We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“first class lodging in campus”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Thunderbird Executive Inn & Conference Center
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Glendale
Certificate of Excellence
dxb
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“first class lodging in campus”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I stayed here in early June 2013 for 2 weeks including a weekend for an executive education program at the Thunderbird academy. I am not familiar with the quality of accommodation in this area, but the rooms were pretty clean and standard. Nothing fancy and the rooms in the main building near the reception was slightly better and certainly convenient for long stays and for people with disabilities. The rooms in the third and fourth blocks were really far from the reception and the walk during summer months are really horrible. After a one week, I decided to ask the receptionist for a change of room to the main building and they obliged. The staff were very friendly and helpful. There is plenty of parking space and I would recommend renting a car as this place is pretty far from Scottsdale town centre and there is nothing to do here. The campus has a pub which is pretty good, but serves the same pub food every day. They close at 8 pm and the other option is to visit the self service cafeteria for soft drinks, tea, coffee, snacks and chips which is open 24 hours. They also serve a very lean breakfast on the weekends at the same place. Arizona heat is very dry and unbearable but they have stacks of complimentary water bottles at the receptions at all times.

The reception can also help organize day trips to grand canyon and several other local attractions. I took a flight to grand canyon from the deer valley airport on an 8 seater plane, and it cost me around $600 including a helicopter ride to the Colorado river basin.

Room Tip: ask in advance for a room closer to the reception in the main building if you are alone as the remot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jscaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patti D, General Manager at Thunderbird Executive Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay in June. We're thrilled you found our hotel to be "first-class". Our location on the campus of Thunderbird School of Global Management is a unique hotel setting with the amenities and services of a resort. Providing top-notch service is our priority. Whether traveling to Glendale on business or leisure purposes, The Thunderbird Executive Inn provides a comfortable guest room and superior service to make any visit a memorable one. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    67
    20
    6
    3
See reviews for
59
77
27
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Stayed here for two nights in August - got a great deal on line. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful, ample snacks, water and coffee/juices available. We were told that breakfast is not included but there was an eating area - good quality juices, snacks, quick soups. All good quality stuff and was continually stocked. Cereals and snacks also available for breakfast. Nice quite location even though it is on a school campus - nice grounds with pool. will definately stay here again if i travel out there.
Rooms were well appointed, clean, well equipped

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank honestopinion86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patti D, General Manager at Thunderbird Executive Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
We enjoy receiving customer feedback and appreciate the time you took to share your experience while visiting the Thunderbird Executive Inn. Our location, on the campus of the Thunderbird School of Global Management, offers a resort-like experience with a quiet atmosphere, ample amenities, and spacious guest rooms. Providing a memorable service experience is our top priority and we're thrilled you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your next visit when traveling to Glendale again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Perhaps you, too, have elderly relatives living in the West Valley and need a place to stay while you're checking in on them? This is a basic, affordable, quiet and comfortable hotel and though I'm usually traveling by myself, I have always felt safe here. Even during the less busy times, there are people (hotel guests, employees) around but it's not a "party until dawn" sort of atmosphere. Often there are (adult) students around and a sense that something interesting is going on here. The front desk staff couldn't be nicer and have been very helpful and kind to me and to my friends and family. They are the best.

Tips: Yes, they have computers and a printer you can use and they are right next to the snack and drink bar. They now have fresh small containers of juice along with the power drinks and so forth and I appreciate that they always have good tea and some fruit here and at the front desk. Ask how to access the wifi. Sometimes reception is better in the central lounge/snack bar area. Do check out the campus pub as they have good burgers (even veggie burgers) and a nice selection of beer. Lingering later in your room in the morning might mean that your room is made up later in the afternoon. You'll also miss the best time of the day here, as morning is a great time to walk over into the campus.

And yes, they still have free copies of the New York Times, Arizona Republic and other papers available every single day.

Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Bookmonger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patti D, General Manager at Thunderbird Executive Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Your opinion matters to us, and we are thrilled that you see the Thunderbird Executive Inn as a "lifesaver". We pride ourselves in providing the right atmosphere, both quiet and clean, while delivering best in class customer service, so that you can have a place to relax while visiting your family in town! Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay. We look forward to the next visit in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
1 review
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Nice, clean place to stay. Staff is very friendly and helpful. The only problem is there are no microwaves in the rooms so you have to walk to the main building to use one. They have snack items avail all day if needed.

Room Tip: I did not use the fitness center. Rooms with an outside entry have a higher noise volume from the si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank W0rking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patti D, General Manager at Thunderbird Executive Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
Thank you for choosing the Thunderbird Executive Inn for your recent visit to Glendale, AZ. Providing our guests with the right amenities to make your stay both enjoyable and comfortable is always our top priority and goal. Thank you for your suggestion on adding microwaves to the guest rooms, as we look to renovate and improve our facilities, we will definitely keep this in mind. In addition, we're glad that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful. We take pride in our hotel and the services we provide and your comments make it all worthwhile. We look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed 15 July 2013

thought the value was great, the room was very spacious and comfortable, the staff were very friendly and helpful. the landscape was well kept. plenty of meeting room and classroom, also had great location for afterhours activities.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brenda e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patti D, General Manager at Thunderbird Executive Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay and for your compliments on our great hotel location, spacious and clean guestrooms, friendly staff and well kept grounds. Our goal is to provide all of our guests with a comfortable room, productive meeting environment and a personalized experience that meets your specific needs. Whether you are visiting the Thunderbird Executive Inn on business or pleasure, our hotel is equipped to make each visit an enjoyable experience. We take pride in creating loyal guests that return again and again and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marana, Arizona, United States
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

This is undoubtly the best kept secret in Glendale, Az. While located on a college campus that was formerly a WW2 training airfield it is very peaceful and beatufully landscaped. The staff was extremely polite and pleasant to talk to. The rooms were spacious and very clean. There is a lounge with complimentery drinks and snacks. The days that I was visiting it was 118 degrees and the front desk always had ice cold bottled water waiting for you when you when you came in. Dona made my check in and check out painless. I will be back.

Room Tip: Rooms in the west side of the main building have been recently renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patti D, General Manager at Thunderbird Executive Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Thunderbird Executive Inn on your recent visit to Glendale. We're pleased you found our hotel to be quiet, relaxing and beautful and experienced first hand the customer service standards we strive for everyday. We're proud to hear that you believe we are "the best kept secret in Glendale" and we look forward to your return so that we can welcome you back the Thunderbird way!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichiganUSA
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013 via mobile

Beautiful grounds. Very quiet and relaxing. Excellent service. Complimentary lounge with snacks and drinks. Scrupulously clean. Outdoor salt water swimming pool. Complimentary pass to YMCA with pool and excercise equipment, located across the parking lot. Competitive pricing. Near restaurants.

Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank honeymoonerAug2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patti D, General Manager at Thunderbird Executive Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, 16 May 2013
Thank you for your review and comments on your recent stay at the Thunderbird Executive Inn. Providing our guests with a quiet, relaxing and comfortable environment whether you are staying with us on business or pleasure is a top priority. We're pleased to hear in your review, that we did just that! Our Executive Inn team takes pride in providing exceptional customer service for every guest, with every interaction, every time! We look forward to your next visit and welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glendale hotels
9.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Univ. of Phoenix Stadium Area
2.8 mi away
SpringHill Suites Phoenix Glendale/Peoria
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites At Talavi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Phoenix Glendale - Westgate
7.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites Phoenix/Glendale
8.0 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Glendale Westgate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thunderbird Executive Inn & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thunderbird Executive Inn & Conference Center

Property: Thunderbird Executive Inn & Conference Center
Address: 15249 N 59th Ave, 1 Global Place, Glendale, AZ 85306-3236
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Glendale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Glendale
#4 Family Hotel in Glendale
#4 Romantic Hotel in Glendale
#6 Business Hotel in Glendale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Thunderbird Executive Inn & Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thunderbird Executive Inn is located in Glendale, Arizona on the campus of the Thunderbird School of Global Management. This Hidden Gem will surprise and delight you with its upscale guest rooms, 24 hr complimentary snack lounge, and unique diversions such as the Thunderbird Pub that is located in an historic military airfield control tower. With proximity to Arizona's Spring Training baseball and the University of Phoenix Stadium, the Thunderbird Executive Inn is the perfect hotel for leisure travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Thunderbird Executive Inn & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thunderbird Executive Inn And Conference Center
Thunderbird Executive Hotel Glendale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing