We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious food, friendly service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Z'Tejas Southwestern Grill

Z'Tejas Southwestern Grill
Ranked #42 of 651 Restaurants in Chandler
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Cuisines: Mexican, American, Southwestern, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Groups, Kids, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Interstate 10 and Ray Road
Transit: On Ray Road just east of Interstate 10.
Description: Our fresh, flavorful and innovative menus showcase the bold and robust flavors of Arizona, California, Louisiana, New Mexico and Texas. We take traditional ingredients, spices and cooking techniques from around the South to create a taste without borders.
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Delicious food, friendly service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

We stopped here on our way to the airport for one last Southwestern lunch, and were not disappointed.

The food that we got was delicious, and had some flair that made it a little different from the usual, like jalapeno mayo and spicy pork on my nachos. Portions were large, and we left satisfied.

Service was good, and we didn't have to wait long for our food.

I'd go there again.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank AZSkygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    55
    18
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gulf Shores, Alabama
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Friday Night out with the Girls”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

What a fabulous meal we had. It started with Chambord Margaritas; fresh, hot corn bread, and four small exquisite tacos with black beans and rice; wild mushroom enchiladas with ancho mole sauce; and pasta with shrimp. They were all scrumptious! Our waiter, Tyler from Ft. Worth, TX was great. He made recommendations that we all loved. Price was Very reasonable for dinner. All our meals were under $13 ea. If you are ever in Chandler, AZ, I highly recommend stopping by Z'Tejas for lunch or dinner.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilbert
Level Contributor
84 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Brunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

Awesome bloody mary bar!! New menu according to friends we went with. Eggs Benedict ok. Steak burrito and hamburgers were great.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rhonda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Brunswick, New Jersey, USA
Level Contributor
66 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“food fine service needs to be improved”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Dinner at happy hour had some specials available. We ordered guacamole that was very good. Our complaint was that our dinner arrived immediately after the appetizer was placed on the table. I had fish tacos with a japeneese dipping sauce and really enjoyed them. My wife had a street taco and was not so impressed. We wife got upset when our waitress removed my plate and asked if I wanted dessert while she was still eating. This is a no no at any establishment. The margaritas were also excellent. I would go back for the food but would request that the kitchen take its time. Than I would give a better review.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Spencer F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
444 reviews
269 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
“A Mostly Good Meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

There is a lot of room in Z'teja's so even if the parking lot looks full, go on inside and you will likely get a table quickly. The restaurant is clean, but a bit noisy, and well-decorated. The kitchen is open to the restaurant and I'd recommend getting a table as far away from it as possible.

The service was prompt, considering they make a lot of their dishes fresh that might be just reheated in other restaurants. I liked the menu choices; they were unique and interesting. They had some new-to-me drinks too.

The Ruso Blanco was tequila based with Kahlua, half and half and caramel; we ordered a margarita as well and both were good.

For appetizers we had the blackened catfish beignets and Teja's trio which were both really really good.

For our main courses we had the winter short rib enchilada, the smoked chicken relano as well as the green chile barbecoa which were all very good. The grilled ruby trout was not so good, a little dry and overcooked.

The cornbread and the one dessert we had seemed like they were made fresh, the cornbread being excellent but the peach cobbler was undercooked and not great.

I would definitely go back and try a few other things on the menu.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rik T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Z'Tejas Southwestern Grill also viewed

Chandler, Central Arizona
Chandler, Central Arizona
 
Chandler, Central Arizona
 

Been to Z'Tejas Southwestern Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing