We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very fun for the kids!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Makutu's Island

Makutu's Island
Ranked #4 of 16 Fun & Games in Chandler
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
99 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very fun for the kids!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

There so many fun things to climb on slide down and climb through!
The kids never seem to get tired of this and it is a great way to get some exercise and release some energy
It is a great value for the money

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank KDF2732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    26
    8
    4
    12
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
125 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great for kids 9 and under”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

This has tons of fun things for kids, younger kids will need you to run around with them but kids 6 and up will probably just wander around aimlessly for as long as you will let them. The food is decent (for a kid play place- pizza/corn dogs). Parents have to pay an entrance fee, which I don't understand, but the kids will have fun. Make sure to bring socks!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly85044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
204 reviews
82 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Kids LOVE it...OK for parents”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

This place is an absolute must for kids. Especially from ages 3-8 or so..... I have been there before with 2 year olds.. and they are too small to navigate most things here.
This is basically a GINORMOUS indoor kids play structure with tunnels, slides, etc...
I have lost my kids for 20 mins in here before... it is hard to keep track of them. There is also a cafeteria that usually has sports on the TV. If they sold beer here, I would buy a season pass.
There is also a very small video arcade/skiball area here, HOWEVER usually more than half of the games are broken.
Kids are locked in here and can not leave the place without their parents with matching wristbands, so when you don't see your kids for 30 mins... don't worry! I have also had one of my kids bday parties here. They make it very easy to just show up and enjoy.
I know that it is currently closed now (April 2014) for renovations... not sure how long.
Weekends get SUPER packed in here... almost to packed.
I highly recommend this place.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank impresiv1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suz82398
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Fun - for everyone!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

Every time we go to AZ our kids plan out an entire day of our vacation for this location!! We usually meet other family members here because it's so much fun - and so great for the kids!
I honestly can't believe there isn't a single one of these in CO - this has got to be a gold mine for the owners.
The location is just a HUGE indoor playground! There are slides of EVERY type everywhere!! The inside is set up to look like a jungle on the inside and the kids and adults get to explore this jungle of fun! The slides twist, bump, and turn everywhere! There are nets to climb on (and for safety), there are little ziplines, swinging things, cushion pads, a dance area, a separate area for toddlers, and so much more. They allow parents to take kids down any of the slides- so if your kids are a bit timid you can re-assure them and join in the fun. This is obviously a great escape on hot days- but any time is a great time to spend a day here and let your kids get completely worn out with fun.

They will not realize that they are exercising with all of the climbing and running they are doing - for hours!!! We usually stay for lunch - the food is decent - not any better or worse than most fast food places. The pricing for the food is just slightly above average for locations like this - but the price to get in is really good! We logged on to their website and printed out coupons before we went and paid about $5 / kid for the entire day. (not including food)
www.makutusisland.com - or if you google them you can see loads of photos for the inside!!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank suz82398
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Makutu's”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

The kids ALWAYS have a great time here! Fun atmosphere, friendly staff...have enjoyed many kids' birthday celebrations at this cool place.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank alohashari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Makutu's Island also viewed

Chandler, Central Arizona
Chandler, Central Arizona
 
Chandler, Central Arizona
Chandler, Central Arizona
 

Been to Makutu's Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing