We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean hotel, comfy bed, but that's about it...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Renaissance Phoenix Glendale Hotel & Spa
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Glendale
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Clean hotel, comfy bed, but that's about it...”
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We booked this hotel without knowing which hotel we'd get through Priceline.com. Although we did get the hotel at a significant discount, I was honestly surprised at the 4 star rating.
Not to say the hotel wasn't clean… it was. The staff seemed friendly enough. We didn't ask for anything extra, so only dealt with them at check in and check out.
But… the walls were very thin. We didn't realize, having not been to this area before, that this was a big sporting area and we were around on a game weekend. So, the people who were neighboring us came in late, and we were continually woken up by doors slamming, people talking, water running, and *ahem* even some intimacy. Totally NOT what I want to hear when I'm staying at a 4 star hotel. I would hope that the walls would be thick enough for SOME privacy, for all people concerned.
I also was surprised to learn that this hotel had a $10 parking fee, considering it borders right on a shopping mall with free parking. We did pull into the parking lot, which had the ability to have the gate arm go up and down, but all times we went in and out both the entrance and exit arms were opened and we still got charged the $10 per night fee. There's also big groups of young people walking around, and we didn't ever notice any security for the hotel parking garage. Kind of iffy, if you ask me.
So, yeah. We won't be staying here again. If we were sports fans, maybe. But still, not our scene. Need better privacy, and paying for parking on the "honor system" is totally lame.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laurenandmatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RenGlenAZ, Manager at Renaissance Phoenix Glendale Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
laurenandmatt,

Thank you so much for your feedback during your stay with us. We appreciate your feedback as it only improves us taking care of you...the guest. Unfortunately I can't do anything about the walls in the hotel and the parking garage is actually city owned. We are just fortunate to be attached to it. I will definitely address the parking garage information with my other managers and see what kind of options are available.

Again we appreciate your feedback and we hope that you would come try us again....safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    230
    146
    54
    18
    19
See reviews for
91
91
25
180
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
97 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

I had the pleasure of staying here for 2 nights when visiting to see the Colts play the Cardinals at University of Phoenix Stadium. The location is perfect for going to the stadium or seeing a hockey game since Jobing.com arena is even closer. There is also the Westgate area for any type of dining that you may desire within walking distance in addition to the Tanger Outlet Mall. The hotel parking was easy to find therefore did not have to use valet. Parking is $10 per night which I think is very reasonable compared to other places when I've stayed during a football weekend. The hotel is nice and welcoming. There was live music on both Friday and Saturday nights in the lobby. My room was well equipped with the exception of the tv. I had a double king room with a balcony but the tv was tiny for the size of the room. Room was quiet and very clean. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I'd definitely recommend staying here. I would've given 5 stars if the tv had been an appropriate size.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whippetguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RenGlenAZ, Manager at Renaissance Phoenix Glendale Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Whippetguy,

Thank you so much for your feedback in regards to your stay with us. I'm glad you had an opportunity not only enjoy our hotel but the area surroundings. I have forwarded your comments about the size of our TV's in the room to our General Manager for review. We appreciate the feedback as it only makes us better to hear what our customers are saying...

We hope that you will stay with us again....safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
74 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

I stayed at this hotel several times for business, lucky me! They are so friendly and will do anything to keep you happy. We spent many nights eating in the bar area and the food was always fantastic. Plus the bartenders are engaging and friendly. Right next door are shops, restaurants and an outlet mall to keep you entertained, not that you really need to leave the premises. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RenGlenAZ, Manager at Renaissance Phoenix Glendale Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Kelly O

Thank you so much for your kind words about your stay(s) at our facility. We hope that you will keep coming back and visiting us whenever you can. Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missouri
Level Contributor
354 reviews
189 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

I was there for almost a week for a conference. I won't review my room because I was upgraded to a suite and I don't want to make readers jealous. The hotel is nicely laid out with plenty of fast elevators, a comfortable lobby and bar, decent restaurant, and coffee shop with snacks and food items that weren't overpriced.

The fitness center had nice equipment with free weights, machines, and cardio. You can also go outside for a walk or run around the nearby stadiums and shopping centers - sidewalks are a nice touch.

We ate at 3 different restaurants for dinner in the nearby Westgate area - unfortunately all seemed "touristy" and food was hit or miss. For the quality, I would say food at all the places was pricey. For example, a fancy margarita at Jimmy Buffet's went for $9.75 and tasted the same as you'd get in a cheap Mexican restaurant for 2 bucks.

There's nothing else around so don't expect to see much of Phoenix unless you hop into a car and drive back toward the city. This is a good hotel if you're there for a sporting event or are into outlet shopping at the nearby Tanger.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RenGlenAZ, Manager at Renaissance Phoenix Glendale Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Craig D

Thank you so much for your response in regards to your stay with us. We are glad that you had a great time during your stay and hope that you will come back and stay with us again. Next time we can have our Navigator suggest some other local options for you besides the Westgate area you were in so you can experience some of Glendale's local culture as well which is only 10 minutes from the hotel.

Thanks again and we hope to see you again soon! Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orlando, florida
Level Contributor
80 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

I try to stay here when I can while going in/out of Glendale or the Phoenix area. I like the fact that they offer balcony rooms to let in the fresh desert aire. I am extremely disappointed that they charge you for parking - $15 - even if you stay at the hotel. They are just taking advantage of their location next to the stadium I presume, but be aware of this additional charge. The executive lounge is always clean, well-stocked, and I've found the employees in the lounge among the best Marriott has to offer - in terms of professionalism, efficiency and interest in the guest's experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rggsquared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RenGlenAZ, Manager at Renaissance Phoenix Glendale Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Rggsquared,

Thank you so much for your response in regards to your stay with us. I do understand your disappointment in regards to the parking charge, but the parking structure that is connected to the hotel is a city owned building and unfortunately we don't have the opportunity to offer complimentary parking. We are glad that you do enjoy all the other amenities of the hotel...we hope that you will come back and see us soon. Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Stayed here after a Coyotes game and before a Cardinals game. Great location with plenty of restaurants nearby. Staff were very friendly and accommodating. Rooms were clean and spacious. Being a weekend, we did not get to take advantage of the Concierge Lounge, but we were given vouchers for breakfast. LOVED the blood mary bar. Also, the bartender in the lobby and pool bar (Melissa) was wonderful! We will definitely return to this hotel any time we're in the Phoenix area!

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank shortyck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RenGlenAZ, Manager at Renaissance Phoenix Glendale Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Shortyck,

Thank you so much for your comments in regards to your stay at our hotel. I will definitely pass this on to Melissa's supervisor so she knows as well! As always....Safe Travels, and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

This was a pleasure trip for a game at the dome October 26-28, 2013.
Pros: spacious clean rooms, good food, nice courtyard. The jacuzzi located by the pool and fire pit in the courtyard were perfect for the cool October evenings. Easy checkin and checkout. Walking distance to the dome and Westgate entertainment district. There is a Tanger outlet mall across the street if you want to shop. What made this trip so enjoyable were the locals. From the dome to the entertainment district everyone we talked to was amazing. I've never been around a nicer bunch of folks at a game.
Cons: one employee at the bar early evening and one at the hotel restaurant for breakfast. Each of these young ladies should work elsewhere, the frowns and eye rolling at guests shined the one bad light on an otherwise perfect stay.
Will stay here again, easy walk to anything you want to do.

Room Tip: Ask about the view before you choose a room. For us the roof view didn't matter because we didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jayvicki317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RenGlenAZ, Manager at Renaissance Phoenix Glendale Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Jayvicki317,

Thank you so much for your response regarding your stay with us. I have passed your information on to our Assistant General Manager in charge of the food and beverage portion of the hotel and will let him know your comments about the staff. We appreciate you bringing this to our attention as it will make us better in the long run!

Thanks again and we'll see you again soon....safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glendale hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Phoenix Glendale - Westgate
1.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Univ. of Phoenix Stadium Area
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Phoenix-Glendale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Staybridge Suites Phoenix/Glendale
0.7 mi away
Residence Inn Phoenix Glendale Sports & Entertainment District
7.9 mi away
Thunderbird Executive Inn & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Phoenix Glendale Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Phoenix Glendale Hotel & Spa

Property: Renaissance Phoenix Glendale Hotel & Spa
Address: 9495 W. Coyotes Blvd., Glendale, AZ 85305
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Glendale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Glendale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Phoenix Glendale Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renaissance Phoenix Glendale Hotel & Spa is a luxury hotel in Glendale, Arizona offering 320 guest rooms including 46 suites. Our hotel, spa and conference center provides 'Everything Under the Sun' for guests visiting Glendale for play, work or mind and body rejuvenation. Our accommodations are contemporary with splashes of desert decor, offering spacious areas for sleeping and living as well as amazing opportunities for on-site dining. We give guests an ideal location from which to do business in or explore the Glendale-Phoenix area. Located near Westgate City Center, the University of Phoenix and sports arenas, Renaissance Phoenix Glendale Hotel & Spa is a perfectly located hotel that offers easy access to the best Arizona destinations including restaurants, entertainment and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Renaissance Phoenix Glendale Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Glendale Hotel And Spa
Renaissance Glendale Hotel Glendale
Glendale Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing