We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxed Atmosphere in the Desert”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Highlands Resort at Verde Ridge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cornville
Certificate of Excellence
Gales Ferry, Connecticut
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Relaxed Atmosphere in the Desert”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We stayed at Highlands Resort through a DVC exchange with RCI. One week in a spacious unit with a well equipped kitchen. The units were clean and the master bathroom was huge! Only issue was with the tv in the main unit (we had the one bedroom plus the studio) and with the dvd player. They have seen better days. We did have a key issue on arrival but they handled that the next morning with no problem.
There is a salt water pool that is wonderful. The clubhouse is great and relaxing but the game room only has fooze ball and air hockey. Laundry facilities are in the clubhouse so do laundry and grab a swim!
I did have problems with cell reception inside the unit but sitting on the patio took care fo that.
The AC worked great - and was much needed with a summer visit. Parking was right outside the unit.
The resort is located about 20 minutes from Sedona, 10 minutes to Jerome (gold mining town), and less than a half hour to Montezuma's Castle and Tuzigoot. There is a lot to do in this region from shopping to outdoor activities. Stay hydrated! The resort did leave 2 bottles of water in each fridge.
They did ask if we wanted to do the tour/ presentation in exchange for tickets on the near by train but we declined and they were good with that - no pressure.
We would definelty stay again.

Room Tip: Second floor room have better views - especially building F!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bunkobeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    83
    17
    3
    1
See reviews for
58
107
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newalla
Level Contributor
77 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We spent a week at the Highlands Resort with an RCI exchange. For the most part, we loved it. The area was much less expensive than what we found in Sedona and there was lots to do around the area. The units were clean, nice and well kept. No problems with the internet. Our unit faced the highway but it wasn't a problem. Occasionally we would hear a little traffic but it wasn't loud and never disturbed us. The adult only hot tub was wonderful. We have no problem with kids but do find it rather annoying when you stay somewhere where small children use the hot tub for a kiddie pool.

We had only two complaints, which is the reason for the " very good" rating instead of "excellent". First there were 3 grills available for use. All were filthy and on the day we tried to use them only one of the three worked. Maybe the other two were out of gas?

The second complaint concerns the concierge giving out incorrect information. At the welcome breakfast the representative from the Verde Canyon Railroad wasn't present so the concierge (who actually seemed a very nice and helpful person) gave the presentation. She said that in first class there is all you can eat appetizers for the first two hours. This is NOT the case. There was actually very little and if you were last in line you were lucky to get anything. I'm not sure the reason for the misinformation. Could be she didn't know, in which case she needs to research what she's selling. Or it could be she gets some kind of incentive for booking first class, in which case it was dishonest.

All in all we liked the resort and would go back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ducksoup1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forest Hill, Maryland
Level Contributor
85 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

I am an RCI member and gave this review for RCI:

Inoffensive, clean, up to date room decorations and furnishings, CD player worked.
Sedona is 15 minutes away. The drive to Sedona is scenic. Besides all the scenery and hiking in Sedona, the UFO Tour at the Center for the New Age is a must see - you will see UFOs with night vision goggles, and there is nothing else going on in Sedona most nights anyway.

However, the Highlands Resort layout is poorly designed, with the hotel built right next to the main road into Cornville from the interstate, while the golf course that is part of the resort is farther from the main road, instead of vice versa, which would make the rooms quieter. At least the road was not too busy some or most of the time. Room windows faced this road and the parking lot, requiring the blinds to be drawn.

The room had no light switch when you enter the room. TVs were on the small side, and the channels had a confusing numbering system, that appears to have come from a satellite system, with multiples of certain channels, like channel 38-1, 38-2, etc. WIFI was good one day, but rarely worked the second day. Shower water came out in a somewhat pelting stream that was not adjustable at all. They had recycling, which was good, but expected guests to do it all instead of housekeeping. Resort charged a fee in addition to the RCI points that I had to use, for no valid reason that I can see. Parking is tight if you have any very large vehicle, with just enough spaces for the units nearby.

This is an average place that I can't recommend, as there are better places in Sedona, which is where you are likely to be going to anyway.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from or off of the main road into Cornville.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maine
Level Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I stayed at this property on June, 2014. I really enjoyed it. I found the staff very friendly and helpful and the unit was very nicely furnished. I did not have time to use the outdoor amenities as I was there for a conference. I enjoyed the drive from Cornville to Sedona. Not bad and a good way to unwind after my busy days. I would stay here again. I thought the beds was ultra comfy.

Room Tip: I think most of the rooms offer a distant view of the valley and mountains. My room was on the road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maine_Light_Sleeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alsip, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

If you don't mind a beautiful 15 minute drive up 89A to get to what you want to do in Sedona, you'll love the Highlands. Exceptional accommodations, (2 bedrooms are actually 1bedroom and a studio combined) and kitchen are well stocked with all items you will need. Exceptional concierge service from Rebecca. Lovely pool, work out room. Free laundry on site. Get aquianted breakfast was nice with selections of things to do in Sedona and Cottonwood. And bonus, use the restaurants in Cottonwood. Excellent ones, 10 minutes away and less $ than others. Rebecca is a great resource for those, too. Groceries in Cottonwood are Super Walmart and Frys (Kroger)

Room Tip: If you will be using the BBQ grills alot, ask for a room near them. 3 grills, no waiting, but all in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank genemcgraw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larkspur, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This was a last minute RCI exchange we had to use, so it was a pleasant surprise. We had a "studio" although it came with a living room with a small kitchenette, bedroom and bath. The room and the property were well maintained, although the room was only cleaned once a week, which was surprising for a vacation destination. There was also no place to hang a wet bathing suit in the bathroom, where one would expect a line over the shower area. The staff was friendly and full of information about the surrounding area. Nearby Cottonwood was also a pleasant surprise with many good restaurants and areas to visit. All in all, this resort, especially if you are a golfer was worth visiting.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank freckkles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgewater, New Jersey
Level Contributor
92 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

My husband and I purchased a timeshare at Highland resort through RCI last year and had our first stay there this June. it is located about 15 miles from Sedona that I thought might be too far but was pleasantly surprised at the many activities available near the resort. The scenic train ride, western theme dinner and show and the ghost town of Jerome are only a short drive away. We spent time exploring the Verde Valley and also spent time hiking in Sedona. We took one day and made the 2 hour trip to Winslow, Arizona to see the Meteor crater and then to Flagstaff to see the Lowell Observatory. We could spend weeks in the area as there is so much to see. The resort is great with friendly staff. The bedroom is small in the one bedroom suite but the bed is very comfortable. The kitchen is fully stocked. They even provided condiments such as salt, pepper, sugar and sweetener in the condo. We had a relaxing lighted patio outside for evening enjoyment of the sunset. The condo was very clean. We were not bothered by any noise. There are laundry facilities on site but not in the condo. It was a perfect stay! Check in was easy as we were greeted by Bob who was friendly and knowledgeable of the area. The pool area is small but nice with outdoor and indoor seating for relaxation. We found the hot tub on the last day of our stay so did not experience that. There was no pressure for a timeshare presentation but it was offered and we did attend and received some great tours as a thank you gift. The only thing missing from the Highlands Resort is a restaurant on site. There are many chain restaurants a few miles away but one on site would be nice. You definitely need a car at this resort. We plan on returning again next year. After our stay we decided it is better to stay outside Sedona to experience the entire Verde Valley. We highly recommend the Highlands Resort at Verde Ridge!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maryannfm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cornville
2.5 mi away
Pines Motel
Pines Motel
#1 of 7 in Cottonwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
14.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn of Sedona
13.3 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Sedona Pines Resort
Sedona Pines Resort
#25 of 48 in Sedona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
2.3 mi away
Best Western Cottonwood Inn
11.6 mi away
Sedona Summit Resort
Sedona Summit Resort
#20 of 48 in Sedona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highlands Resort at Verde Ridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highlands Resort at Verde Ridge

Property: Highlands Resort at Verde Ridge
Address: 625 S Verde Santa Fe Pkwy, Cornville, AZ 86325-4910
Region: United States > Arizona > Cornville
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cornville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Highlands Resort at Verde Ridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highlands Resort At Verde Ridge Hotel Cornville
Highlands Resort At Verde Ridge Cornville, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing