We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best food experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Greek Cafe

Greek Cafe
Ranked #34 of 102 Restaurants in Cottonwood
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$9
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Greek cafe , opened the doors October 3rd 2011. Specializing in authentic Greek and Mediterranean Cuisine. At the Greek Cafe, we invite you to come eat like Family. We take pride in our food,offering an open Kitchen atmosphere where you can see our Chefs at work in a clean and professional environment. All our food is prepared fresh daily using only the finest ingredients, farm fresh vegetables and old traditional family recipes that date back almost a Century.Come see for yourself........ Who knew eating healthy could be so tasty............Opah !
Sedona
1 review
“Best food experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

I went to Greek cafe with me and all my family we had such a wonderful time it was one of the greatest food environments I've ever been me and my family had a wonderful experience. I would recommend the food to anybody they are definitely the greatest in town and nobody could top them. Also have great service very fast.

Helpful?
Thank Sedona2323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    15
    8
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Slow, spendy”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013 via mobile

Extremely slow service, and prep time. And its not because the food is complex or made to order. Significantly overpriced for uncomplicated greek. Humus is *obviously* from premix. Rice is obviously from a packet. Olives from a jar. Etc etc.
Its clean. They have vegan options. I told the (grumpy) owner I was vegan and my salad still arrived with feta.

Meh.

Helpful?
4 Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rimrock, Arizona
Level Contributor
37 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The Real Deal. In Cottonwood? Who knew?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

You're driving from Old Town Cottonwood. On the right you spot a small sign, soft blue with white Greek letters. Whatever you were doing... slam on the brakes, hang a right into the parking lot and park. Now go in and order the best Greek food you've ever had in this neck of the woods!

Try a gyro pita, platter or salad. Juicy meat, sliced and spiced just right, tender center with crispy edges, wrapped in a pita that's warm and puffy/crunchy. Or get your gyro meat on a salad - vibrant romaine leaves with the big, bright flavor of feta cheese, paper thin red onion, cucumber chunks, ripe tomato and kalamata olives. The dressing and tsziki sauce are fabulous and we always get extra so we can slather on even more.

This place serves perfect food for Caveman/Paleo programs or other low-carb diets, and nothing costs over $10. Plus if you're not into low-carb, the baklava is only $1.99. Tiny, but dozens of flaky layers of yum. When's the last time you saw a dessert price like that?

Coming in from the summer heat into the low lights, with the shining dark tables, the subdued green paint, the high ceiling with old-fashioned fans, and Greek music, it's hard to believe I'm in Cottonwood. And when the food arrives, it's impossible to believe I'm in Cottonwood. After our first visit, we had to go back 3 times the next week just to reassure ourselves that this fabulous Greek Cafe was not a figment of our imaginations. It really is as wonderful as we thought.

We have now been eating there at least three times a month for the past two years. The food is addictive and absolutely clean and fresh. So is the kitchen which is visible through the pass-through. Some reviewers read the male owner as grumpy... so it seemed to us in the beginning, but over the years we have come to see him as shy, overworked, determined to succeed, and dedicated to perfection. Let's give the guy a break. That's a hard combo to live up to.

I'd rather enjoy this fabulous food from a quiet guy working his butt off in the kitchen, than suffer the typical Cottonwood fare with Mr. Sunshine Hi-Howdy snickering up his sleeve at his customers' gullibility as he deposits a load of bull at every table!

Try it. You'll like it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tbyrd2211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“OPA!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

Want a traditional gyros, Greek Cafe has it. awesome lunch specials, good music and quaint place. A good 'Greek" restaurant to stop in and taste.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Therock2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirtland, Ohio
Level Contributor
290 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Delicious Home Made Greek Food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

This is a small restaurant that has quite a variety of menu selections of Greek Foods. We had gyro sandwiches and the owner gave us a free Greek Dessert to sample. Everything was wonderful! All the food is made right there is their own kitchen! The owners take a lot of pride in their food presentation.

Service was great!

We are looking forward to returning to the Greek Cafe to try one of the dinners.

Prices are also very reasonable.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amiga9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Greek Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Greek Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing