We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of China View

China View
Ranked #37 of 50 Restaurants in Green Valley
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: (520) 648-3848
Tucson, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

When we arrived for dinner and were advised that there was 45 minute wait, we anticipated that the food would be very good. Sadly, we found the food to be very bland. There just wasn't any flavor and it was loaded with oil.
Service was poor in that our order was mixed up - we ordered noodles and were served a rice dish and then had to wait a considerable time for the correct dish to be prepared. And then the empty soup bowls were left on the table as our main dish was served.
If there's anything positive about China View, I would say that the portions are large and it's relatively inexpensive. But I won't be back anytime soon.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Skelt440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    20
    10
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

The restaurant was very nice with very large servings of excellent food. They have a very large menu to choose from. The service was good. If there was anything negative, it was the constant ringing of the phone with no one available to answer it. The waitresses were running to keep up with the customers, so I guess that is a good sign it is a good place to eat.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Connie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McPherson, Kansas
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A great find with more than I expected”
Reviewed 12 February 2014 via mobile

We had lunch with friends and was quite surprised. Fast service, generous serving, and we were impressed with the food. Large selection on menu and service was very friendly and pleasant.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pillman221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Valley, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Dirty Dishes”
Reviewed 1 February 2014

I was excited to be going for Chinese food for lunch, but sigh!! I received a small plate for the appetizer - and it was clearly very dirty!! They use lovely dishes, which happen to be plastic with a lovely pattern, but have a deep texture for them. The small plate I received was in need of having a scrub brush used on it to remove the embedded dirt! I was very sad to see this! I did tell them. Also their glasses are not particularly clean. Maybe they should be putting a little bleach in their dish water.
The food was good. I had one of the shrimp with snow peas - which was very tasty, and my friend had orange chicken - unfortunately it was hard to find the chicken in the batter. . .
I probably won't be back in the near future because of the dirty dishes.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MoLi2269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A place I like when in GV”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

The service is good and the food is always good. I can't get my husband to eat at Chinese restaurants but this one he will go to. Try it, you won't be disappointed.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lori R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed China View also viewed

 

Been to China View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing