We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in Greer”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Greer Peaks Lodge
Ranked #3 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Greer
Reviewed 24 March 2012

I have to agree with most reviewers. I have been to Greer many times and stayed at the Amberian Peaks Last week for the first time. What a beautiful property and the lodge is great. It had everything we needed and the best views from up on the hill looking over the entire village. They have a gym and kids game center along with a great restaraunt in the lodge. I could sit on the deck or by the river all day. The owners are building a large playground next month so we will definitely be back over the summer. I would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chandleraznative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (125)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 125 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2012

The lodge is quaint, the staff friendly, and the food is nothing less then fantastic. The winter menu is a bit limited, but we ate here two nights and the food was five star at three star prices. We don't know how they get such high quality food up here. Don't miss this experience.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Helms1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2012

We really wanted to like this place since we love Greer and since most of the reviews were positive. Our room (#307) had a small, old TV, old microwave and fridge. Besides another couple, we were the only people staying there that weekend so it's not as though they were full.
We figured we were given a "lesser" room since we used an online coupon, but isn't the point of those to encourage return bookings?
Worst of all was the rudeness from Sylvia, who told us she was running the lodge while the owners were away. When we asked about using the hot tubs she said "they're not working". When I questioned this since it is ski season, she replied "they're not functioning, I don't know how else to say it". We can understand things not working at times, but an apology would have been nice. I can't think of any reason to stay here over Greer lodge or Red Setter Inn. We would have left early if it was possible.

Room Tip: Don't use a coupon. Any room but 307.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MTAB_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2011

We had a very enjoyable experience at Amberian Peaks Lodge. We stayed in one of the adjacent cabins, and in my opinion, it is the best location in Greer There is the outstanding view of the valley from your front window, and being at the southern end of the Greer valley, there is no traffic or noise from surrounding neighbors. If you are seeking solitude and scenic beauty, this is the place.

Having brought our own food we did not try the restaurant in the lodge, but I'll bet it was as good as most other folks have reported. The dining room is in the corner of the lodge with picture windows overlooking the valley. The lobby area has acomfortable sitting area in front of a huge wood-buring fireplace.

Our cabin faced the valley and, like I said, there is a panaoramic view of the valley and surrounding mountains from our large front windows. We had a living room with woodburning fireplace, and a fully equipped kitchen with a large refrigerator and full size electric range/oven, plus toaster, coffemaker and microwave. The 2 bedrooms are small but adequate with their own thermostatically controlled electric heat. The bathroom is off the living area as well, equipped with a tub shower. The decor is "rustic mountain". The furniture and carpet, though well used, was clean and comfortable.

We came for the snow. In fact, one member in our group had never experienced snow. There is a decent little sledding hill on the property which will give one about a 12-second ride on a sled, disc, or tube. You furnish your own. Skiiers are about a 20-minute ride from the Sunrise Ski Park.

The staff was very friendly and helpful. A gentlemen showed us to our cabin, told us about the fireplace, which includes all the firewood you need, showed us how to control the electiric heat. etc. Warning: Be sure to leave a door open when using the fireplace. These cabins are air-tight when all doors/windows are closed. When the fire in the fireplace does not properly draft, that smoke alarm on the ceiling just makes an AWFUL noise!

If there is any negative, the hot water is in short supply...be sure to space those long showers a few minutes apart.

Overall, this was a fantastic experience. The Willow fire from last summer did some very obvious damage, but not enough to ruin the experence that Greer provides.

We will be back!!!!

Room Tip: Make sure it has a view of the valley, Both Cabins a Amberian Peaks have the same view, but I unsure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank aldahal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2011

My biggest complaint about this hotel/BB is that the rooms were very cold at night. We stayed at the hotel on 12/23. It was zero degrees outside with 20 inches of snow on the ground. The average room temp was around 65 degrees. We had the heat cranked all the way up but very little heat came out of the unit. We only had a very thin blanket on the bed. There was ice on the inside of the window in the morning. On the upside, the food at the hotel resturant was wonderful and the staff friendly.

Room Tip: Bring lots of blankets. You'll need them!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rrdunc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2011

We brought our daughter to the North Pole Experience and decided to try the Amberian Peaks Lodge. What a mistake!!! This is one of the worst hotel experiences we have ever had. The staff was beyond rude. The hotel itself was horrible, the bed linens were cheap and dirty. I cannot believe they get away with the prices that they charge. The only saving grace was dinner, the food was delicious. Kudos to the chef. However, the restaurant does not make up for the lack of service and awful experience. I would highly advise against staying here. For a point of reference, we are typical Marriott and Hyatt clients. I would say this place is not even a Motel 6!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Disappointed31310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2011

This property is beautiful! Their cabins are clean and nice!! I can not say enough about the staff at the Peaks. Everyone was so pleasant and nice. The person who checked us in answered all our questions and gave us some tips on what to do. The gentleman who escorted us to our cabin gave us a tour of the cabin and show us how everything worked. Everyone who worked there made us feel right at home. Their restaurant had great food and service. We had two kids with us and they had a blast. The sledding hill on the property was their favorite. We will stay there again. Thanks Amberian Peaks for making our trip AMAZING!!!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank reachjensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greer
1.7 mi away
Little Colorado Cabins
Little Colorado Cabins
#4 of 10 in Greer
6 reviews
2 mi away
Lazy Trout Motel
Lazy Trout Motel
#1 of 2 in Greer
27 reviews
12.4 mi away
Best Western Sunrise Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Greer Lodge Resort & Cabins
Show Prices

Been to The Greer Peaks Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Greer Peaks Lodge

Address: 1 Main Street, Greer, AZ 85927 (Formerly Greer Peaks Resort & Cabins)
Region: United States > Arizona > Greer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Greer
Price Range: £93 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Greer Peaks Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A true, four-seasons, mountain hideaway with breathtaking vistas, luxury appointments, spacious rooms, suites, and cabins, some accommodating up to six guests, rates include continental breakfast,bar, hot tub, fitness room, game room with pool table, and much more. Idea setting for conferences, weddings, reunions, rallies, clubs. Catering available. Sunrise Ski Park- fifteen minute drive. Ski season specials, romantic weekend packages, gourmet events. Relax, refresh, revitalize at "The Greer Peaks Lodge." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Greer Peaks Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amberian Peaks Lodge And Restaurant Hotel Greer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing