We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“impressive”
Review of The Tavern Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Tavern Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Cottonwood
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 November 2013

had the opportunity to visit Cottonwood for a bit of work as well as relaxation. Hadn't been there in maybe 3 years and what a surprise with wine tasting rooms, chefs moving there and starting nice culinary bases to weave into the small town easy feel. Work put us up at the cornerstone of all the Tavern Hotel turning out wonderfully starting out with a beautifully appointed room, comfortable colors, tasteful art and furnishings. An added perk were the 2 free welcome drinks of your choice at the Tavern Grille, $50 towards our bill for dinner at one of 2 restaurants, 2 tickets for a free wine tasting, breakfast the next morning......great value. Walking location to many venues.

Room Tip: only 10 rooms so all would seem to be on a par
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank izymassage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HauntedGroup, Owner at The Tavern Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

We're so pleased to hear that you were able to relax with us and get some work done! We hope next time it'll just be to relax! Hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (340)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

250 - 256 of 340 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2013

Spent my 50th birthday at the Tavern Hotel, and was not disappointed. The hotel and the room are beautiful, with better amenities than high end Scottsdale hotels. Peaceful blue/green walls, corresponding brown/white/bronze accessories, comfortable beds with soft sheets, walk in tiled shower, and vessel sink in the bathroom.

The hotel gave us a free drink at check-in, wine tasting tickets, $5 coupons each towards breakfast in one of two restaurants and a $50 gift card to use in one of their restaurants in Cottonwood or Jerome. Speaking of Jerome, it's a two mile drive from Cottonwood, so we spent a morning up there enjoying the views and the wine tasting. Saturday night we went to Dobro bar and grill to hear Anthony Mozzella play guitar. It was like having a private concert, could not have been any better. We ate at the Tavern Inn - best service we've seen in a long time and the food was excellent.

Only word of caution is that the Tavern Hotel is not a place for small children - there's no pool or play area and the Old Town area has sophisticated restaurants, several wine tasting rooms, and a few antique stores so it's much better for singles and couples. Cottonwood is now on the map, if you haven't visited for a while, now is the time.

Room Tip: There are only 10 rooms and a cottage. I would assume any choice would be a good one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OscarTempe_AZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HauntedGroup, Owner at The Tavern Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

We are so glad you chose to stay with us for your birthday! It sounds like you had a fabulous time. We hope that we'll be able to welcome you again the next time you visit Cottonwood!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Decided to stay in Cottonwood after making plans to expereience the Ails on Rails event at the Verde Canyon Railroad. Wow - what a wonderful place! The pictures and other reviews on Trip Advisor are right on! Spacious and contemporary furnished with upscale touches! The bed was so comfy - luxurious linens and pillows! Night lights on the headboards was so cool! Oh my, the bathroom was unbelievable! Huge tiled shower and nice separate vanity. Very quiet - never heard a peep from anyone else staying there!!
Loved the welcome cocktail and dined at the Tavern Grille (yummy)! Enjoyed a complimentary breakfast ($5 off menu item if you ordered more than a continental breakfast) at the Red Rooster Cafe. You'll want more than a muffin as the food there was delicious too!!
Definitely a find...we WILL be back again and again!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HauntedGroup, Owner at The Tavern Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Wow! Thank you for your fantastic review! We're so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and everything that went along with it. We can't wait to welcome you back again. Hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

An upscale room and amenities, the decor, a modern approach with traditional touches. The room makes the guest feel at home, the service is great, and the large walk-in shower a real treat. This is a hidden gem, way off the beaten track, and worth the visit. The imaginative approach to inn-keeping, is highly appreciated and worthy of special praise. I shall return!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank beekay101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HauntedGroup, Owner at The Tavern Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Thanks for the great review! We're so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Husband wanted to ride the Verde Canyon Railroad so booked the Tavern Hotel not knowing what to expect being that it's in a small town. We were so surprised at this upscale boutique hotel which included two "welcome" drinks at check-in at the Tavern Grille. Loved the blue & brown combination decor & dark wood flooring and I'd love to have the huge walk-in shower in my own home. Luxury Philosophy bath products are provided. Only suggestion would be to have a small teak bench in the shower - certainly enough room. Picked the Sip & Play package which was a bargain - included $10 off breakfast at two locations & a $50 restaurant gift card at your choice of four restaurants in Cottonwood or Jerome. Unfortunately we never got to use the two wine tastings. Want to return soon to visit Montezuma's Castle and the Tuzigoot ruins which were closed due to the government shutdown. Also close enough to take a pink jeep tour in Sedona without the high prices or congestion!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kiefer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HauntedGroup, Owner at The Tavern Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

It sounds like you and your husband had a wonderful time on your trip! We are so glad that we were able to be apart of it. We look forward to welcoming you back when you come to explore the area attractions!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We didn't want to stay in touristy Sedona, and Cottonwood looked like a great alternative. Arriving after dark, we wondered what we were getting ourselves into as we drove the back roads off of the interstate. But when we arrived in a bustling Cottonwood around dinnertime, we knew we had made the right choice. The Tavern Hotel is right next to a great restaurant owned by the same people. We loved our room, and although it does look more like a fancy NY hotel, we loved the beauty and comfort it afforded. We had wonderful breakfasts included in our room rate at Crema, where the food was delicious, the staff charming, and other customers friendly. We used our $50 dinner gift certificate at Nik's where we had a fabulous dinner, with a great wait staff and Christopher the manager made sure we were happy. In an interesting turn of events, we met the former manager of Nik's when we stayed at our next accommodations, and we shared a lot of laughs together. Good vibes come from Cottonwood!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wangsneg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HauntedGroup, Owner at The Tavern Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review! We're so glad to hear that you decided to stay in Cottonwood instead of Sedona. Thanks for choosing to stay with us and sharing your experience. We hope we will have another opportunity to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

This hotel is just fantastic. It is beautifully decorated, beds are extremely comfortable, shower is fantastic, and nice and peaceful as well. With only 10 rooms, it is all on one floor. But the most surprising thing was it's beauty. Among the top places we have ever stayed. Excellent value, as room rate included first class train tix, 2 drinks, and 2 breakfasts.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Surprisetravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HauntedGroup, Owner at The Tavern Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

It sounds like you had a great time with us during your trip. We are so glad that you chose to stay with us. We hope the next time you are in town, we'll have the pleasure of hosting you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cottonwood
2.1 mi away
Pines Motel
Pines Motel
#2 of 8 in Cottonwood
323 reviews
1 mi away
Quality Inn - Cottonwood
Quality Inn - Cottonwood
#7 of 8 in Cottonwood
159 reviews
17.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
0.1 mi away
The Iron Horse Inn
The Iron Horse Inn
#1 of 6 in Cottonwood
293 reviews
2.2 mi away
Best Western Cottonwood Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tavern Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tavern Hotel

Address: 904 N Main St, Cottonwood, AZ 86326-3532
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Cottonwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Cottonwood
Price Range: £128 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Tavern Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tavern Hotel is nestled in the heart of Old Town Cottonwood's dining, shopping, and entertainment district. This luxury boutique hotel features deluxe accommodations, combining historic details with chic elegance. Your unique experience begins at check in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Tavern Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing