We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and pizza.”
Review of La Piazza al Forno

La Piazza al Forno
Ranked #5 of 567 Restaurants in Glendale
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
Ormond Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great food and pizza.”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

This place was on the food network and you need to check it out. Great family spot and the pizza is great. So is the pasta. You will not be unhappy dining here.

The neighborhood is a little shady but it's all good.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    56
    18
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brea
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good pies!”
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

Showed up on a Saturday and got the last table without a wait. The decor is ok but our table had quite a slant. Glad we weren't ordering soup. The waiter was good, he had a Jack Black vibe about him. If you can get him as your waiter, do it. An older lady, who brought our food, simply put it down without any acknowledgment or pleasantries. Bordered on rude. Later we even had entertainment as we listened to her and another wait staff argue about who took whose bread. :-)

Ordered the Italian Stalin and a Bianco to share. The Stalin was very good! The Bianco was nice, but needed salt, which we did not have, or something else but not sure what. If I'm back in Az I'll go again.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Wm Curtis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
559 reviews
497 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
“Outstanding Neapolitan Pizza (Certified Pizza)”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

The Margherita D.O.C. Pizza was outstanding this time. It could not have been better the crust, sauce and cheese was perfect and this was a delicious pizza. I've been here many times and for me the pizzas do differ at times and that is why I gave 4 stars instead of 5. If you look at my two pictures I posted you can see the pizzas do differ. I didn't have the cheese cake this time but I had it before and it was light and creamy and worth getting. Service has always been friendly and efficient.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheSaltyPepper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glendale, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great Pizza and Pasta”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Unfortunately, I have no problem eating an entire pizza by myself at this restaurant. The Italian Stallion is amazing, as are all others I've tried. Go with a group and share different options. The pizza oven bubbles the dough in just the right way; it's chewy and slightly charred. It's never left on the plate! The pesto dish is the best I've had outside of Italy. They make their own mozzarella, also. The desserts are not to be missed, either. If the restaurant is busy, it is worth the wait. Trust me, the quality of this pizza -and the other menu items - makes it difficult for any other pizza to measure up!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JinxHE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glendale, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Authentic brick oven pizza”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This family owned and run pizza kitchen is a treasure tucked away in downtown Glendale. Its worth the trip and the wait for authentic Neapolitan pizza. Our family makes the trip regularly and has never been disappointed. Be sure to get one of their family sized salads to complement your pizza!.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mitimom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Piazza al Forno also viewed

Glendale, Central Arizona
Glendale, Central Arizona
 
Glendale, Central Arizona
Glendale, Central Arizona
 
Peoria, Central Arizona
Glendale, Central Arizona
 

Been to La Piazza al Forno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing