We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Thunderbird Executive Inn & Conference Center
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Glendale
Certificate of Excellence
kaiserslautern, Germany
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent place”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Wonderful alternative to the average hotel/motel. The campus is quiet and beautifully landscaped and the rooms are modern and nicely furnished. Breakfast foods and snacks are always available, with a serene patio for eating outside. If you like Vietnamese food, visit Pho Avina, a short drive away.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank huhelen_2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patti D, General Manager at Thunderbird Executive Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you for choosing the Thunderbird Executive Inn during your recent visit to Glendale/Phoenix, AZ. Our location on the campus of the Thunderbird School of Global Management, offers a quiet, relaxing atmosphere for both leisure and business travelers. The beautiful resort like grounds and added amenities of the complimentary guest lounge, and outdoor swimming pool, offer an ideal place to relax and unwind. We're thrilled that you found the Inn and enjoyed all that we have to offer. Thank you for staying with us at the Executive Inn, we hope to see you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    65
    18
    6
    3
See reviews for
58
75
27
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
115 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

The Thunderbird Executive Inn is on the campus of the Thunderbird School of Global Management. I came across this as a student while attending the school. As an alumnus it it a great place to stay when returning to Phoenix/Glendale. This property is open to the public and should be a strong consideration if you are in the area for spring training as traditional hotels fill up fast. Also keep in mind that my rating combines location, price, and cleanliness as this is not a full service hotel. The property is on the edge of campus and affords and easy entry and exit. If your dinner options take you to central Phoenix - I would use a car service as it is a 30 minute drive.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank LosAngelesRoadWarrio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patti D, General Manager at Thunderbird Executive Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you for staying with us at the Thunderbird Executive Inn. As an alumnus of the school, we're thrilled that you have also had the opportunity to experience the Inn and the amenities we offer, like our 24 hour complimentary snack and beverages in our guest lounge, as well as, complimentary Wi-FI and parking. We understand that finding a hotel that offers the right amount of amenities and provides exceptional customer service is very important. We're happy that you find our hotel provides this balance and is considered a great value. Thank you for your comments. We look forward to your next visit to campus and to the Thunderbird Executive Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walla Walla, Washington
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

After an afternoon of watching Spring Training Baseball, it was so nice to be able to unwind at this beautiful Inn. It was not the easiest place to find the 1st time, but it didn't help that we were coming in after dark, and in the pouring rain - ended up coming in from the back street and wound thru the campus, but once we found it, it was worth the wait. Receptionist was very helpful, and efficient with check in. The Breakfast/Snack/Internet Room was amazing, and such a treat after settling in to go up for a little snack....a small thing really, but made such an impression. We did find the Pub on site, and LOVED, LOVED, LOVED it....it was the best hamburger. We did go use the Fitness Center....it was at the YMCA on property. Was very nice, and an enjoyable walk back after working out.

Would definetely stay here again. Only slightly negative thing would be the parking isn't always real close to your room, but like I said, if it hadn't been pouring down rain, would not have been a big deal, but for older folks or with handicaps, a bit of a problem.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hunter26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patti D, General Manager at Thunderbird Executive Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you for choosing the Thunderbird Executive Inn for your Spring Training hotel this year! We are thrilled that you enjoyed the peace and quiet that our location on the Thunderbird School of Global Management offers. Finding the right hotel that offers a clean and comfortable guest room, with the added amenities and comforts of home is invaluable. The snacks and drinks in our complimentary lounge are a great value add for any visit, whether staying in Glendale for business or a leisure trip. In addition, we're glad that you found the Thunderbird Pub on-campus and enjoyed the variety of drinks and a wonderful hamburger during your stay! We look forward to your return visit soon! Thank you for being our guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventura, CA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

This is a nice change from the traditional hotel, being on a school campus. It is quiet with well-maintained grounds, and the room is clean and comfortable. Staff was super friendly and helpful. The location is convenient to major roads. Apparently there is a pub with food on campus but I did not go there, but that would be a plus. They do not serve an expansive breakfast here - only cereal and milk. The cooling system in the room is kind of noisy; even when you turn off the AC it continues to make strange sounds. They provide a book in the room that describes the history of the campus and it is very interesting. I would definitely stay here again the next time I'm in the area.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LauraBtraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patti D, General Manager at Thunderbird Executive Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you for staying at the Thunderbird Executive Inn for your recent visit to Glendale/Phoenix. We take pride in providing exceptional customer service, while ensuring a restful nights sleep in your clean and comfortable guestroom. Our resort-like hotel, located on the campus of Thunderbird School of Global Management, is quiet and peaceful. The campus amenities, including a newly renovated outdoor pool and Thunderbird Pub allow for relaxation while enjoying good food & drinks on-campus. We look forward to your return visit, and thank you for your compliments on our hotel and service!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camarillo, California
Level Contributor
85 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

If you are in the Glendale area, this is a meticulously maintained facility. Warm welcome, professional staffing throughout the hotel. The snack bar was the most expansive I have ever encountered. We will go out of our way to return.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patti D, General Manager at Thunderbird Executive Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you for choosing the Thunderbird Executive Inn for your recent stay in Glendale, AZ. Providing a clean and comfortable guestroom with all the comforts of home is our primary goal. Access to our complimentary lounge loaded with snacks and beverages is an added value and we're glad to hear that you enjoyed the variety. We're thrilled that you found our hotel to be a "delightful find" and look forward to your return, so that we can welcome you back again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alta Loma, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

This Inn is a gem surrounded by a college rich in history. I happened to book our room here because it was close to a hospice facility that my aunt was in, and the price was so reasonable. I was happily surprised and impressed with the comfort level, first rate customer service, amazing price, and beautiful grounds. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patti D, General Manager at Thunderbird Executive Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Thank you for choosing the Thunderbird Executive Inn for your recent stay in Glendale/Phoenix. We know that finding a hotel that offers the right amount of both comfort and services, makes all the difference in the world. We take pride in providing a clean and comfortable guest room and ensuring best in class customer service with every guest, every interaction, and every time. Whether traveling to Glendale on business or for a leisure or personal trip, we appreciate that you have made Thunderbird your first choice. Thank you for considering us a "hidden gem" in Glendale. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 March 2014

I have family in the area and always stay here when I come to visit. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The staff is friendly. The campus is expansive and beautiful, wonderful to stroll. It is modern and well-maintained with a feel of history. The rooms are well off the road, so very quiet. I feel safe here.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patti D, General Manager at Thunderbird Executive Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at the Thunderbird Executive Inn. We appreciate your loyalty and for choosing Thunderbird when visiting your family in the area. Knowing that you have a place to call home when your away is important to us. Providing a comfortable and clean room with safety in mind, is our top priority. Thank you for your continued support of Thunderbird. We look forward to your next visit and welcoming you back time and time again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glendale hotels
8.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Phoenix Glendale - Westgate
9.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Univ. of Phoenix Stadium Area
2.8 mi away
SpringHill Suites Phoenix Glendale/Peoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites At Talavi
7.9 mi away
Renaissance Phoenix Glendale Hotel & Spa
7.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Phoenix-Glendale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thunderbird Executive Inn & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thunderbird Executive Inn & Conference Center

Property: Thunderbird Executive Inn & Conference Center
Address: 15249 North 59th Avenue, 1 Global Place, Glendale, AZ 85306
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Glendale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Glendale
#4 Family Hotel in Glendale
#4 Romantic Hotel in Glendale
#6 Business Hotel in Glendale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Thunderbird Executive Inn & Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thunderbird Executive Inn is located in Glendale, Arizona on the campus of the Thunderbird School of Global Management. This Hidden Gem will surprise and delight you with its upscale guest rooms, 24 hr complimentary snack lounge, and unique diversions such as the Thunderbird Pub that is located in an historic military airfield control tower. With proximity to Arizona's Spring Training baseball and the University of Phoenix Stadium, the Thunderbird Executive Inn is the perfect hotel for leisure travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thunderbird Executive Inn & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thunderbird Executive Hotel Glendale
Thunderbird Executive Inn And Conference Center

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing