We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Greer
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Molly Butler Lodge & Cabins
Ranked #7 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Greer
Reviewed 26 August 2013

The Red Setter is now managed by Molly Butler Lodges. We stayed in one of the three cabins across the Little Colorado and were thoroughly pleased. Very clean, and everything functioned. The gas fireplace blazed while the sound of the river lulled us to sleep. The loft was furnished with a bed but beware, the pull out stairs are more ladder than stairs so aren't really usable for very young children (I think they say 12 y/o) or elderly. The grassy area has been manicured and all of the lawn furniture refurbished. Definitely worth the price.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank d90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allan J, Owner at Molly Butler Lodge & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Thanks so much for the review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (57)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 57 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2013

The first week in July my traveling comrade and I headed for the hills to start out a cool, crisp getaway. Our first stop was in Greer, located in the refreshing Apache Sitgreaves National Forest of eastern Arizona, where we came upon our first taste of wilderness charm at the Molly Butler Cabins. We pulled up to our appropriately named Little Cabin in the Woods that waited for us quietly amongst the fresh air and pines. The meticulously maintained 2-story cabin was whimsical and well-outfitted and perfectly suited for us with a large porch, dining table for games of scrabble and a swing postured perfectly to enjoy the massage of the gentle breeze.
Our sleepy haven offered privacy and a relaxed atmosphere with the surroundings of a nearby main street and country road that were one of the same. The views included the plush valley lined with the largest ponderosa pine and alpine in the world is coupled by the whisper of the little Colorado River that guides you through town. The scenic village offers genuine charm with its Greer Community Center that houses the Greer Library and Chapel as well as its historic dining options.
You may also embrace the view at Arizona’s oldest lodge, the Molly Butler. We found both the Molly Butler Cabins and Lodge to be a part of our memorable experience. The authentic early Arizona hunting lodge offered us specialties that included prime rib and fresh seafood that went toe to toe with our Little Cabin in the Woods. One could also find the Rendezvous Diner a few steps away that served up a few homemade dishes of their own.
Beautiful scenery, big blue skies, and the crisp mountain air infused with the clean scent of Ponderosa pine served as the backdrop for our daily excursions. This included numerous groomed trails of wilderness when stepping out of our Little Cabin in the Woods. Some of our many trail options included the nearby Saffel Canyon off highway vehicle trail that provides a panoramic view carpeted by wildflowers or a stroll through the Butler Canyon Trail nature trail that will provide you with a plethora of information about the wildlife, plants and different habitats along your way.
The Rivers and Streams of the White Mountains provide excellent fishing, photography, biking with wildlife abound. Lakes are filled with trout, and there are 600,000 acres of national forest where man is in the minority whereby wild creatures are the year-round residents.
The Apache-Sitgreaves National Forest offers an abundance of year-round activities for outdoor enthusiasts who enjoy both nature and solitude. At 8,500 feet it is easy to create a heavenly rendezvous of your own with recreation in all directions.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 938StaceyL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allan J, Owner at Molly Butler Lodge & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

You are a wealth of information! Thank you so much for taking the time to share. We hope you’ll return one day soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We just returned from a week at several of these cabins: Amberwood, Cowley's, Hurd, Musil Haven and Braided Rug. We had 26 people and had a great time.
The cabins were fancy, but not overly so.
We could have used advance warning that there was no a/c but it was cool enough, except when we were cooking.
A few ammenities were missing, a dryer in one cabin, and a busted hot tub in another.
Overall, great place.
The location was great, cool mountain spot; cabins were close enough to bike around and gather each night at one place for meals. One warning, like most places this says it will sleep 8, but watch out or your granny will be sleeping on a futon!
The staff at Greer Cabin Keepers were exceptional, answering tons of questions prior to arrival, printing directions to nearby attractions, and facilitating other activities like boat rentals, bike rentals and ATV rentals.
We go to all different kinds of places for our annual gathering, and this is just the right speed for a family that wants to enjoy nature and each other.

Room Tip: Musil Haven had the most updated kitchen. Watch your bed counts closely to be sure everyone has a re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allan J, Owner at Molly Butler Lodge & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Glad our friendly staff could help make this a memorable trip for your family reunion! Thanks for staying with us! Come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We rented this recently-remodeled cabin for a 10-person ski/sledding getaway and really enjoyed our stay. The two-story space is large yet cozy, with a big wood-burning fireplace (there's plenty of firewood stacked on the huge porch). It's also located on a steep hill, perfect for sledding if you don't feel like driving the 20 miles to the Sunrise Ski Resort. Stock up on groceries at Pinetop-Lakeside (there's no grocery stores in Greer), or head over and grab some food at the charming main lodge. We''l be back!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dawsonf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allan J, Owner at Molly Butler Lodge & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Thanks for the review! We are so glad you enjoyed your winter getaway! You’ll have to come back and visit us in the summer… it’s absolutely beautiful!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

We enjoyed ourselves over all. I do want to come back to see what the view is like in the spring/summer, since the area is so beautiful now. not sure if i would stay here again.
good points - friendly people, rooms are clean, great water pressure, beautiful view.
bad points - cats fighting under room each night, tv didnt work and couldnt be fixed, mattresses uncomfortable.

Room Tip: we had room number 2, which was reviewed prior as having a lot of problems with the live band and no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kelly V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kayjnel, General Manager at Molly Butler Lodge & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2016

Thank you for letting us know of your stay at Molly's rooms.
We have put many repairs since your review into the rooms, and hope the renovations will be a much more enjoyable experience for our guests. We also have new rooms added to our roster at the Greer Peaks Lodge that is also newly renovated at an affordable price - with in room services. We hope that you will come back to Greer and stay with us on your next vacation!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2013

Molly Butler refused to honor a gift certificate of $500.00 that we were told would never expire. They said it had expired and would not honor it's use although we were unable to make it to
Greer due to a cancer death in the family and have since been denied the use of the gift certificate. The money was spent and we cannot utilize the gift. This doesn't seem right. We had extenuating curcumstances as my Brother in Law had a terrible death due to colon cancer. We had wanted to take him up to Greer to go fishing but he was not able to make the journey.
I will never again recommend Greer Cabins, Sergants Cabin or Molly Butler Lodge and cabins. There are other places just as beautiful in the area.

Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
8  Thank Lilygag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kayjnel, General Manager at Molly Butler Lodge & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2013

Hi Lilygag,

Although we are truly very sorry to hear about the passing of your loved one, we do have to adhere to gift certificate expiration dates. Because your gift certificate was issued in 2010 and because it also clearly expired on October 11th, 2011 (typed directly on the face of the gift certificate), we were unable to honor this gift certificate. It is now over a year passed the expiration date.

We do apologize for any inconvenience and hope that you will return and enjoy Greer again in the near future! It is a truly special place to enjoy any time of year.

Sincerely,

Molly Butler Lodge & Cabins Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013

Rented through Molly Butler Lodge and Cabins over recent New Years holiday.
- Cabin is a double wide trailer.
- No linens for hide-a- bed.
- Old and uncomfortable furniture.
- Gas fireplace stopped working on first night.
- Needs a good cleaning to remove spider webs.
- Bedroom was too warm while living area was cold due to poor air flow.
- Unacceptable response to complaints.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AZ1177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Greer hotels
1 mi away
The Greer Peaks Lodge
1.1 mi away
Lazy Trout Motel
Lazy Trout Motel
#1 of 2 in Greer
27 reviews
0.8 mi away
Little Colorado Cabins
Little Colorado Cabins
#4 of 10 in Greer
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Greer Lodge Resort & Cabins
Show Prices

Been to Molly Butler Lodge & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Molly Butler Lodge & Cabins

Address: 109 Main Street, Greer, AZ 85297
Region: United States > Arizona > Greer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Greer
Price Range: £41 - £448 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the picturesque mountain village of Greer, Arizona, The Historic Molly Butler Lodge & Cabins is the oldest continually operating lodge in the state of Arizona and has entertained many famous guests and U.S. presidents. It’s founder, Molly Butler, was truly the stuff of legends—hardy, self-reliant, and generous with a spunky enthusiasm for frontier life that was endearing and contagious. Today Molly’s is committed to carrying on the legacy of genuine hospitality engrained by its namesake, offering visitors award-winning dining, a wide variety of comfortable lodging and cabins (sleep 2 to 18), and a year round calendar of events that translates into lots of good old-fashioned fun for couples, friends and families! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Molly Butler Hotel Greer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing