We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hidden Gem”

Zelma Basha Salmeri Gallery
Ranked #1 of 43 things to do in Chandler
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
San Diego
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 2 February 2013

This free museum was recommended by a friend of a friend and we are so glad we visited! The Basha family has generously shared their vast collection of Western paintings, sculptures, baskets, letters from the artists with the public. The museum is much larger that it appears from the outside and actually looks like a warehouse before entering. The history presented is fascinating and because there is so much to see, we just couldn't do it all in one visit. I definitely want to return some day and see more.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank culdesacSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    12
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not-to-miss gallery”
Reviewed 28 December 2012

This display of western art, bronzes, guns, and native american basketry was amazing. It is extensive, so plan at least a couple of hours. 3-5 hrs would be more suitable. The building and surroundings are simple and non-descript but don't let that fool you, The displays are well done and there are often descriptions of the pieces.

Even if you don't think you like western art, this place is top of the line,

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Roadtripper03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandler, Arizona
1 review
“Comfortable, Close-to-home Museum”
Reviewed 29 August 2012

This museum owned by Eddie Basha had no entrance fee, and based on its location, we did not expect to be as impressed as we were. As we walked in we were greeted by a friendly young lady at the front desk. The bathrooms were nice and clean, close to the entrance, and it looked very presentable. We were handed a brochure with a lot of valuable information on Western American and Native American Art that helped us further understand certain object in the museum.

Throughout the gallery there were all kinds of statues, paintings, pottery, jewelry, vintage guns, and drums. Some paintings represented the life of Native Americans, and elaborated with its representation. Important Indians were recognized and there were a lot of interesting books that were open to the public to look through, and find more information.

The presentation of the museum was very enjoyable and pleasant. The environment was peaceful and comfortable. It was very quiet inside, a cool temperature. Every wall in the museum was a different color, but they were all bright colors of turquoise, purple, blue, green, yellow and red. The lighting was nice, though some lights were burnt out, it was not a distraction. The Adobe walls were a great touch to the feel of the Native American culture. Overall, this was a lovely museum that I recommend visiting to anyone.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ilianna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandler, Arizona
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Zelma Basha Salmeri Gallery of Art”
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Based on its location, we did not expect to be as impressed as we were. As we walked in we were greeted by a friendly young lady at the front desk. We were handed a brochure with a lot of valuable information on Western American and Native American Art that helped us further understand certain object in the museum.
Throughout the gallery there were all kinds of statues, paintings, pottery, jewelry, vintage guns, and drums. Some paintings represented the life of Native Americans, and elaborated with its representation. Important Indians were recognized and there were a lot of interesting books that were open to the public to look through, and find more information.
The presentation of the museum was very enjoyable and pleasant. The environment was peaceful and comfortable. It was very quiet inside, a cool temperature.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Niguel, California
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“What a gem, and free!”
Reviewed 15 August 2012

We were blown away by the western art in this museum, which has no entrance fee. The art is beautifully arranged and includes paintings, sculptures, native-american baskets, vintage guns and other pieces of western art. If you enjoy western art, and are in the Phoenix area, this is a must see.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank thebucks1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Zelma Basha Salmeri Gallery also viewed

 
Chandler, Central Arizona
Chandler, Central Arizona
 

Been to Zelma Basha Salmeri Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing