We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spartan but nice”
Review of Wigwam Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wigwam Motel
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Holbrook
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Spartan but nice”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

The kids loved it. The rooms are pretty spartan but are clean and comfortable. Be forewarned it is not the kind of motel room you would want to chill in and have a glass of wine -- no chairs or tables, etc. Nevertheless we got everybody cleaned up after two nights of camping and slept really solid.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jesse116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

890 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    346
    335
    124
    48
    37
See reviews for
280
374
43
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We had such a good time staying in a wigwam. You can just feel the history. The wigwams were clean, the beds were comfortable, and even if the shower was a bit cramped (I'm 5' 11" and was in a wigwam) the water pressure was so wonderful that I was done showering in just a minute or two. It was very quiet, too, which is important to us. And the folks that run it are wonderful. We would stay here again in a heartbeat. This is not something you should miss!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank McDiann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
96 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

This is a unique place to stay because you are going to be sleeping in a concrete wigwam. On the premises they have old cars and trucks from the 1950s 60s and 70s. It was a nice place to stay. They only have two beds in a wigwam. This is located on the legendary route 66 and not too far from Winslow Arizona.

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Sbyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billings, Montana
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We spent two nights in Holbrook. Each night was spent at the Wigwam Hotel. It is a classic place without much for frills. It was the second week in march and still chilly at night. The heater would not function correctly and I had to get up a turn it back on many times at night. The shower is something to be aware off. I was in it when my wife flushed the toilet. The water went from warm to steaming hot in just a second. There was no way to escape the hot water. The people that run the place seemed nice. Not much in Holbrook to do. The town seems to be dead but all of the I 40 area seemed to be. I would rate it as a 3 not a one. Computer would not change the rating.

Room Tip: Room 10 watch the shower. Don't know about the rest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rcrab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rowlett, Texas
Level Contributor
67 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

This was by far my favorite lodging we stayed at over our Spring Break road trip. It's not just another chain hotel. The wigwams are awesome! OK, they are a little dated, but that's part of their charm. We had two wigwams for our group. Both had good heaters and we were comfortable all night (and it was chilly outside!). The staff was very friendly and helpful. We hung out in the office sitting area for a while and it was great. There is also a nice curios room here. I didn't see a hair dryer in my wigwam, but I always travel with one so that wasn't a problem-I'm not sure if the office has one to lend or not. Trains do go by frequently, even during the night, but it didn't bother any of our sleep. There are lots of old cars and trucks on the property which are very fun and add to the nostalgia. Everyone in my group was excited that we stayed here and they always bring it up (very positively) when asked about our travels.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
Level Contributor
156 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We anticipated this stop for its distinctive architecture stands out. Staff was friendly. The units are a bit dated but fun for most. They were clean & provided quiet sleeping.

This is fun & definitely different - enjoy.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank NM_Bill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntsville, Alabama
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Both of our Wigwams were clean and the staff was super friendly. We slept comfortably, had plenty of room, and had everything we needed in the bathrooms. We wanted to have a fun retro experience and that was exactly what we got. Big thumbs up!

Room Tip: Our family of 4 got two separate wigwams.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MomAdvisor1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Holbrook hotels
2.7 mi away
Travelodge Holbrook
Travelodge Holbrook
#4 of 17 in Holbrook
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,365 reviews
1.3 mi away
Lexington Inn - Holbrook
Lexington Inn - Holbrook
#5 of 17 in Holbrook
4.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
2.9 mi away
Days Inn Holbrook
Days Inn Holbrook
#6 of 17 in Holbrook
4.0 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Holbrook
3.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 17 in Holbrook
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
2.3 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#7 of 17 in Holbrook
4.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wigwam Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wigwam Motel

Property: Wigwam Motel
Address: 811 W Hopi Dr, Holbrook, AZ 86025-2853
Region: United States > Arizona > Holbrook
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Holbrook
#6 Family Hotel in Holbrook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Wigwam Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wigwam Hotel Holbrook
Wigwam Motel Holbrook, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing