We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A perfect desert oasis!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Highlands Resort at Verde Ridge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Highlands Resort at Verde Ridge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cornville
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A perfect desert oasis!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

Due to the government shutdown we left Grand Canyon and headed to Sedona with no hotel plans. Once there the guy at a tourist information centre asked where we were staying and told us he could get us a great deal -- basically 2 nights for about $80 (after some negotiation, of course). Normally it would cost over $300 easily. All we had to do was sit in a 2-hr presentation on timeshare on the property. It was well worth it. This place was like a perfect oasis in the desert with all the creature comforts of a high end hotel, and the staff couldn't be more friendly and accommodating. There were plenty of places to eat and lots of things to do in the area. The other reviews describe the resort well so I won't go into that. What I will say is although it worked out ideally for us these "resort agents" tend to be quite pushy. I really wasn't sure if their offer was legit but he was bent on closing the deal. It was dark by then so we took a chance. The next day we visited Sedona, and walking into some shops, I found some of the store clerks asking the same questions about our accommodations. They seemed friendly enough but I thought it very strange -- creepy, in fact -- that they would be so interested in where we were staying, how long, if we liked it there, etc. My guess is that some of the resorts have an agreement with some merchants to steer a lot of business their way. So here's my tip: if you're willing risk it, head to Sedona with no hotel plans and walk into any information centre and start inquiring about hotels in the surrounding area. You might get an amazing deal like we did, as long as you can stomach through those 2-hr pitches!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DanielCho10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    79
    16
    3
    1
See reviews for
55
105
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ramona, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

We recently stayed the week at the resort and had a wonderful time. It is close enough to "town" to be convenient, but far enough away to be quite and serene. The property overall is well kept and clean. There are a few areas of construction where they are adding to the resort, but even those areas were fairly clean.

The staff was friendly and vey helpful. Particularly their concierge Rebecca. She not only greeted us warmly and knew everything about the area (even which grocery stores and restaurants fit with our personal lifestyle or fresh and organic), but put on one of the best informational breakfasts I have ever attended. Most places barely have brochures available and maybe a short list of local restaurants, but Rebecca has experienced all of the activities and lives in the area and knows it well. The food at the breakfast was ok (eggs were a bit burned, but everything else was fine). Several business owners came by to give a short talk on their particular activity and then raffled off a small keepsake gift. The resort has networked with the community for special discounts. We took advantage of the golf course right on the property and had a lovely time, despite to 100 degree weather. The lady from the pro shop even loaned us a small cooler with ice to keep our waters cold while out on the course. That was so helpful!

The 1 bedroom unit was comfortable and roomy. Nice flat screen TV's, Wi-Fi, updated kitchens, etc. we had a nice little patio outside the unit with table and chairs. There were a few small maintenance issues, but they came out and took care of them. The pool, fitness center, and laundry room were a real short walk from our door (yet no noise transfer back into our room). The laundry was clean and they didn't try to nickel and dime us for rolls of quarters (the machines were free). The pool area had a huge hot tub and outdoor seating area by a fireplace. After the long hot days exploring, it was quite refreshing (and towels at the pool too).

They offered an RCI Timeshare presentation for 90 minutes in exchange for our choice of a long list of really great gifts. We decided on the Verde Canyon Railroad, which was amazing. They were friendly and took care of you (water and snacks) and didn't push too hard.

I highly recommend this place if you want to relax and explore the Sedona area of Arizona.

Room Tip: We liked the 1 bedroom rather than the studio, because it had the balcony/patio. The two combine for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amanda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia beach
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this resort with 2 other families for a week! Couldn't have asked for a better experience. The apartments have everything you could possibly think of: starter supplies of TP, soaps, shampoo, laundry detergent, coffee. Apartment fully furnished with all appliances including a toaster, blender, coffee pot, wine glasses etc. On the grounds is a golf course, game room and free laundry facility as well as a salt water pool, hot tub and nighttime adults only lagoon got tub! Amazing stay! Safeway grocery is a few miles down the road in Cottonwood and you must visit Old Cottonwood too- little artsy historic town not as touristy as Sedona. Must visit the seven sacred pools at Soldiers Pass trail, Red Rock State Park and the Buddhist Peace Park! Overall, a wonderful experience :)

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Leahinvb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gales Ferry, Connecticut
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

We stayed at Highlands Resort through a DVC exchange with RCI. One week in a spacious unit with a well equipped kitchen. The units were clean and the master bathroom was huge! Only issue was with the tv in the main unit (we had the one bedroom plus the studio) and with the dvd player. They have seen better days. We did have a key issue on arrival but they handled that the next morning with no problem.
There is a salt water pool that is wonderful. The clubhouse is great and relaxing but the game room only has fooze ball and air hockey. Laundry facilities are in the clubhouse so do laundry and grab a swim!
I did have problems with cell reception inside the unit but sitting on the patio took care fo that.
The AC worked great - and was much needed with a summer visit. Parking was right outside the unit.
The resort is located about 20 minutes from Sedona, 10 minutes to Jerome (gold mining town), and less than a half hour to Montezuma's Castle and Tuzigoot. There is a lot to do in this region from shopping to outdoor activities. Stay hydrated! The resort did leave 2 bottles of water in each fridge.
They did ask if we wanted to do the tour/ presentation in exchange for tickets on the near by train but we declined and they were good with that - no pressure.
We would definelty stay again.

Room Tip: Second floor room have better views - especially building F!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bunkobeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newalla
Level Contributor
77 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

We spent a week at the Highlands Resort with an RCI exchange. For the most part, we loved it. The area was much less expensive than what we found in Sedona and there was lots to do around the area. The units were clean, nice and well kept. No problems with the internet. Our unit faced the highway but it wasn't a problem. Occasionally we would hear a little traffic but it wasn't loud and never disturbed us. The adult only hot tub was wonderful. We have no problem with kids but do find it rather annoying when you stay somewhere where small children use the hot tub for a kiddie pool.

We had only two complaints, which is the reason for the " very good" rating instead of "excellent". First there were 3 grills available for use. All were filthy and on the day we tried to use them only one of the three worked. Maybe the other two were out of gas?

The second complaint concerns the concierge giving out incorrect information. At the welcome breakfast the representative from the Verde Canyon Railroad wasn't present so the concierge (who actually seemed a very nice and helpful person) gave the presentation. She said that in first class there is all you can eat appetizers for the first two hours. This is NOT the case. There was actually very little and if you were last in line you were lucky to get anything. I'm not sure the reason for the misinformation. Could be she didn't know, in which case she needs to research what she's selling. Or it could be she gets some kind of incentive for booking first class, in which case it was dishonest.

All in all we liked the resort and would go back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ducksoup1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forest Hill, Maryland
Level Contributor
85 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

I am an RCI member and gave this review for RCI:

Inoffensive, clean, up to date room decorations and furnishings, CD player worked.
Sedona is 15 minutes away. The drive to Sedona is scenic. Besides all the scenery and hiking in Sedona, the UFO Tour at the Center for the New Age is a must see - you will see UFOs with night vision goggles, and there is nothing else going on in Sedona most nights anyway.

However, the Highlands Resort layout is poorly designed, with the hotel built right next to the main road into Cornville from the interstate, while the golf course that is part of the resort is farther from the main road, instead of vice versa, which would make the rooms quieter. At least the road was not too busy some or most of the time. Room windows faced this road and the parking lot, requiring the blinds to be drawn.

The room had no light switch when you enter the room. TVs were on the small side, and the channels had a confusing numbering system, that appears to have come from a satellite system, with multiples of certain channels, like channel 38-1, 38-2, etc. WIFI was good one day, but rarely worked the second day. Shower water came out in a somewhat pelting stream that was not adjustable at all. They had recycling, which was good, but expected guests to do it all instead of housekeeping. Resort charged a fee in addition to the RCI points that I had to use, for no valid reason that I can see. Parking is tight if you have any very large vehicle, with just enough spaces for the units nearby.

This is an average place that I can't recommend, as there are better places in Sedona, which is where you are likely to be going to anyway.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from or off of the main road into Cornville.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maine
Level Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

I stayed at this property on June, 2014. I really enjoyed it. I found the staff very friendly and helpful and the unit was very nicely furnished. I did not have time to use the outdoor amenities as I was there for a conference. I enjoyed the drive from Cornville to Sedona. Not bad and a good way to unwind after my busy days. I would stay here again. I thought the beds was ultra comfy.

Room Tip: I think most of the rooms offer a distant view of the valley and mountains. My room was on the road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maine_Light_Sleeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cornville
2.5 mi away
Pines Motel
Pines Motel
#1 of 7 in Cottonwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
15.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
13.3 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Sedona
12.5 mi away
Sedona Real Inn and Suites
9.7 mi away
Sedona Pines Resort
Sedona Pines Resort
#23 of 48 in Sedona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highlands Resort at Verde Ridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highlands Resort at Verde Ridge

Property: Highlands Resort at Verde Ridge
Address: 625 S Verde Santa Fe Pkwy, Cornville, AZ 86325-4910
Region: United States > Arizona > Cornville
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cornville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Highlands Resort at Verde Ridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highlands Resort At Verde Ridge Hotel Cornville
Highlands Resort At Verde Ridge Cornville, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing