We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fit the bill” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pines Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pines Motel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Cottonwood
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Tucson, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fit the bill”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

The Pines Motel was just what we wanted on our day in Prescott. It was an okay price compared to everything in Sedona 45 minutes away. It was clean and the bed was very comfortable. The location was by plenty of restaurants and not far off of the freeway. Nothing fancy, but it suited our purposes before we spent the rest of our vacation in Sedona.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RCory, Manager at Pines Motel, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review - We are simple as you say but also try to add some extra comforts - like flat screen TVs and feather blankets - as you say we are in a great central location for exploring the Verde Valley! Hope to see you next time and thank you again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    85
    20
    3
    5
See reviews for
76
113
17
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Placerville, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

We stayed here October 17th - 21st while on a road trip through Nevada and Arizona. The location was off the main drag so we did not hear traffic. We stayed in room 114. It was clean and roomy. The only complaint was the beds (we had 2 queens) were really uncomfortable, no support and I could hear the mattress springs when I sat on the bed. I really feel when you are charged $94. a night on weekends, a motel can at least have comfortable beds.

Room Tip: Do not book room 114 if you can help it. Very uncomfortable beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank terral f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RCory, Manager at Pines Motel, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Hello and thank you for the review! This is the first time we have heard about this and checked into it - we could feel the springs on one of the mattresses - the other seemed smooth and bouncy - we will look into changing out that mattress as we always get compliments on our beds! Also, room 114 has a great walk-in shower with a lot of room!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

I only stayed here because it was the only place in town I could get a first floor room to accommodate my 90 year old mother. The floors were so thin, it sounded like we had a heard of elephants over our room. We were woke up at 5:30 am to guys yelling,running down the steps and pounding on the door to the room next to us. Overall not a place I would ever go back to and would not recommend!

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mimiwicz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RCory, Manager at Pines Motel, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Mimiwicz - Thank you for the response. I'm sorry you had this experience and wish this didn't happen to you. Sometimes inconsiderate guests aren't aware that there are other guests staying also. There are some situations like this we have no control over. I will tell you that our floors are very safe and sturdy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

We stayed for one night and were very impressed. Not an example of one of the large motel chains, but a family-run motel offering clean, well-furnished rooms with all the facilities you would expect for a relaxing experience. Within short driving distance to a good selection of restaurants. Congratulations to the management in making our stay very pleasant and peaceful.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drmjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RCory, Manager at Pines Motel, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
We strive to keep it simple and keep our rates lower. Clean and affordable with a few extras you wouldn't expect from a motel. Thank you drmjo!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
Level Contributor
68 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

We stayed just one night, but all was very good. Had a very clean and comfortable room. Staff was friendly. Had everything we needed, including refrigerator, and a very reasonable price. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Drive on in to Jerome, just 10 minutes. Fun old town. Nice winery.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pam_from_indiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RCory, General Manager at Pines Motel, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Thank you for the review! We try to keep it simple! See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prescott, Arizona
Level Contributor
127 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

OK - this is not a Kimpton, Ritz or JW Marriott. This is a small Arizona town motel. You will neither find nor need such a property and this place is perfect. The staff was very friendly when checking in and great with directions to local attractions.

Our room had a king bed, although I think queens are available. The room is roughly 12 x 18, so it is adequately spacious. A small table and chairs sits next to a dresser/tv, opposite from the bed. The bath was pretty standard, and it was nice to see a decent sized refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker for the necessities.

The thing I noticed first was this place was CLEAN. The bedding comfortable and no errant odors were detected. OK, I may be somewhat picky, but better to report that, no?!

So what were negatives? Towels were minimal (thankfully in AZ you dry quickly naturally), and there was the in wall AC unit. The little fridge compressor was also a bit noisy. But I have certainly heard worse.

If you are in the area and looking for a comfortable place that won't break the bank - stay here .

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MRMED8R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for the Thunder Valley Bike Ralley. They were booked up for that weekend and left our name on a wait list. That same day a gentlemen called us from the motel and said they had a cancellation. Thanks. My wife is very picky on a clean place to stay so she was very pleased. The price was very reasonable.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikesmith69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cottonwood
1.5 mi away
Quality Inn - Cottonwood
Quality Inn - Cottonwood
#7 of 7 in Cottonwood
3.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Cottonwood Inn
2.2 mi away
The Iron Horse Inn
The Iron Horse Inn
#2 of 7 in Cottonwood
5.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Tavern Hotel
The Tavern Hotel
#1 of 7 in Cottonwood
5.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
0.2 mi away
Super 8 Cottonwood
Super 8 Cottonwood
#6 of 7 in Cottonwood
3.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
13.5 mi away
Sedona Summit Resort
Sedona Summit Resort
#19 of 48 in Sedona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pines Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pines Motel

Property: Pines Motel
Address: 920 S Camino Real, Cottonwood, AZ 86326-4531
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Cottonwood
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Cottonwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Pines Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on a hill, the Pines Motel boasts beautiful views of the scenic Cottonwood and Verde Valley areas. The Pines Motel is in the middle of it all. We are only 15 minutes from the magnificent red rocks of Sedona, Arizona and Oak Creek Canyon and other popular destinations such as the Verde River, Verde Canyon Railroad, Out of Africa, Cliff Castle Casino, Grand Canyon, Jerome, Clarkdale, Camp Verde, Montezuma's Castle and Tuzigoot. Browse our site and learn about area activities. We have Tesla electric car charging station! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Pines Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pines Hotel Cottonwood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing