We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“2nd Stay was not as nice as the 1st Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Phoenix - Gilbert
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Gilbert
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
90 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“2nd Stay was not as nice as the 1st Stay”
Reviewed 29 December 2013

I have stayed at this hotel twice in the past year. My first stay was wonderful. My stay this past week was far less. The location is great for shopping because it is directly across the street from a large mall area with restaurants, a movie theater, and plenty of stores. Rooms are not as clean as they were a few months ago. So much so that I will be writing Hilton. We were put on the first floor just outside the lobby area and the noise was horrible. Avoid any 1st floor room. We were able to switch after the first terrible night, moving to the 4th floor. The lobby was very smelly of overcooked foods. Breakfast was so-so, better on our first stay. However, the restaurant staff is very pleasant and helpful. They are far overworked with providing restaurant, bar, and room service. Not sure what happened to this hotel, but it has lost much over the last several months.

Room Tip: Do not stay on the first floor and try to avoid rooms that face the busy front highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eleni1911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda B, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Phoenix - Gilbert, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
I am so sorry to hear your stay was not as nice as the first time. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and will be shared with team members so we can explore ways to improve. Thank you again for sharing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    303
    140
    74
    29
    27
See reviews for
197
118
32
185
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glendale AZ, United States
1 review
Reviewed 19 December 2013

The hotel is in a very good and newer area and is close to mall type shopping . There are several different types of well known stores and restaurants that are within walking distance, but the hotel does provide a shuttle service to nearby areas. There is plenty of parking even with the hotels onsight convention center. The restaurant and lounge area at the hotel, just off the lobby, are convenient if you just want to relax and charge up for later in the evening or next day. Prices vary but are fair when you consider all the amenities, the area, surrouding shopping, and airports.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Henry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda B, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Phoenix - Gilbert, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Thank you for the feedback! It is always nice to hear we are doing good and meeting the needs of our guests. Thank you for being our guest at the DoubleTree by Hilton Phoenix Gilbert and thank you again for the review. Come back again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We stayed at the Gilbert Double tree for a night in the honeymoon Suite. The room was very nice but that was the end of what the hotel had to offer. The staff was friendly but not very attentive to what they were doing the gave us keys that were incorrect, and they were predisposed with talking on the phone. We had a dinner at the restaurant which was interesting to say the least the bar tender/ waiter/room service guy was over whelmed. So we waited for a while to get our order taken, well actually I went to the bar and gave it to him as he was very busy. We got our meals and the food was good but as we were almost finished our bread came out to us cold. The restaurant is actually the bar with a handful of tables so if your expecting a sit down nice meal think again. It was a clean hotel but needs a little help in the service end, as we were leaving the maid stopped us to question us about the room we were leaving so she could go get it ready for the next guests. It is in a good location if you are looking to go to the Gilbert mall and have a good meal and do some shopping if not I would pass on this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda B, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Phoenix - Gilbert, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Thank you for the feedback regarding your recent experience. On behalf of the management and staff of the DoubleTree by Hilton Phoenix Gilbert please accept my apologies. Since our goal is to exceed expectations we will evaluate staff schedules and how trainings are done. This should help to improve the issues you experienced. I hope you will visit us again and give it another try in the near future to see the changes we will make. Thank you again for the feedback and being our recent guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

did not have a great experience at this hotel first stay but is great local close to family so tried again. Hotel is basic with average service. but entrance area were they service breakfast needs some ventalation. smells like a dirty kitchen because it does not have adaquate ventilation.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank paul4golf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilbert, United States
1 review
Reviewed 12 December 2013

My husband and I were married on Saturday and we were EXTREMELY disappointed with the lack of amenities that were not included with the EXPENSIVE "honeymoon suite" of the Phoenix-Gilbert DoubleTree . The room was $350 for the one night. After spending an entire tiring day running around with getting ready before the actual event by the time we made it to the hotel we were exhausted and very thirsty. Although there is a mini-fridge and a microwave there is not a bottle of water to be had. Luckily my in-laws wanted to come take a peek of the room and were kind enough to run down and get us a couple cups of the "lemon water" that was down in the lobby. We also had to walk around the entire perimeter of the hotel because it was a full night for them, it would have been nice to have some sort of reserved parking for the room instead of having to traipse all over in a our wedding attire. Honestly for the price I do not think that it is outrageous to provide a reserved parking spot and a few bottles of water. Had I know that the room was going to be priced as it was we would have just gone home or even checked out one of the cheaper nearby hotels. When we mentioned our disappoint to the woman that assisted us in checking out she really could not have cared less. Just gave us a "meh, that is your problem not mine" look and didn't offer an apology or an "I am sorry to hear that."

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Sheri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sedona, United States
1 review
Reviewed 6 December 2013

We could hear the couple next door talking, not clearly but we weren't trying to listen to their conversation. We heard snoring most of the night. The room looks very nice. The bed was worn and not all that comfortable. All the pillows were thick. The can lights in the bathroom are crummy for putting on your makeup. The person at the front desk was very friendly. The chocolate chip cookies were very tasty.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Jeff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ripon, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Beautifully decorated hotel with a very friendly staff. Beds are very comfortable and room furnishings are top notch. Breakfast was very good for $11 including coffee and juices. Evening cookies are wonderful! Very close (2 blocks) to a great life style mall with every store you can imagine.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fiftys0mething
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gilbert
1.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Phoenix/Gilbert
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Phoenix/Gilbert
3.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton at Phoenix Mesa Gateway Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Phoenix East Mesa
4.7 mi away
Residence Inn Phoenix Gilbert
3.4 mi away
Best Western Legacy Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Phoenix - Gilbert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Phoenix - Gilbert

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Phoenix - Gilbert
Address: 1800 S San Tan Village Pkwy, Gilbert, AZ 85295-6245 (Formerly Legado Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Gilbert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Gilbert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Phoenix - Gilbert 3.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Phoenix - Gilbert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing