We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tavern Hotel for Birthday”
Review of The Tavern Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Tavern Hotel
Ranked #2 of 7 Cottonwood B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tempe, AZ
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Tavern Hotel for Birthday”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Spent my 50th birthday at the Tavern Hotel, and was not disappointed. The hotel and the room are beautiful, with better amenities than high end Scottsdale hotels. Peaceful blue/green walls, corresponding brown/white/bronze accessories, comfortable beds with soft sheets, walk in tiled shower, and vessel sink in the bathroom.

The hotel gave us a free drink at check-in, wine tasting tickets, $5 coupons each towards breakfast in one of two restaurants and a $50 gift card to use in one of their restaurants in Cottonwood or Jerome. Speaking of Jerome, it's a two mile drive from Cottonwood, so we spent a morning up there enjoying the views and the wine tasting. Saturday night we went to Dobro bar and grill to hear Anthony Mozzella play guitar. It was like having a private concert, could not have been any better. We ate at the Tavern Inn - best service we've seen in a long time and the food was excellent.

Only word of caution is that the Tavern Hotel is not a place for small children - there's no pool or play area and the Old Town area has sophisticated restaurants, several wine tasting rooms, and a few antique stores so it's much better for singles and couples. Cottonwood is now on the map, if you haven't visited for a while, now is the time.

Room Tip: There are only 10 rooms and a cottage. I would assume any choice would be a good one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OscarTempe_AZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HauntedGroup, Owner at The Tavern Hotel, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
We are so glad you chose to stay with us for your birthday! It sounds like you had a fabulous time. We hope that we'll be able to welcome you again the next time you visit Cottonwood!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    248
    45
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
31
198
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chandler
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Decided to stay in Cottonwood after making plans to expereience the Ails on Rails event at the Verde Canyon Railroad. Wow - what a wonderful place! The pictures and other reviews on Trip Advisor are right on! Spacious and contemporary furnished with upscale touches! The bed was so comfy - luxurious linens and pillows! Night lights on the headboards was so cool! Oh my, the bathroom was unbelievable! Huge tiled shower and nice separate vanity. Very quiet - never heard a peep from anyone else staying there!!
Loved the welcome cocktail and dined at the Tavern Grille (yummy)! Enjoyed a complimentary breakfast ($5 off menu item if you ordered more than a continental breakfast) at the Red Rooster Cafe. You'll want more than a muffin as the food there was delicious too!!
Definitely a find...we WILL be back again and again!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HauntedGroup, Owner at The Tavern Hotel, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Wow! Thank you for your fantastic review! We're so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and everything that went along with it. We can't wait to welcome you back again. Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

An upscale room and amenities, the decor, a modern approach with traditional touches. The room makes the guest feel at home, the service is great, and the large walk-in shower a real treat. This is a hidden gem, way off the beaten track, and worth the visit. The imaginative approach to inn-keeping, is highly appreciated and worthy of special praise. I shall return!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beekay101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HauntedGroup, Owner at The Tavern Hotel, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Thanks for the great review! We're so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Cajon
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Husband wanted to ride the Verde Canyon Railroad so booked the Tavern Hotel not knowing what to expect being that it's in a small town. We were so surprised at this upscale boutique hotel which included two "welcome" drinks at check-in at the Tavern Grille. Loved the blue & brown combination decor & dark wood flooring and I'd love to have the huge walk-in shower in my own home. Luxury Philosophy bath products are provided. Only suggestion would be to have a small teak bench in the shower - certainly enough room. Picked the Sip & Play package which was a bargain - included $10 off breakfast at two locations & a $50 restaurant gift card at your choice of four restaurants in Cottonwood or Jerome. Unfortunately we never got to use the two wine tastings. Want to return soon to visit Montezuma's Castle and the Tuzigoot ruins which were closed due to the government shutdown. Also close enough to take a pink jeep tour in Sedona without the high prices or congestion!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kiefer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HauntedGroup, Owner at The Tavern Hotel, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
It sounds like you and your husband had a wonderful time on your trip! We are so glad that we were able to be apart of it. We look forward to welcoming you back when you come to explore the area attractions!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeLand
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We didn't want to stay in touristy Sedona, and Cottonwood looked like a great alternative. Arriving after dark, we wondered what we were getting ourselves into as we drove the back roads off of the interstate. But when we arrived in a bustling Cottonwood around dinnertime, we knew we had made the right choice. The Tavern Hotel is right next to a great restaurant owned by the same people. We loved our room, and although it does look more like a fancy NY hotel, we loved the beauty and comfort it afforded. We had wonderful breakfasts included in our room rate at Crema, where the food was delicious, the staff charming, and other customers friendly. We used our $50 dinner gift certificate at Nik's where we had a fabulous dinner, with a great wait staff and Christopher the manager made sure we were happy. In an interesting turn of events, we met the former manager of Nik's when we stayed at our next accommodations, and we shared a lot of laughs together. Good vibes come from Cottonwood!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wangsneg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HauntedGroup, Owner at The Tavern Hotel, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review! We're so glad to hear that you decided to stay in Cottonwood instead of Sedona. Thanks for choosing to stay with us and sharing your experience. We hope we will have another opportunity to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

This hotel is just fantastic. It is beautifully decorated, beds are extremely comfortable, shower is fantastic, and nice and peaceful as well. With only 10 rooms, it is all on one floor. But the most surprising thing was it's beauty. Among the top places we have ever stayed. Excellent value, as room rate included first class train tix, 2 drinks, and 2 breakfasts.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Surprisetravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HauntedGroup, Owner at The Tavern Hotel, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
It sounds like you had a great time with us during your trip. We are so glad that you chose to stay with us. We hope the next time you are in town, we'll have the pleasure of hosting you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We stayed 2 nights in Cottonwood at the Tavern Hotel. The room was extremely nice and comfortable. It had a "wow" factor. The shower was a tiled walk-in shower. They also provide Philosophy shampoo, soaps, lotions. This is the only hotel where the rooms lives up to the pictures the hotel posts. Most places look really different when you get there. We signed up for the Sip and Stay package. Overall, it was a good package. The Wine tasting wasn't what i expected. You get one 1oz tasting at 2 of the tasting rooms. The other discounts that came with the package was good. The only thing that I thought needed improvement was the water pressure in the shower. It was extremely low. I would definitely stay at the Tavern Hotel again!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HauntedGroup, Owner at The Tavern Hotel, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us! We are so glad that you chose to stay with us during your trip. We will look into the water pressure and see what the problem is. Come visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cottonwood hotels
2.1 mi away
Pines Motel
Pines Motel
#1 of 7 in Cottonwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
1.0 mi away
Quality Inn - Cottonwood
Quality Inn - Cottonwood
#6 of 7 in Cottonwood
3.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Iron Horse Inn
The Iron Horse Inn
#1 of 7 in Cottonwood
5.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Best Western Cottonwood Inn
0.1 mi away
Cottonwood Hotel
Cottonwood Hotel
#3 of 7 in Cottonwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
3.2 mi away
Desert Rose Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tavern Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tavern Hotel

Property: The Tavern Hotel
Address: 904 N Main St, Cottonwood, AZ 86326-3532
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Cottonwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Cottonwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Tavern Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tavern Hotel is nestled in the heart of Old Town Cottonwood's dining, shopping, and entertainment district. This luxury boutique hotel features deluxe accommodations, combining historic details with chic elegance. Your unique experience begins at check in. Our front desk is located at the bar inside The Tavern Grille where you will be greeted and offered a complimentary cocktail while checking in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your The Tavern Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing