Thank you for taking the time to share your story. We take the feedback we receive from this platform very seriously. We look forward to hosting you when you return.

Sincerely,

Stephanie Heckathorne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2010

We were there on one of their busiest weekends, and we had a wonderful time. The service was fabulous. The breakfast buffet was awesome. Pool food was quick and yummy. We golfed, hung by the pool, went to the casinos at night. Wonderful time had by all. Highly recommend it to a friend.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jagertso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2010

The resort is quiet and beautiful. Staff is pleasant and attentive. The front desk was extremely helpful especially Jason. We had internet difficulties and Jason was able to remedy our problems. We were in town for my husbands' graduation from University of Phoenix Doctoral program. Our stay was both enjoyable and memorable. We spent little time at the resort but we enjoyed a wonderful breafast...the bacon in delicious. The food at room serice was excellant!!

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frostfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2010

The staff at the hotel was friendly and accommodating. We had a few questions about our vacation package and the front desk was very helpful helping us figure out how much money we had to spend at the resort. The male waiters at the pool were very quick whenever we'd put the flag up for service/food. They even brought big glasses of ice water out with our smoothies, etc. The extra touch goes a long way when it's 110 degrees outside! Sharlyn at the Ko'sin Restaurant was a great server and she was always willing to answer any of our AZ questions. We appreciated her attentive service!

Our room was the furtherest possible room from the front desk which was honestly quite the hike. However, it was so quiet being down at that end of the resort. The only bummer was we were so far away from the Lobby/free wi-fi/parking lot/pool area we had to plan our trips down there with when we were coming or going from the resort. Other than being so far way from 'the activity/action', our room was comfortable. The bathroom was especially nice. The bed was a little hard for our taste but the air conditioning was quiet and the flat screen TV was nice!

The location is great. This resort is only about 15 minutes from the airport yet you feel like you are in a remote area of the desert. The resort is really close to some major shopping areas like Arizona Mills and other malls. We mostly relaxed at the resort but there was plenty to do within a half hour drive. Great, central location. The pool area has 3 large pools, 2 or 3 hot tubs and a water slide/small pool. The most adult friendly pool was the deepest one - the kids tended to stay in the more shallow pool areas. The smoothies and food from the pool-side grill was a little expensive but delicious. The bathrooms at the pool were clean and well kept. We walked the interpretative trail each morning before it got too hot out and we really enjoyed it. We DID see 2 snakes on the 3rd day - one was a rattle snake (which the trail warns you about) and the other one looked like a King snake. We didn't mind so much but all of the lizards skittering around in the desert bushes might really bug some people. :)

We went for our anniversary and had a fabulous stay. I would say the value for what we got vs. what we paid was awesome. We would definitely consider this resort again in the future! Thanks for the great time and fun memories!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ridemi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHeckathorne, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Grand at Wild Horse Pass, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2010

Dear Guest,

Happy belated Anniversary. We certainly recognize that you have several choices when making your resort arrangements and we are so honored that you elected to stay with us for your special anniversary celebration.

Thank you for taking the time to share details from your recent stay. It is great to hear that you found our staff to be “friendly and accommodating.” Every department of our resort focuses on delivering world-class service and it sounds like that resonated with you. We are honored to be graced with associates like Sharlyn and our talented pool attendants who all sincerely care about connecting with our guests and making their stay a memorable one. Thank you for letting us know that the service felt attentive. That is our goal!

With regard to our layout and size; when we designed the resort we wanted a space that had smooth lines to replicate the nearby mountain range. I do understand that makes for a spacious building and it sounds like you were able to enjoy the perk of tranquility. We certainly understand when guests want to be closer to the lobby and do our very best to accommodate requests for nearby rooms.

It sounds like you enjoyed our Interpretive Trail. Thank you for taking that in during your time here.

We truly appreciate you taking the time to share the valuable feedback from your stay with us. We relish the opportunity to see ourselves through our guest’s eyes. We hope to have you as our return guest soon.

Sincerely,

Stephanie Heckathorne
PR Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2010

I live in the Phoenix area and wanted to enjoy a in town getaway with friends. There are many resorts in the area that are offering discounted rates for the summer and for locals but I found the best value at the Sheraton @ Wild Horse Pass. They don't charge you to park nor do they have high resort fees on top of the daily rates. This was just the beginning however.

We arrive at the hotel and are greeted by Drake. I mention that one of the guests is celebrating a birthday and he made sure that we had an upgraded room with an excellent view, a personalized birthday card with champagne, and a drink credit at the bar. None of this was requested for directly but was just one of the many special touches at the resort during our stay.

We stopped at the concierge desk to find out information for dinner. Gigi welcomed us with some bottled water and printed out menus for not only the hotel restaurants but local area restaurants within a short drive. She also asked if we were going to the spa and when we said yes she provided us with 20% off discount cards to apply toward any services. She offered to have us driven over to the spa but we opted for the short 8 minute walk.

Since the resort is out a ways from the highway and from the concrete jungle it actually feels cooler than the stated temperature. There was a breeze and the gila river and mountain views were breath taking. There were shade trees by the pool and towel service with umbrellas. The pool was nice and cool even in the 110 degree weather! Ahhh, so refreshing.

So, after heading to the spa we stopped for smoothies at the cafe and were immediately greeted and helped. There were complimentary muffins and refreshing water with fruit available. The server also offered the extras of the protein smoothie which ended up making up about 3/4 of another smoothie.

In celebration of my friends birthday we were going to enjoy a nice dinner. After checking out the menus we decided on what we wanted but mixed up the restaurants. The manager at the Ko Sin made sure he checked to see if there was space available at the Kai and personally escorted us there to make sure we found our way and even managed to squeeze us in even though you typically need reservations.

We were served by Shay at the Kai restaurant. This was by far the best dining experience I have ever had. Learning about the local culture, artist, and food throughout the meal just made it such a personal experience. The food was amazingly delicious and Shay even had a card waiting for us at the room upon returning thanking us for dining with us for the evening. Just another special and personal touch.

This is the most unpretentious, service oriented and friendly resort I have ever visited or experienced. Being a local you sometimes get tired of the "air" in Scottsdale and it can be more on the pretentious side. If you don't want that feeling this is where you should be.

Thanks to everyone at the resort who made this a fabulous and memorable staycation!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sonnibeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2010

From the first day my co-worker and I arrived at the hotel, the service was nothing short of excellent. Everyone from Ryan, the front desk service rep, to the cleaning ladies were friendly and courteous. The rooms were very clean. The pool area was clean and the pool wait staff were very professional, even under the hot sun in the month of June. The gym was nice and it offered a lot of different workout choices. The young lady who was at the Aji Spa desk was also great. The outdoor trail was great to run or walk on in the morning. There was dining and bar areas on the resort itself. There were shopping malls only minutes away from the resort. There was a casino just off of the resort grounds. I could go on, but it would take forever to explain the great experience I had at this place.

The most interesting part of all of this was that I never would have imagined I would have this much fun in Arizona during the summer. During the winter, this would be the place to be!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FMSPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHeckathorne, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Grand at Wild Horse Pass, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2010

Dear Guest,

“Nothing short of excellent.” Those are sweet words to our ears. That is the mark we aim for every time with each guest. Thank you for taking the time to share your very valuable insight and the experiences from your recent stay.

It sounds like you were able to enjoy many of our resort offerings and nearby attractions.
We feel extremely fortunate to have warm and courteous staff members like Ryan, our talented housekeeping team and the front desk attendants at Aji Spa who impress our guests and contribute to our successes each week. They care deeply about doing what is right and it brings us such pride to hear that they impacted your visit in a positive way.

We look forward to your next visit and sincerely appreciate your feedback.

Sincerely,

Stephanie Heckathorne
PR Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chandler
1.6 mi away
Wild Horse Pass Hotel & Casino
5.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Phoenix Chandler-Fashion Center
6.3 mi away
Hilton Phoenix Chandler
Hilton Phoenix Chandler
#4 of 34 in Chandler
796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Best Westerrn Plus Chandler Hotel & Suites
6.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Phoenix Chandler Fashion Center
7.5 mi away
Arizona Grand Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Grand at Wild Horse Pass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Grand at Wild Horse Pass

Address: 5594 W Wildhorse Pass Blvd, Gila River Indian Community, Chandler, AZ 85226-5400 (Formerly Sheraton Wild Horse Pass Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Chandler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Chandler
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chandler
#6 Business Hotel in Chandler
#7 Family Hotel in Chandler
Price Range: £131 - £323 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Grand at Wild Horse Pass 4*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Grand at Wild Horse Pass is located in the Sonoran Desert on an expanse of rugged Arizona landscape where the ancient vistas, mountains, and roaming wild horses remain untouched. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Grand at Wild Horse Pass reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Wild Horse Pass Hotel Chandler
Sheraton Chandler
Chandler Sheraton
Sheraton Wild Horse Pass Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing