We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it”
Review of Gadsden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Gadsden Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Douglas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Loved it”
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Everyone was nice and had good stories to tell. Room was clean, food was good. We stayed for 2 nights, our first nite there were some kind of ghost hunters. It was fun talking to them . We went to there restaurant and were very accommodating to our needs. We are totally coming back to visit.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Monica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    68
    26
    19
    27
See reviews for
25
81
13
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Douglas, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Stayed at the Gadsden last night- we do not have extravagant taste or expectations. Just wanted a good nights sleep but this was beyond disappointing!!! First off, front desk staff was really unorganized and had a hard time choosing our rooms. Finally, we get upstairs to our 2 rooms, neither of which had air conditioning (this is July in ARIZONA! Humid and HOT). We were put on the 2nd floor in an old room. Trash was found under the bed, carpet was stained, room smelled like cat pee, no directory or tourist info, no screen on the window, etc. generally, the room looked as if it was decorated with leftovers from a yard sale in 1976. The staff found us rooms with a window a/c unit that didn't cool the room whatsoever. This room was not better by any means. Carpet stained, mismatched curtains, stained tub with rust, enamel was chipping everywhere. Also there was no hot water, so we took FREEZING COLD showers and had enamel chips on our feet. Smelled weird too. The room had only 1 outlet that had a power strip. Headboard was faded yellow velvet, really old mattress and the bedding had CIGARETTE BURNS!!!!!! I asked for new sheets, but none were available. I cannot believe that a hotel would keep OLD sheets much less OLD SHEETS WITH CIGARETTE BURNS!!!! Clerk was rude and rolled her eyes. Hotel is understaffed. No coffee in the room or available in lobby at all. Also, rooms don't include alarm clocks. There was a fold out couch that when opened, had crumbs and trash in it. The elevator has to be operated by an elevator operator, who needs to have more practice, as she made us sick from the up/down motion. Most of the time, there was no one to operate the elevator= hiking 3 flights of stairs with health problems and 3 kids in tow. At shift change, LaTrisha, the lady at the front desk was great. She was very accommodating and understanding. She offered to put us into one of the newly renovated rooms. (This should have been done initially!!!) the older rooms are not fit for guests. The men's room in the lobby smelled foul! This place needs air fresheners and a deep cleaning throughout. Just the smell alone lingers and destroys the overall experience. The lobby is gorgeous and is what draws attention to the hotel. We realize and appreciate the history of this hotel, however preservation and restoration should be the focus of the rooms as well. I felt dirty and couldn't wait to leave. Despite all this, the staff didn't offer a discount, coupons complimentary breakfast or anything to better the stay! UNBELIEVEABLE!!! Food in restaurant inside the hotel is overpriced and flavorless with tiny portions. Love to visit the Lobby, but I honestly cannot see how this hotel is in business instead of just a tourist attraction. Do something about it! It's an easy common sense solution. Worst hotel experience ever! I love the place, but truly heartbroken over the experience. Would love to see things turn around.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere. Motel 6 or Best Western.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Elisa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Douglas hotels

Calgary
Level Contributor
131 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Stepping back into the yesterday of Grand Hotels, we were awed by the beauty. Rebuilt in 1927 after a fire destroyed the original, it has class. The history sheet is given when you check in to tell it's story as you climb the wide marble staircase to your room. The ornate doors are carved with the room numbers, opening to reveal newly-renovated updates. The room was adequate, clean and had A.C. and microwave. It is a valuable view of past days, and truly worth a stop over. Internet is available, as is the in-house restaurant and bar.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank gggray17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wicklow, Ireland
Level Contributor
144 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We stopped here for coffee in Douglas and what a surprise. The hotel has a marvelous marble foyer and staircase where Pancho Villa apparently rode his horse up the staircase..... If you are in the area this is definitely worth a stopover. The hotel is very historic and looked to be well run.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gabrielle96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley R, Director of Sales at Gadsden Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Gabrielle96,

So glad that while you were visiting our neck of the woods that you had an opportunity to stop in for a cup of coffee.

I am so glad you enjoyed the grandeur of the hotel lobby. It is quite an unexpected find, isn't it?

The next time you are in town, we would love to have you spend the night with us and enjoy one of our newly renovated rooms in this 87 year old historic hotel.

Thank you so much for stopping by and for your charming review!

Kindest Regards,
Tom Rollins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Hi, am an avid watcher of the Program Hotel Impossible and recently watched this hotel undergoing a revamp. Great to read the comments and reviews, looks a great place if all facilities are up and running, good luck.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank CraigEdmondson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley R, Director of Sales at Gadsden Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Mr. Edmondson,

Thank you so much for your kind review. The Hotel Impossible episode took place before we took over the property and we have made many, many significant changes to restore this lovely hotel to its original luster.

We still have some work to do but we are well on our way to making the Gadsden Hotel a top notch hotel and the gem of Southern Arizona.

The next time you find yourself in Douglas, please come back and visit with us. We would love to welcome you back and show you what progress we have made.

Best Wishes to you!
Tom Rollins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We went to the Gadsden because the idea of an historic hotel in small town in Arizona was so surprising. My feelings about it are mixed. We stayed on the main floor, which has been remodeled. The room was very clean. The bed was comfortable. It was a quiet evening, though we were staying on a Thursday night. I agree with past reviewers that the bathroom was unbelievably small. But, it is an historic hotel and a large bathroom would be unexpected. I was happy to have it in the same room. The lobby is incredible. It is very spacious with comfortable seating. The Tiffany glass windows are a marvel. I was up early and went to the lobby to watch the sunrise through the windows. I was not disappointed. Everyone I dealt with at the hotel was friendly and welcoming.

My concerns revolve around the parts of the hotel that had not been remodeled. We looked at one of the rooms and it seemed shabby and dingy. Because there are washer and dryers in the hotel, we took advantage of them and did a couple loads of laundry. The washer and dryers are located on the 2nd floor, so there were multiple occasions to go to the second floor. Each time, I was struck by how run-down it seemed. I could not imagine staying there.

My bottom line is to stay at the Gadsden, but only if you can get one of the remodeled rooms. I found them to clean and quiet. The rooms are of a reasonable size, but the bathrooms are small. Only venture to the upper floors if you need to do some laundry. Bring quarters.

Room Tip: Get one of the remodeled rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Debra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley R, Director of Sales at Gadsden Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Debra A,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay. I am so glad that you got to experience the unique qualities of the Gadsden Hotel. You are right, it is quite unexpected to find Tiffany windows and marble staircases in the Arizona desert.

I was happy to hear that you enjoyed the comfort of one of our newly renovated rooms. We are very pleased with the way they turned out. The bathrooms, by today's standards are indeed small, but we have worked hard to retain the historical integrity of a 1927 hotel bathroom.

As you stated, we do have much work ahead of us as we work to renovate all of the guest rooms in various phases. It is work in progress, to be sure, but one we all view as a labor of love.

Debra A, please come back and see you again soon. We look forward to welcoming you back and showing you our further progress in fully restoring this wonderful historic hotel.

Hospitably Yours,
Tom Rollins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
157 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

I like this hotel, despite its problems. But it is definitely not for everyone. This is a place full of history (and supposedly ghosts), but long past its heyday. The lobby is amazing. The staff don't quite have their act together, but most of them are friendly and helpful. I've stayed here in the past, and the renovated rooms are definitely a step up from the old rooms, but still idiosyncratic. The new beds are very comfortable (especially compared to the old beds, which were terrible). Yes, there are no power outlets in the bathroom. Yes, the water temperature seems to be possessed. Our bathroom had hand towels and washcloths, but no bath towels. But I went down to the desk and she apologized and handed me 4 towels. The clock-radio seemed to be haunted and displayed random non-numeric symbols until I finally figured out how to set it. There is a ceiling fan, but you would need a ladder to reach the pull chain to turn it on. No wastebasket in the room at all. The restaurant is inexpensive and the food is good, but not anything fancy.

If your idea of a good hotel is a predictable chain, then you probably shouldn't stay here. But if you don't mind a little adventure, this place delivers. Where else can you take a manual elevator to your room? Or find a marble staircase with a chip out of it from when Pancho Villa rode his horse up it? Or huge marble columns topped by gold leaf? When we arrived there was an elderly man taking photos with a panoramic view camera he had made himself and we had a fascinating conversation.

I haven't seen any ghosts, but there are plenty of stories. Got into a conversation with one of the staff who said she hadn't seen any ghosts either, but told me that more than once people had checked out of their rooms in the middle of the night because of them. There are other stories too. Ask about some of the tiled murals, like the one of Pompeii in the restaurant (that's right, a hotel with a disaster scene in its restaurant).

If you enjoy the quirky and interesting, stay here. Otherwise stay away.

Room Tip: I'd recommend the renovated rooms. We managed to get one for $80 + tax.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wmleler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley R, Director of Sales at Gadsden Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Wmleler,

Firstly, thank you so much for you review of your recent stay with us at the Gadsden. I agree with you in that our hotel is not a modern cookie cutter hotel and does offer a unique look at a bygone era. Since we are a historically significant building, we have tried to modernize the hotel while still maintaining its historical perspective intact.

I am glad that you enjoyed our lobby and were able to meet another interesting and interested traveler. We do attract history buffs, architecture aficionados and those looking for an out of the ordinary and unique travel experience.

I am pleased you found the food in our restaurant good and that our staff was helpful and friendly. We are working everyday to grow and improve all aspects of our operation.

Please come back and see us again soon!

Kind Regards,
Tom Rollins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Douglas
22.3 mi away
Copper Queen Hotel
Copper Queen Hotel
#6 of 11 in Bisbee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
0.8 mi away
No photo provided
Travelers Motel
#3 of 5 in Douglas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
22.4 mi away
Bisbee Grand Hotel
Bisbee Grand Hotel
#5 of 11 in Bisbee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Best Western Douglas Inn & Suites
0.4 mi away
Motel 6 Douglas
Motel 6 Douglas
#5 of 5 in Douglas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
23.5 mi away
The Gardens At Mile High Ranch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gadsden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gadsden Hotel

Property: Gadsden Hotel
Address: 1046 N G Ave, Douglas, AZ 85607-2018
Region: United States > Arizona > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Gadsden Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Gadsden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gadsden Hotel Douglas
Gadsden Hotel Arizona/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing