We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth what we paid”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Desert Rose Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 7 Cottonwood B&B and Inns
Tucson, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not worth what we paid”
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Comfortable bed and great jacuzzi & shower..... But room was not what is pictured on the website. For what we paid, I don't think a continental breakfast is enough. Rooms were clean and private. No flat screen TV in the room

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Catscnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DesertRoseBnB, Owner at Desert Rose Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I am very sorry that you felt you did not get what you paid for. Since your stay, we have added a hot item to the menu every morning. Please come back and have a bite of our wonderful quiche.

If you would like to discuss your stay more in depth, do feel free to email me at desertrosebandb@hotmail.com or call me at 928-646-0236

Sebastien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    27
    12
    10
    3
See reviews for
27
93
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

I was traveling alone and wanted a quiet place to come to. I got the compact room, which was actually compact. It was just a bedroom with a very comfortable king sized bed. There was no TV - this is good for you. The bathroom was in the hallway and I would've shared, but it was the off season so I was the only guest using it while I was there. Breakfast was great - it is just like a continental breakfast, except if you really want something (like eggs), maybe just ask for them the day before. I'm not much of a breakfast person so toast and fruit was good for me. Of course any day you wake up to the coffee made for you is a good day. The grounds were beautiful and well kept up. The livestock were cute, but didn't want to hang out with me. I read some great reviews and some negative reviews on here before I booked. Basically, this place is like staying with a very amazing relative that you have no obligation to hang out with and will still make you breakfast. If you constantly need things or need someone to greet you every time you walk in - you will be better serve at a motel. This is be more like a home away from home. Betty was very amazing, warm, and kind. Thank you for an amazing, quiet and beautiful place to stay.

Also, the drive into Sedona or Jerome are both amazing. I spent most of my time in Sedona and this location didn't bother me one bit!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yippie22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DesertRoseBnB, Owner at Desert Rose Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your wonderful stay with us at the Desert Rose Bed and Breakfast. We do try to make people feel comfortable and it is very quiet! We sure hope you come visit us again soon.

Since your stay we have added a hot item to our menu which typically is a quiche or eggs.

Sebastien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prescott, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Though at first I was apprehensive of the location, I was in for a big surprise. The beds are large and amazingly comfortable and the service was astounding. We only stayed for one night but it's certainly a night that was worth my time and my money. You definitely get the service beyond what you pay for.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Treanna N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DesertRoseBnB, Owner at Desert Rose Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Yes, I know, many people are apprehensive when they pull up to our place because we are in a typical rural Arizona neighborhood which has a mixture of homes within it. We can only control our 1.5 acres and not the surrounding properties. All our rooms do have KING beds and they are super comfortable as you pointed out.

SERVICE BEYOND WHAT YOU PAY FOR! Thanks, we do try to go above and beyond for all our guests. I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you come soon and for longer next time.

Sebastien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peoria, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We had a wonderful stay at the Desert Rose. We felt very comfortable and my daughter really loved feeding the llamas in the backyard. We enjoyed the living room where we were able to watch a Christmas classic movie with my family. Continental breakfast was very good with lots of healthy choices. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patty C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DesertRoseBnB, Owner at Desert Rose Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
It always makes me extremely happy when we get guest reviews like yours because as you pointed out and noticed, we try to do all that we can to make guests feel special and give each guest as much attention as they require.

Thanks for taking the time to write this review, we hope to have the opportunity to host you and your family again soon. Sebastien.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Payson, Arizona, United States
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

This was our 2nd time and we found it to be very pleasant just as much as the first time. I always feel very comfortable at The Desert Rose B&B.
They are very welcoming and make you feel special. I especially love the wonderful fresh berries that are waiting for us at breakfast. The living room area is one of m favorite places to relax after a long day of sight seeing in either Sedona or Jerome. Nice big couch and television to catch up on the das events. The Llamas out back are adorable and I love to watch them frolic. Our room was very large, plenty of room. Nice and coz, We had a great time!!

Room Tip: We stay on the lower level due to m hubbies disability and the are always very accommodating
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DesertRoseBnB, Owner at Desert Rose Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
It was great hosting you and your husband yet again. Return business shows that we make our guests feel special here at the Desert Rose Bed and Breakfast.

Thanks for taking the time to write this review. We hope to see you again soon. Sebastien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terrebonne, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We found this B&B after reading an ad for 60% off in our local paper. We had originally wanted to book 1 night, but were encouraged to book 2 for more savings. We had to pay up front because we were only a few weeks out. We were encouraged to call when we were an hour away. We actually arrived in town 5 hours early but went to Jerome for lunch and wandered thru the shops.
We arrived early but were welcomed to check in. We had the medium sized unit and checked in quickly. Sebastien took us on a tour of our room and the property. This was the end of the summer season and found Sebra raking leaves the whole time we were there. We were the only couple there even though we saw other people coming and going. The pool was obviously shut down but we were offered the use of the hot tub which was for family only, but had to turn the temp up an hour ahead if we wanted to use it.
The room was comfortable but a little tired. The first night going to the bathroom was a challenge in the dark. We usually bring a night light with us, but did not on this occasion. Sebra did offer us a book light after I mentioned it to her the next morning. This was a good solution.
Each morning we had a wonderful continental breakfast with their finest silver and china. We found the LR very comfortable, but had other couples been there we would not have felt like we were at home.
This is our second B&B, so we didn't know what to expect. We were not terribly disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Penny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DesertRoseBnB, Owner at Desert Rose Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear Penny,

Thank you for having taken the time to write this review. I am thrilled to hear that you were able to take advantage of our off season fantastic deal, that you appreciated us checking you early, that you found the room & bed comfortable and surroundings to be spacious (Both indoor and outdoor).

Our spacious and well manicured property is adorned with many huge trees. With fall unfortunately comes falling leaves which is not our favorite time of year but we deal with it by raking leaves multiple times per day to upkeep the property as much as we do.

Glad to hear that Sebra did come up with a swift solution to the low lighting issue; she is a wonderful and attentive innkeeper! May we inform you and all that are reading this review that we have now added night lights in all bathrooms!

We are constantly improving the Desert Rose Bed and Breakfast and we hope you will come stay with us again to see all our small improvements which we hope will translate into 100% guest satisfaction!

Sebastien
Cell: 928-499-5009
Email: desertrosebandb@hotmail.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basalt, Colorado, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

I soooo enjoyed my one night at the Desert Rose, coming from Sedona and on my way to the Phoenix airport. I had visited the historic town of Jerome at another time, and wanted to explore Cottonwood. The Desert Rose is the perfect example of a 5 star B & B. It's very charming with lots of attention to details and equally special is the genuine graciousness and caring for each guest from hosts Sebastian and Sebra. The yummy and beautifully presented breakfast could convince you to stay longer! Cottonwood is an historic town with modern features (City Tavern is great for a meal) and if you love antiques . . . this is the place to be.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dorothy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DesertRoseBnB, Owner at Desert Rose Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
"A 5 star B&B" WOW!

We do try our best to provide a 5 star service to all our guests and it seems like you noticed! Thank you very much for noticing and then writing about your 5 star experience you enjoyed whilst staying at the Desert Rose Bed and Breakfast.

Sebra, all our staff and myself all have the same philosophy which is to put guest needs and guest satisfaction as our very top goal and priority.

I would like to apologize for not having responded to your review earlier. The months of September are our busiest, we were swamped with guests and since one of our top priority is to provide exceptional guest service to our guests, we had not had the time to respond to reviews!

We look forward to hosting you again soon.

Sebastien
Cell: 928-499-5009
Email: desertrosebandb@hotmail.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cottonwood hotels
1.4 mi away
Pines Motel
Pines Motel
#1 of 7 in Cottonwood
295 reviews
3.0 mi away
Quality Inn - Cottonwood
Quality Inn - Cottonwood
#6 of 7 in Cottonwood
152 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Iron Horse Inn
The Iron Horse Inn
#1 of 7 in Cottonwood
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Best Western Cottonwood Inn
3.2 mi away
The Tavern Hotel
The Tavern Hotel
#2 of 7 in Cottonwood
306 reviews
1.6 mi away
Super 8 Cottonwood
Super 8 Cottonwood
#7 of 7 in Cottonwood
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Rose Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Rose Bed and Breakfast

Property: Desert Rose Bed and Breakfast
Address: 4190 E Bridle Path Rd, Cottonwood, AZ 86326-5646
Region: United States > Arizona > Cottonwood
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Cottonwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Desert Rose Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cottonwood (near Sedona) Bed and Breakfast in the heart of Arizona, your home away from home!The Desert Rose offers world class luxury and amenities at an affordable small town price. Our quaint desert setting will give you the most authentic Arizona experience. We are very centrally located, only 15 miles from Sedona, 10 miles from Jerome, 16 miles from Cliff Castle Casino and Montezuma's Castle, and no more than 10 miles from at least 4 wineries. The manor contains different size rooms to suit every travelers needs and budgets, as well as multiple living rooms to provide our guests with privacy if needed. Our expansive lush, green 1.5 acre gated grounds have lovely gardens, stone paths, a tranquil fountain and so much more. The perfect place to relax and unwind, or start your Arizona adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Desert Rose Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing