We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved This Place and Will Go Back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Grand at Wild Horse Pass
Ranked #6 of 34 Hotels in Chandler
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2007

We stayed for 7-nights. Our original room was 4th floor. Requested a ground floor room near pool. They made the change. Great place! Especially if room is facing West (sunsets, pools, golf course, +) Also, a room near center makes all facility assets close. The place is wonderful. Being close to the pools, bars, etc makes it even better.
There was a slight problem with the room the fist day. But, the staff took care of it just fine. After that, all was great. I give the staff a 5* rating. Only problem we had with place was the flies at the pool bar. They were thick and nothing was done. We there on internet special for $99 per night. Incredible value for price.

There is a 2.5 mile (r/t) walk along the golf course/desert. We did it every day. Start early if you there in summer.

Restaurants: The top restaurant there is named KAI. Service was incredible. Food was very special, but small portions. Room was very dark. They provided laser pens for reading menu. Why? Maybe the price. Dinner for two, with 1 glass of wine each was just under $200 (total). I am not complaining. Just would like to have had a bit more substance served (I am 195 and a moderate eater). However, everything else was First Class.

Could drag on. Will stop. I believe most important is the room location. Especially if you are staying more than a couple nights.

PS: Check the place out on their website.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Isle 'n Sun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,577)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,449 - 1,455 of 1,577 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2007

Okay, first of all, i want to let everyone know how beautiful of a property this hotel is located on.

The rooms are great, every room has either a balcony or a patio (1st floor).

The Kai Restaurant is the best restaurant i've ever eaten at before. (5 star)

Beware of this things though:

The boat ride is not open right now, and no one advised me of this when i called to confirm 2 weeks before. They aren't even close to reopening they are still cleaning dirt and rocks out.

They do have a golf cart shuttle to the golf course & casino & Rawhide Restaurant every 30 mins.

Be careful of using the coffee shop, a Pepsi and pack of Reeses cost me $6.10.

Use the gift shop instead and you will only pay $4.50.

Good things:

Rooms are nicely decorated
Everyone uses your name when you eat at the restaurants
Scenery is awesome
Waterslide (Very fun even for adults)
Pool Service is a plus
Beds are comfortable
Good internet service

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank caneshockey31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2007

LIving in the area of the HOT desert, we often try to do one or two wkend getaways to near-by resorts for family fun and to take advantage of great summer rates at wonderful resorts. This place was by far the best we've experienced. The pictures on the website don't even do it justice. Beautiful all around. Well maintained and so clean. It feels safe and secure and our kids had a blast...3 pools, a great poolside bar and restaurant, ongoing kids activities that the staff search out the kids and invite them to join (watermelon eating, "duck" races on the slide, a bonfire at night, movies at the pool) poolside music plays even in the heat. But mostly i have to say that the staff were fantastic. So helpful, friendly, easy-going and not at all pretentious. You don't feel like you have to have a ton of money to belong here. Agree with previous post-er that the casino is not worth going to unless you love smoke and slots, but the ride on the pontoon at sunset is awesome!! I was surprised to see that another person had a bad experience here...ours was great from start to finish. Will defnitely make this our "great escape" all the way from Tucson!! (smile) Room was clean and good size. Wish they had refrig/micro but then again, this is a resort so not to be expected.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suehm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2007

I booked this hotel some time ago as a we have never been to Arizona and it was a surprise vacation for my wifes 40th.
The only downfall was we had a very long flight and a couple of connections and our luggage did not come with us....received it at 06:00 a.m. the next morning. At least we received it !
We stayed in an end suite.........awsome views and beautiful room with. Wonderful bed and outstanding bathroom with glass stand alone shower and very large room. Can't say enough about the room. We played two games on the Troon Cattail course which was excellent. The facilities at the golf course are outstanding with excellent service in the bar and restaurant. We ate breakfast once at the golf course and I had the French toast stuffed with cream cheese and strawberries ! mmm...mmm.
I booked my wife into Aji spa for the day and she loved it. Period. They left a note in our hotel room that evening saying Thank you! Nice touch. I spent the day at the pool tanning and having a few cervezas and a bite. Nice pool area and was not too busy. This is a nice resort and remember you are not going to eat or drink for cheap. So if you are going, be prepared and just enjoy yourself as it is worth every penny. It's no different than any other nice resort. We then had supper at KAI.....again what a wonderful experience. The food has such awsome tastes no matter what you order. Again you are paying a premium price but well worth the experience. I can't say enough about how EVERYTHING had such great tastes......the taste buds had a great work over !! We stopped in at the Margarita bar after supper and had one each....$30.00 bucks but awsome margaritas !! Again, by the time we got to our room KAI left a hand written note of a Thank you and some chocolates........oh, and what a beautiful sunset while dining. We spent a couple of evenings outside in front of the Lobby Bar - what a great way to have some drinks and enjoy the evening. One morning we went to Kosin and instead of eating inside I asked for a couple of take out dishes with simply hot oatmeal and fresh fruit. Me and my wife took it and found a chair outside and ate. It was very relaxing.Like I said price did not matter as we were here to enjoy ourselves and new that from the get go. Not sure what else to say but this place is definately worth the visit and enjoy all it has to offer. If you are not prepared to spend any money then grab a few days at the local Holiday Inn Express. Spend and be happy and enjoy yourselves. What a great experience. We will definately be back. Worth every penny!!

Stayed: August 2007
4  Thank okop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2007

My daughter and I stayed at this resort 8/4-8/6. Upon check-in they could not find our reservation even though I had a confirmation number. This was resolved but at no time during check-in were we warned that the restaurant (Ko'sin) was running with limited resources and reservations were a must. We went to go to dinner at 7 and turned away to the pool bar and it was over 100 degrees out. We ate a snack kind of dinner (the buffet was over) and the next morning we went to go to breakfast and told the same thing - no available seating - although the place was almost empty We begged for a table and ended up getting one. However, I heard others at the front desk complaining that they could not get any breakfast. Word to the wise, make your dining reservations in advance and be sure to check your bill. Our bill was incorrect and did not account for the Family Package ammenities we were supposed to receive. I was dissapointed that at check-out, no one asked us how the stay was. Not very impressed....

Stayed: August 2007
1  Thank skoeio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2007

My wife and I went away for a long weekend and stayed at the Wild Horse Pass. The staff was incredible! Rooms were very nice and had large bathrooms. Food was the best in the Phoenix area. Chandler mall was nearby. Awesome golf courses on the property. Everybody just went out of their way to make our stay quite enjoyable. Can't say enough about the property. Would defintely stay there again!!!

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank kearneyhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2007

As "locals" we were looking for a short getaway for my husband's birthday. We got a great rate ($109) through AAA the day before our stay. We were not disappointed!

Our room was ready at 11:00 when we arrived for early check-in. Check-in was fast, efficient and friendly. He even upgraded us to a pool view at no extra charge. The customer service at this resort was excellent all around.

The room was super-clean with no signs of wear or previous guests. As another reviewer stated, we felt like the first people to stay in our room.

There are three large pools. Two are shallow beach entry to 3' and kind of warm. The other is larger and there is cold water being pumped into it to keep it from getting too warm in the desert heat. It has a salt-water filter and was clean and refreshing. I tried out the watersilde. It was fast and fun. The kids enjoyed it along with the water balloon toss and watermelon eating contests held poolside.

They had a live band that played all afternoon and added to the ambience. Beautiful views of the golf course and the mountains in the distance added to the feeling of seclusion.

They have a river that flows around the resort with boats that take you to the casino and Rawhide western town/steakhouse, but they were doing maintenance on it while we were there and it was drained. We knew this ahead of time, so we weren't too disappointed by it.

I would not hesistate to stay here again (especially at the rate we got) and would highly recommend it if you want something off the beaten path with great scenery and great customer service.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kawill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chandler
1.6 mi away
Wild Horse Pass Hotel & Casino
5.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Phoenix Chandler-Fashion Center
1.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Chandler Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch
7.5 mi away
Arizona Grand Resort & Spa
Arizona Grand Resort & Spa
#69 of 174 in Phoenix
27 reviews
17.9 mi away
Arizona Biltmore, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Grand at Wild Horse Pass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Grand at Wild Horse Pass

Address: 5594 W Wildhorse Pass Blvd, Gila River Indian Community, Chandler, AZ 85226-5400 (Formerly Sheraton Wild Horse Pass Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Chandler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Chandler
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chandler
#6 Business Hotel in Chandler
#7 Family Hotel in Chandler
Price Range: £154 - £331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Grand at Wild Horse Pass 4*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Grand at Wild Horse Pass is located in the Sonoran Desert on an expanse of rugged Arizona landscape where the ancient vistas, mountains, and roaming wild horses remain untouched. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Grand at Wild Horse Pass reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Wild Horse Pass Hotel Chandler
Sheraton Chandler
Chandler Sheraton
Sheraton Wild Horse Pass Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing