We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Mexican food - but a little dated (atmosphere)”

SI Senor Restaurant
Ranked #27 of 664 Restaurants in Chandler
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Mexican food - but a little dated (atmosphere)”
Reviewed 30 May 2013

OK this is officially our favorite Mexican food restaurant. It's a bit of a throw-back to the 1970's, though. The servers deliver food on a trolley cart rather than carrying a tray. This is a bit rustic but not a deal killer. The food here is really good, authentic Mexican. Dinners are completed with the delivery of sopapillas, a flaky dessert that resembles a croissant for texture and comes plain or covered in cinnamon and sugar. This is a really nice touch and keeps us coming back.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Daryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    31
    15
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“my favorite Mexican place!”
Reviewed 27 May 2013

I love their green chili beef plate, one of the best around! I love that it's a bit spicy, gotta have my fix every other week or so! It's close to home and work, so we go there for lunch as a group. Sometimes the service is a little slow, but they are usually busy. It's great that your meal comes with a sopapilla too!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tempe, Arizona
Level Contributor
144 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Excellent!!!”
Reviewed 15 April 2013

The food was absolutely wonderful. The green chile was just as it is in New Mexico. I absolutely loved it. Will definitely be frequenting there. The service was also great. The waitress took very good care of us and was polite and friendly.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kristin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great New Mexican Food”
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Found this restaurant on a recent trip to watch Spring Training - and what a rare opportunity to get my New Mexico food fix. After growing up in New Mexico, I always jump at the chance to have chile especially when sopapillas are involved. And for those of you not from there, sopapillas are supposed to be eaten WITH the meal as a way to cut the heat of the chile. They are the bread of the meal and always an excellent addition.

I ordered chile rellenos with the hot hatch chile - and I wasn't disappointed. The chile was HOT! and the rellenos didn't have too much cheese. They were wonderful. The sopapillas did their trick with a little honey and killed the heat in my mouth without killing the flavor.

Overall the restaurant was wonderful, reasonably priced and even though we showed up on a busy Saturday night, the service was wonderful. We waited about 25 minutes for a table, but never for the server.

I highly recommend it - for those looking for mexican food different than what they have had before.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Escondido, California
Level Contributor
146 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice Place”
Reviewed 2 January 2013

Nice place, good food, high average prices. Only been for lunch so not sure on the nite-life. Would visit again.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank R A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed SI Senor Restaurant also viewed

Chandler, Central Arizona
 
Chandler, Central Arizona
Chandler, Central Arizona
 
Chandler, Central Arizona
 

Been to SI Senor Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing