We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Good With Excellent Service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Abuelo's

Abuelo's
Ranked #6 of 651 Restaurants in Chandler
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Maricopa, Arizona
Level Contributor
446 reviews
339 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
“Very Good With Excellent Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2011

My wife and I have dined here several times, the last being for lunch on 9/23/2011. We arrived just before lunch hour and the crowd. We were seated right away with chips and salsa being served. Drink refills arrived without request which is a big plus! The Quac Appetizer was ordered. Every Mexican Restaurant has their way style of this. It was very good and the chips are very thin. .I ordered a new lunch item, Carnita Taco--three small ones served with rice and beans, very good. My wife had Enchilada & Tostada Lunch. Both meals were served on hot plates--one of the many things I like about most Mexican Restaurants! The Restaurant reminded us of a recent trip to Vegas--painted ceilings. We will return again when in the area.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PropellerJourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    208
    119
    40
    17
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
166 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“A consistently good experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2011

Always a solid choice for Mexican in the Chandler area. It looks like an Italian place from outside. Good service, and a varied menu. It's a consistent choice you can count on when taking folks out to dinner

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank fabdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia River Gorge WA
Level Contributor
65 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great Mexican southwest food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2011

First time I have eaten here. Nice building. I had thought it was an Italian Restaurant because its a nice building. Inside atmosphere is nice and reminded me of Vegas style a bit, Ceiling has painted sky with clouds. Nice decor.
The menu was quite extensive. Took some time to go over. I chose the Monterey, Huge plate of great food. Couldn't even get half way thru it. Desert was Margarita Pie Lime Pie , excellent ! Nina served us and was gracious and attentive. Had our tea drinks back on table before we even finished first ones. Observant!
Moderate prices , but believe me you get your moneys worth here! I like it as I love Mexican -Good food. This was pretty nicely done. Fun place. Have to try happy hour sometime, bet its great on patio and margaritas on a nice warm evening.
Over all recommended if you like Mexican food done well! Nachos at table next to us ....Wow! Huge!
If you hadn't tried this place as I had not for all my visits. Highly worth while! I missed out not eating here. But now I know where to go for great mexican food with atmosphere.
Heartflight
www.cdbaby.com\artist\heartflight

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Heartflight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“I keep going back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2011

The service was good, the food was good compared to other mexican restaurants in this area. The atmosphere is unique, like in a mexican plaza

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Thad43ky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful find in Chandler”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2011

My husband and I ate her while on vacation in AZ. The building is beautiful. The food was very good and the chili con queso appetizer was amazing. So good that we went back the next day and got it to go to take to our friends house. Definetely worth trying and would be great for large groups.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ginaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Abuelo's also viewed

 
Chandler, Central Arizona
Chandler, Central Arizona
 
Chandler, Central Arizona
Chandler, Central Arizona
 

Been to Abuelo's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing