We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”
Review of Abuelo's

Abuelo's
Ranked #5 of 665 Restaurants in Chandler
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Seafood, Steakhouse
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Florida
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Great place to have a Mexican meal. The restaurant is very charming and the staff is great. My husband and I were glad we found Abuelos.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mel34515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    231
    129
    41
    17
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
1,237 reviews
588 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 558 helpful votes
“Perfect timing.”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

After a very long day and an evening at the Desert Botanical Garden we were all starved. On our drive back to our hotel consensus was "let's get Mexican food". Next thing we saw was Abuelo's. It was around 9pm, and there was no wait. The restaurant had a great atmosphere and the hostess was very friendly. The menu had a lot of choices, at least enough for the five of us. Our waiter was amazing. Our drinks were never empty, or chips and salsa were always full, and he was always there when we needed him. Will definitely come back when in the Phoenix area.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandler, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“All Are Welcome”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My wife and I come here frequently for happy hour and we bring our family here a couple of times each year. Don't expect genuine Mexican food, but do expect some interesting blends of Mexican style food. You can also expect very friendly and prompt service as well as a welcoming atmosphere. Great for meeting with friends, family, or just to hang out as a couple. Try the Sangria.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank StevenH74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandler, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Near the mall, good Mexican food”
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

The shrimp chowder is very tasty! We always get a cup or bowl. The tenderloin medallions are excellent. Nice selection of adult beverages. The chips and salsa are good and delivered fast. It would be excellent if the drinks were delivered as fast. You can't resist the chips and salsa, but you need something to wash them down. :-)

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AZInspector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“great food and ambiance”
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

this is the second time i've been to Abuelo's. the first time it was very busy and the food was good. this visit, was much quieter and enjoyable. first, the restaurant is beautifully decorated, the staff was accommodating. the food was excellent. we all had seafood, tilapia and barramundi.... they dishes were full of rice, veggies and fish.... they were muy tasty!!! even the waitress said these dishes always come back clean.

i would recommend...

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank sandiegoheidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Abuelo's also viewed

 
Chandler, Central Arizona
Chandler, Central Arizona
 
Chandler, Central Arizona
Chandler, Central Arizona
 

Been to Abuelo's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing