We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, reasonable pricing.”
Review of Pines Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pines Motel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Cottonwood
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
South Branch, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Nice place, reasonable pricing.”
Reviewed 10 May 2013

Not too often do you find a family run operation that can hold itself up against the big chains, but this one does just fine. Very comfortable, clean, quiet. What more can you need. Good recommendation for dinner.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RCory, Manager at Pines Motel, responded to this review, 23 May 2013
Thank you, James! We are family biz and you can always get in contact with one of us! See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    93
    22
    4
    5
See reviews for
82
123
17
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona, United States
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Our room was small, but adequate. It was also clean. The bed was comfortable. Good location.
Our room faced the front of the hotel, but we didn't hear road noise during the night. There was a microwave and refrigerator as well as a coffee maker.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GailandSteve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2013

A family run operation rarely can compete with the big chain motels but when you consider the very reasonable prices then The Pines is a very good deal. Whether visiting Jerome or Sedona, The Pins is very centrally located and costs half of similar motels in Sedona while still being within 15-20 minutes of both sites and Montezuma's Castle and the Out Of Africa animal park. Our room was clean and comfortable. The desk clerks were friendly. The touring app provided for our smart phone helped quite a bit. While not fancy it provided all the necessities for a pleasant stay. Yes, there was only regular coffee and yes, the bath soap bars were small, and yes they don't offer breakfast but we could live with these minor inconveniences. It's a great base for touring the area as we didn't want to live there, just rest over night between excursions to a great part of Arizona. Will we stay again? Probably.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ammochief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed for a total of five nights. The property was quiet and calm, the view wonderful. Our room was comfortable during our stay and kept clean daily. We refused service one day, but were given all amenities needed (towel, coffee, shampoo). Pool is refreshing and was never crowded, with clean towels readily available. Recycling was conveniently located around premises (important for an eco-conscious traveler). Staff is available if needed, but transparent otherwise. I enjoy my privacy!
For a long stay and this only being a motel, I felt taken care of!

Room Tip: The back building has great views out to Sedona outside the room.
See more room tips
Green Features: Recycling was easy. The note pads in the room were recycled paper cutouts, I appreciated this! Sheets and towels are only replenished is left on floor or if card is placed on bed. For a 5 night stay, it was nice knowing they wouldn't automatically change them.
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaverton
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2013

coffee maker with ceramic cups, and a hair dryer. There are laundry facilities on site. Martha, the manager and desk clerk, is very helpful.
Minuses—This is all nitpicking stuff. There is only one towel bar, which is located in the bathroom; shelves are provided for wet hand towels, etc. There is one package of generic , regular coffee provided, and it tastes bad. There’s a $1.00 charge for each additional package. There is no decaf and no tea. There is only one night stand. The small pad of paper provided consists of 4 quarter sheets of scrap paper stapled together. The towels are small and rough.
Overall, this is a good place for an overnight stay, but not a particularly good base for touring the area.

Room Tip: Compare the price with other local facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cpagal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RCory, Manager at Pines Motel, responded to this review, 21 May 2013
Thank you for the review! The rooms with 2 queen beds have one night stand in the middle of the beds - The King bed rooms have 2 night stands on either side! As part of our efforts in being a "green" motel, we make our own note paper for the rooms using harmless scraps of paper from the office! We used to carry decaf coffee for the rooms, but never had anyone ask for it so we stopped carrying it. I believe we make a good base for touring the area as we are much less expensive - if you stay in a room with a kitchen, it makes a great "home base" for extended stays!! See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redmond, wa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Weather had been in the upper 70's for several days. We had been out touring and came back very warm. Asked about using the pool since water was very cold. Told by front desk "Her husband had not turned on the heater yet". I asked if they could turn it on and she said "yes". Came back 2 hours later and pool was being covered. Asked the "pool guy" what was going on and he said chemical have been out of wack for a few days - should not be used.
1.So why didn't front desk know about chemical issue?
2. Why did front desk lie about turning on the heater?
3. A simple "sorry about the pool" would have helped a lot.
Early in season for pool use but a truthful front desk is a reasonable expectation.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RCory, Manager at Pines Motel, responded to this review, 23 April 2013
We are always amazed at the spring weather here in Arizona! One day it is in the 70s and the next day it's pouring down hail! We apologize there was some confusion about our seasonal pool. Every attempt is made to accommodate all guests' safety and requests. We are glad that you stayed for the 2 days and that your room was exceptional! See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MN
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Wanted a nice place to stay that was quiet as we were traveling w/older companions to the Sedona area. Saw the reviews & decided to try the Pines - nice, clean, spacious rooms. Nice & quiet & away from Sedona traffic & noise. Staff was friendly & accomodating, and recommended great places to eat.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sewhappy1221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cottonwood
1.6 mi away
Quality Inn - Cottonwood
Quality Inn - Cottonwood
#6 of 7 in Cottonwood
152 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Cottonwood Inn
2.2 mi away
The Iron Horse Inn
The Iron Horse Inn
#1 of 7 in Cottonwood
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Super 8 Cottonwood
Super 8 Cottonwood
#7 of 7 in Cottonwood
447 reviews
0.3 mi away
Verde Valley Inn
Verde Valley Inn
#4 of 7 in Cottonwood
41 reviews
13.5 mi away
Sedona Summit Resort
Sedona Summit Resort
#22 of 48 in Sedona
1,722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pines Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pines Motel

Property: Pines Motel
Address: 920 S Camino Real, Cottonwood, AZ 86326-4531
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Cottonwood
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Cottonwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Pines Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on a hill, the Pines Motel boasts beautiful views of the scenic Cottonwood and Verde Valley areas. The Pines Motel is in the middle of it all. We are only 15 minutes from the magnificent red rocks of Sedona, Arizona and Oak Creek Canyon and other popular destinations such as the Verde River, Verde Canyon Railroad, Out of Africa, Cliff Castle Casino, Grand Canyon, Jerome, Clarkdale, Camp Verde, Montezuma's Castle and Tuzigoot. Browse our site and learn about area activities. We have Tesla electric car charging station! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and getaroom.com so you can book your Pines Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pines Hotel Cottonwood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing