We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast!”
Review of Chompie's

Chompie's
Ranked #24 of 665 Restaurants in Chandler
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Diner, Delicatessen, Soups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Tempe, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great breakfast!”
Reviewed 25 November 2012

Three of us arrived at Chompie's at 6:15 a.m. After an early morning airport run. It was just what we were looking for - good menu variety and value, excellent service, and tasty, tasty food.

Oat crunch pancakes are my favorite and I wasn't disappointed. Two stack is huge serving but so good it's tempting to eat it all. Restraint is prudent! Hashbrowns are crispy and done just right.
Delicious coffee with prompt refills. My daughter had an omelette that she thoroughly enjoyed but could not finish. Hubby had soft scrambled eggs with crisp bacon. He was a happy camper.

We've been to Chompie's for breakfast several times and always enjoy it.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vicki G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    41
    17
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nickerson, Kansas
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful Sliders”
Reviewed 12 November 2012

The service is great, the food is excellent. The sliders were absolutely amazing!! I never had a knish before and had one there, oh it was yummy!!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mystic V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rjdtba
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“One of the best breakfasts in Chandler”
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Have been to Chompies several times in the last year, including recent visit. If you like big breakfasts with all the "fixings" this is the place to be. Their Van Dusen Skillet is huge and very tasty. The fact that they include one of their Bagels with each breakfast only adds to the overall value. Coffee is good, the place is spacious and service is great.

For the prices, it beats all the others in terms of what you get for what you pay! Ample parking a plus and easy access is another benefit.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rjdtba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Best Place for Monte Cristos”
Reviewed 21 October 2012

My favorite sandwhich is the Monte Cristo, which includes ham and turkey between pieces of french toast and is served with jam. The most important part, that most restaurants don't do, is to take the sandwhich, dip it in batter, and fry it. Chompies does it rights.

We've been to other Chompies locations and this was our first visit to the one near the Chandler Mall. Of course I ordered the Monte Cristo, with their excellent cole slaw as a side. Usually the jam is raspberry, but I enjoyed the cherry preserves that came with it. My wife ordered the patty melt with potato-wedge fries, both of which were great.

The best part was the service. Brittini was our server and she was funny, attentive, and smart. She couldn't have done a better job than she did. In particular we had a pickle problem (not everyone likes pickles) which she resolved quickly and competely. She is one of the best servers out there.

We took the opportunity to talk to Jess, the Manager, about Brittini. Jess was delightful and told us of some changes they had made recently, including asking customers if they would like refills when their glass is half full rather than waiting until it is completely empty. It was clear that she strives to provide the best experience possible in her restaurant.

I also had some of their Chinese Almond Cookies with the chocoate dot in the middle, which are outstanding.

It is nice to visit a restaurant that "gets it" when it comes to customer service.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank XlntAdventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chompie's also viewed

 
Chandler, Central Arizona
 

Been to Chompie's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing