We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As Good as it Gets!”
Review of Beijing Chinese Cuisine - CLOSED

Beijing Chinese Cuisine
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“As Good as it Gets!”
Reviewed 16 October 2011

We were in the mood for some Chinese - so read a few reviews and decided we would try Beijing tonight. We were not disappointed.

Started with the hot and sour soup - that was spiced just right. Then our four dishes came within 5 minutes ... chicken fried rice, chicken lo mein, kung po shrimp and beef with black bean sauce. The beef was so tender and spiced perfectly. The kung pao shrimp was delicious ... water chestnuts added the perfect crunch. The chicken fried rice and lo mein were nice sides ... the chicken was very tender and again spiced perfectly.

We will definitely be back again!

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    2
    3
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
PHOENIX
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Exceptional west side Chinese restaurant”
Reviewed 23 August 2011

There is a dearth of good Chinese restaurants on the west side of Phoenix as most serve greasy and not-so-fresh food. This place is the exception. We tried the two recommendations from the newspaper article (Arizona Republic, Aug.. 17, 2011). Both were wonderful. The beef in the pepper beef dish was fork tender, plentiful, but not over flavored with black bean sauce. The Szechwan shrimp did have a slight heat in it's after taste but not too much. The crab wonton was one of the best, creamy and crisp. Unlike the restaurant reviewer, I found the egg drop soup to be rather unremarkable but agree that the vegetable egg roll is "ordinary." Most of the lunches were $6.50 with the ice tea being about $2+. We will be back.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lindanphx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goodyear Az
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“exquisite surrondings and cuisine”
Reviewed 26 January 2011

The meal was perfect, and my host prepared incredible carved pieces of art at my table, using a large carving knife, he expertly carved carrots into fish, stars, eagles, rabbits, and even a three D rose! The atmosphere and decor are alluring, and the food ---- the best ever! I was not only awe struck, but delighted.

  • Visited January 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank galecrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Finally! GREAT Chinese Food!”
Reviewed 1 November 2010

Clean! Very nice atmosphere and the staff are very helpful and attentive.

I have gotten to the point where I have given up on finding a decent chinese food restaurant. I just moved to the area and tried Beijing and was wonderfully surprised.

The restaurant is very clean, and the food is excellent. Everything I have tried has been good. The Mogolian Beef is wonderful, very tender.

They have a very reasonable lunch menu too.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank zanyzonies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Beijing Chinese Cuisine also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing