We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lacking in the Fundamentals”
Review of Motel 6 Glendale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Motel 6 Glendale
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Glendale
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Oh Baby! And I don't mean that in a good way. These folks do not have the first clue as to how to run a motel. Your room (I guarantee it) would not be ready to go. They can't offer a room, as if motel's were not in existence 60 years ago. They have no clue. Then there is the clientele.
OMG. Smoking, loud at 04:00 AM, and dysfunctional. Screaming and banging on the wall, fighting (shouting) and the management does nothing.

Free magazines given out up front, to be used to smack the cockroaches.
STAY FAR AWAY.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank 572Arthur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (31)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 31 reviews

Reviewed 7 March 2013

This Motel 6 was not the ordinary Motel 6. Probably private owned prior to becoming Motel 6. An old property,Big rooms,clean, good comfortable beds,microwave,fridge. good TV. Good location for our needs.

Room Tip: 2 buildings. We were in main building 2nd floor,overlooking pool. very quiet. they are remodeling so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bradley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

Located in a slum area. Room was dingy and desperately needed updating. Floor popped when walking. No stopper in the sink, so it's easy to lose something down the drain. Two towel bars missing. One washcloth for two people; had to call for another one. People smoking and talking loudly just outside our non-smoking room until nearly midnight; had to call the desk to come and quiet them down. But it started again a few hours later.

On the positive side the desk help was courteous and helpful and the bed was good.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jimard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2013

Pulled in after 10:00 pm towing a car for sale at the January 2013 collector car auctions. Friendly Motel 6 staff kindly moved their car to allow us space to park our pickup and trailer with recently restored antique car across several spaces right outside the office. Only other longer truck and trailer parking were a few spaces outside along a back alleyway.
Interesting two buildings with rooms looking into central courtyards resort fashion, with parking between the two buildings and surrounding them on the outsides. Makes it look like an industrial complex at first but rather attractive in the inner courtyards the rooms all face.
We entered to get to our rooms through the lobby which seemed to provide some security for the rooms in our building.
Our room was very clean and well maintained. The bathroom appeared to have been recently renovated and the shower nozzle was high enough to not have to bend over to wash your hair. Beds were comfortable. Room quickly heated up in the rare Phoenix freezing temperatures we experienced.
A nice economical motel with friendly management, but is located in a not too upscale neighborhood from what I could see.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HumboldtPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

We stayed here Apr. 28th thru May 4th, 2012 during our vacation to the Phoenix area. The room was great, it was very clean, the beds were very

comfy. Loved the fridge and microwave. But the best thing for us was the staff. Very friendly, very helpful and very willing to answer all our questions

and concerns. We never took advantage of swimming at the pool, but we did check it out and it was very clean. We definately loved the short walk to

the downtown area. We will definately stay here again, in fact we have a trip planned for this coming August and the Motel 6 will be our home away

from home again. We booked thru the Motel 6 reservation system and we felt the rates were good but since the staff was so helpful we think we will go

directly thru the hotel itself for future reservations.

Room Tip: Rooms on the west side are quieter and that building also have a swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HenryP544
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

Seems like this hotel went through a name change or two. Used to be a comfort inn, than the Glendale Inn and Suites, and now it is under management by Motel6.

Because it was at one point in time this was a hotel other then Motel 6 the layout is a bit different. There are two buildings, 1 with a courtyard and 1 with a pool. We asked for the pool. One odd thing I didn't like was that everyone's AC unit faced out towards the walkway making it fairly hot and gross to walk to your room. Most of the property is somewhat beat up and could use some TLC. I still liked the layout, it was pretty retro. I didn't see any bugs and trust me that's important with budget travel!

The room was decent. The AC cooled it down to where it was comfortable. The beds were surprisingly clean and soft but only came with 2 pillows each and the decor was a step up from standard motel6 fair. We got a fridge and microwave and both were clean and worked. Bathroom could use some new paint, but who cares everything else was cleaned to par.

We did spot some pretty sketch people sneaking in late at night, and perhaps a pimp and ho team... but still 40$ a night? you can do much worse. Also note close to the stadium and all that classy stuff over there. Crash at the motel6 and hang out in the more upscale area to save $.

Room Tip: 2nd floor, pool wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Travel4Paintball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2011

I don't recommend this place to anyone, needs to be updated, old outdated carpet, pool was dirty and cold. (not heated) Hot tub was a yellowish color,it looked like some one took a thousand pee's in it, hadn't been cleaned in months. They said that someone had used the emergency button and turned off the filter. There are no shelves or counter space in the bathrooms to place toilietries.
Not a good value for the price, STAY AWAY!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank keet4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glendale hotels
5.8 mi away
Thunderbird Executive Inn & Conference Center
5.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Univ. of Phoenix Stadium Area
6.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites At Talavi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites Phoenix/Glendale
4.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Phoenix Glendale - Westgate
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Phoenix-Glendale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Glendale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Glendale

Address: 7116 N 59th Ave, Glendale, AZ 85301-2436 (Formerly Glendale Inn & Suites)
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Glendale
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Glendale
Price Range: £51 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Glendale 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Glendale is conveniently located near downtown Glendale, where you can enjoy a wide variety of attractions and antique shops. Amenities include our smoke-free modern guest rooms with free Wi-Fi, an outdoor pool, and coin laundry facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Motel 6 Glendale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Glendale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing