We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No More Rooms At The Inn”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Greer
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Red Setter, Arizona's Riverside Retreat
Ranked #2 of 4 Greer B&B and Inns
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“No More Rooms At The Inn”
Reviewed 28 October 2010

Apparently the Greer Lodge owners have given up on the Red Setter Inn. You no longer can book single rooms at the Red Setter, it is ONLY available by booking the entire place as one big cabin! That is a real shame since once upon a time it was a truly great place to stay. But once it was sold it was never the same and I guess the new owners have simply given up. You can however book the entire place for about $1299/night and take 20 or more of your closest friends! Wonder how that is working out for the Greer Lodge owners? Too bad, a real loss.

Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
12 Thank m1a2a3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    11
    3
    5
    5
See reviews for
9
25
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2010

We went to the Red Setter again..(after saying we would not go again) hoping that our last time was a mistake (and it is SO beautiful up there)...wrong! I think after staying there when the original owners were there we were forever spoiled. I was willing to try again, figuring surely by now they would have improved...wrong again.
I finally understand, they don't WANT to improve. It is what it is. If you are ok with so so service..sometimes bordering on NO service, no free lunches, VERY expensive rates and no real maintenence (mostly living on the laurels of the past owners)...go! Our room was shabby, only marginally clean and didn't get any better during our time there. I've learned my lession...never again!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed 19 September 2010

It is a beautiful place to stay. The employees are very friendly and efficient.

Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank steadymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2010

This was our 2nd stay at the Setter and was not as impressive as our first visit in October of 2009. The food was not as impressive since the previous couple left for another job in California. It was adequate but not nearly as creative or plentiful. Also, on our first visit they had an old time soda cooler/machine that allowed guests to have complimentary sodas and water. They also would pack you a complimentary sack lunch for the next day should you be out hiking or doing other adventures. We were disappointed to find out that this has been discontinued due to "cost containment" issues. This was disappointing to say the least since these were valuable perks we were looking forward to.
That being said, the staff were all very friendly and exceedingly helpful. After all, they do not set the policies. The Setter is a beautiful, comfortable, clean escape. There is NO cell phone service but they do have wireless internet connectivity for free. The setting is incredible and the rooms extremely comfortable. However, DO NOT get rooms #1 or #2 since these are smaller and are the only rooms that do not have a view of the creek. Also, if you book room #9, the penthouse, please be aware that it is the only room that does NOT have a balcony/patio. GREAT PLACE. 4 hours from North Scottsdale.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank m1a2a3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowie, MD
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 November 2009

When we arrived at the lodge around 6:30 it was dark and cold outside with snow and ice everywhere. Walking into the lodge was a wonderful experience with all the fire places going strong. The lodge was very warm and inviting. The rooms were very comfortable. The service was exceptional. The food was fantastic and everyone that waited on us professional and friendly.

Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank rickh59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tucson, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2009

..and Red Setter is not "awesome". You came 15" late for breakfast and they wouldn't give you a piece of toast...."awesome"? I don't think so. Under the previous owners (when Red Setter received ALL of its alcolaides) that would NEVER have happened. I understand if you have never been to the Lodge previously you would have no point of reference ( it is a beautiful building and location) but Red Setter is on the decline. It's no longer maintained fastidiously, as it was under Ken and Jim. As you can see, the service is no longer what it was. When I called about a reservation for our anniversary and asked about a celebratory bottle of wine (a mainstay of our previous stays), I was told, flatly: "We don't do that." Well, that's fine, but I can no longer 'do" Red Setter. What a shame!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank liindajean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2009

My husband and I stayed in #14 cabin at the Red Setter Inn and it was a wonderful stay! Looking at the reviews, many are getting the Greer Lodge mixed up with the Red Setter Inn - 2 very different places but now with the same owner.

We are luxury adventure travelers so we need 800 thread count when "roughing it" in the forest. Red Setter is beautiful and fits the bill -- for the budget concsious family, Greer Lodge is a better fit.

Our only complaint with the Red Setter is that we ca me to breakfast 15 minutes late one morning and were turned away...wouldn't even give us a peice of toast, and the woman was very rude about it. Since we paid over $300/night, we expected a higher level of service and attitude. Otherwsie, we had a great time...bed and decor were awesome!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhxED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greer
13.9 mi away
Reed's Lodge
Reed's Lodge
#1 of 5 in Springerville
133 reviews
13.8 mi away
Rode Inn
Rode Inn
#2 of 5 in Springerville
48 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Greer Peaks Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Little Colorado Cabins
Little Colorado Cabins
#5 of 10 in Greer
5 reviews
12.5 mi away
Best Western Sunrise Inn
13.7 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#5 of 5 in Springerville
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Setter, Arizona's Riverside Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Setter, Arizona's Riverside Retreat

Property: Red Setter, Arizona's Riverside Retreat
Address: 8 Main Street, 103 Main Street, Greer, AZ 85927 (Formerly Red Setter Inn and Cottages at Greer Lodge Resort)
Region: United States > Arizona > Greer
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Greer
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perhaps you have heard of Greer, Arizona, located at the end of the Road to Nowhere. Surrounded by the Apache-Sitgreaves National Forest, there is one road in and one road out. Meadows, Ponderosa pines, aspens, hiking trails, lakes and the Little Colorado River grace the Village with beauty. Located at the end of the road, you will find the Red Setter, Arizona's Riverside Retreat where the river meanders through the approximate 4-acre grounds, giant ponderosas abound and wildlife freely come and go. The Red Setter offers a 9 bedroom lodge and 4 detached cabins. The approximate 8,000 square foot lodge is a perfect setting for corporate events, weddings, church retreats, reunions and group outings. Each bedroom has a private bath (some with jetted tubs), several have fireplaces and some rooms have a private porch to enjoy the views and fresh air. A 75-inch HD television (with HDMI capabilities for all of your computer and presentation needs) and blu-ray DVD player are located in the living room. The lodge is equipped with a full kitchen, several tables for dining and/or meetings, a game room (with 65-inch HD television and blu-ray DVD player), and den/library. Also included are DirecTV and password secured Wi-Fi. Two large outdoor decks provide the perfect atmosphere for the soothing sound of the river in a picture perfect setting! Plentiful outdoor furniture are spread throughout the grounds, mainly along the river. The four separate cabins also sit along the river. Choose from the 2 bedroom (2 baths), the large 4 bedroom (3.5 baths) or one of the 1 bedroom (1 bath plus laddered loft) cabins. Each has its own kitchen, fireplace(s) and deck(s). Pull-out sofas sleepers allow for extra sleeping accommodations. Other amenities include barbeque grills, 46-inch HD televisions, blu-ray DVD players, Directv, password secured Wi-Fi and in some cases, jetted tubs. As the new owners of the Red Setter, we have been working hard restoring the grounds, updating cabins and adding amenities to be sure your stay is memorable and serene. Three fire pits, two horseshoe pits, picnic tables, relaxing swings and chairs along the river are just some of the recent upgrades. We hope the memories of fishing, playing, relaxing and pure serenity will last you a lifetime! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Red Setter Inn And Cottages At Greer Hotel Greer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing