We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Do NOT get married or stay at the Gadsden in Douglas, az.”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Gadsden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Gadsden Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Douglas
Spokane, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Do NOT get married or stay at the Gadsden in Douglas, az.”
Reviewed 27 March 2013

I have so many complaints I don't know where to start. They served the food without utensils, they forgot to put out any drinks (which we were charge for). The owner, Robin, will lead you to believe she is a wedding planner - NOT. I had to organize all the attendants and music. She just walked off to show someone else the hotel. We did not have enough chairs. When we asked her to get more she said okay but never did it. Oh, I could go on and on. We were over charged for our room. She tried to put the bride and attendants in a small, dirty office space for getting dressed, the day of the wedding and for pictures. It was a closet! Don't do it! Don't stay there. Drive up twenty minutes north and stay in Bisbee. Have your wedding in Bisbee too, it was horrible.

Room Tip: Drive twenty minutes north to a town called Bisbee! Stay there. It is a wonderful town, great shoppi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    67
    26
    19
    27
See reviews for
23
81
12
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
bookishdi
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2013

We loved historical hotels and this is now one of our favorites. The setting is lovely, the restaurant great, and the staff friendly and accommodating. We were there in January for a family reunion. It couldn't have been nicer. We loved meeting the owners and assured them we'd be back soon. Stay in a jacuzzi suite if possible. Loved it!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bookishdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Definitely not the best hotel, but definitely full of character and charm. The lobby area is amazing but the rooms are not the best. Glad we stayed there but might choose a different, more modern hotel if we stay again. Restaurant serves good food in a conquistador setting. Overall it's an experience that can be included in a bucket list and leave you with tales to tell to the less daring.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Desertrogues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hanoi
Level Contributor
132 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2012

We spent a night at the Gadsden to see the historic site. The lobby was beautiful with historic stained glass in the front wall and the ceiling. The elevator was an antique complete with an elevator operator--the desk clerk. The public areas are beautifully restored and worth the trip. The rooms are not. If you expect modern rooms and convenience, you will be unhappy. If you go for history, you will have a great experience. The hotel was built in 1907 and rebuilt after a fire in the 1920s. There is little or no insulation, so the rooms are noisy; heating is from radiators that are turned on in the evening and off in the morning. Our room was cold until about 10 pm. Plumbing is questionable--we had hot water in the shower but no cold. However, the style and character add a certain charm--and the bed was fine. Most important, the staff were pleasant and helpful and the visit was a fun and very interesting outing. Breakfast in the restaurant was excellent. The Gadsden Special (chicken fried steak, eggs, hashbrowns, and tortilla was very well done and the staff were pleasant and helpful.

Room Tip: We had a room on the second floor (100s) and it was fine and convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jimHanoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
78 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2012

We stayed at the Gadsden Hotel in Douglas,AZ. I enjoy staying there & have stayed there several times and have always been happy with my stay. The staff is available to help with any problem you might experience. It is not a "modern" hotel. It is old, but has a beautiful marble staircase. There is also a restaurant and a small bar.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lizzy51_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

We live in Douglas and my children, 8 and 10, have always wanted to spend a night at the haunted Gadsden hotel. So we decided to bring them for the night. We paid $150 for a jacuzzi suite. My 10 year old's reaction when we walked into the room, "wow mom, what a dump!"

The "suite" is tiny, barely the size of a regular room at a motel 6. The bathtub is gross, so much so, none of us could use it. The bedding looked old and it smelled bad. Yes, I realize it's an old hotel, so old fixtures are to be expected, but it is SO dirty!

The food at the hotel's restaurant is awful! Inedible! I ordered a chicken chimichanga, I took one bite and almost threw up! Overall the entire experience was just a huge waste of time and money!

The best part of our stay was the chocolate cake we brought from wal mart. :)

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Travelingfamilyof7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Douglas hotels

Benson, AZ
Level Contributor
86 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

We won a free night in the Jacuazzi Suite at the Gadsden Hotel. [Actually I stuff the box with our tickets because I knew how good the prize was!]

The room was very spacious and nicely done. The Jacuazzi was very comfortable for 2 people - we used it alot. The airconditioning and the bed wasn't the best but worked well.

The splendor of the hotel is awesome. The lobby is straight from the 1920's with lots of wood, marble, and stained glass. The elevator requires an operator - how many of these do you see?

We ate breakfast in the restaurant and it was very good.

Staff was very friendily, particurly the desk clerk/elevator operator.

Come here and enjoy this hotel. For fun in the area, go to Slaughter Ranch. You will see a ranch from the 1920's and drive there is beautiful.

Room Tip: Get a room on the north side. Don't do Jacuzzi room in the summer - the one a/c unit in the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DavidBryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Douglas
22.3 mi away
Copper Queen Hotel
Copper Queen Hotel
#7 of 11 in Bisbee
726 reviews
0.8 mi away
No photo provided
Travelers Motel
#3 of 5 in Douglas
18 reviews
22.4 mi away
Bisbee Grand Hotel
Bisbee Grand Hotel
#5 of 11 in Bisbee
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Douglas Inn & Suites
0.4 mi away
Motel 6 Douglas
Motel 6 Douglas
#5 of 5 in Douglas
19 reviews
22.5 mi away
The Inn at Castle Rock
The Inn at Castle Rock
#9 of 14 in Bisbee
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gadsden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gadsden Hotel

Property: Gadsden Hotel
Address: 1046 G Ave., Douglas, AZ 85607
Region: United States > Arizona > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Gadsden Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gadsden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gadsden Hotel Douglas
Gadsden Hotel Arizona/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing