We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fun experience ”
Review of Wigwam Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wigwam Motel
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Holbrook
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

Really cool experience. The rooms inside are dated, but clean. I highly recommend staying. I only wish our travel schedule had allowed us to stay a little longer till the gift shop opened. But otherwise a must do if you are passing through the area.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Luke S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (938)
There are newer reviews for Wigwam Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

391 - 397 of 938 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2014

Knowing we would be driving on bits and bobs of Route 66, we looked for a classic motel for one night and boy did we succeed with the Wigwam! A dozen or so concrete wigwams right on Route 66. Nothing fancy but the bed was comfortable, and we even slept through the trains. The Bucket list thing you did not know you needed on your list!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OliverandLisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

If you have kids, I d recommend the 2 beds room. We stayed with a baby and a toddler in a one queen bed room and discovered that the bed blocks a bit the heater flows so they both were cold.

Reviews say it is kitsch or quirky, but hey! you picked a hotel with rooms shaped as teepees!

Shower is spartiate but there is warm water and it is clean. Never went to prison so cannot rebound on what other reviews said. It is a simple thin shower curtain but it does the job. Cannot complain.
We felt like we were doing the route 66 thing! The roads leads you to this area, with motels of sorts. Looks like a movie.

Room, bed sheets were clean. They could buy extra sets of towels IMHO cause they looked tired. But they were clean.

Well priced.

Staff was neither friendly nor unfriendly. They handed us the key and that was it for our interaction with them.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Demi007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

As long as you don't expect a 21st century midrange or better hotel experience wrapped in a concrete wigwam you'll be ok. But I think its safe to assume those staying here are looking for something else and this place fills that bill. And, you don't have to inconvenience yourself too much for that - if small and simple its incredibly clean with comfortable beds, quiet when we were there. Not to mention reasonably priced considering likely demand and the limited number of units - I'm guessing they could raise rates quite a bit and there are people who would pay it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Greg126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Actually, these are shaped like tipis, not wigwams, but it's the real Route 66 deal otherwise. The units aren't plush or modern, but they're inexpensive, generally clean and probably safe. Great for a tourist trip with visiting relatives.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krystinka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

We visited the Wigwam Village passing through Arizona on a Route 66 driving trip. The Wigwams are clean and well kept for their age.

Inside the wigwams is very simple; a double bed, small tv, a desk and mirror and a tiny toilet and shower split from the main room. We were excited to stay here for the experience and history, and it was lots of fun but we were glad it was only for the one night. The Cadillacs parked in the yard are a nice touch!

Check in was easy, and we were told there would be no one on site from 9pm, or in the morning when checking out. There were plenty of other people who checked in throughout the evening, so it didn't feel totally isolated.

Holbrook is very small and doesn't have a lot happening in it, so we were on our way again early in the morning. A really fun Route 66 stop, and at $63 we were so glad we stayed for a night rather than just passing through and snapping a photo. You must stay if you're doing Route 66!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank mgnmng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Come to the Wigwam Motel, at Holbrook, expecting the worse and you may well be pleasantly surprised! If you are fastidious then give it a miss, but if you are up for a bit of fun, like us, it’s a great experience. Certainly there is a lot to be desired and it would not be a lot to expect towels that did not have holes in them and a toilet that flushed properly but all in all we spent a great night there. It was very cosy and we will be reminiscing about it for a long time. But… one night is enough, really. It was a great experience in a surprisingly good size of room and the demand for the wigwams is excessive - be sure to book in advance, as we did (by email, direct), we did not arrive until 8:30pm and another ‘camper’ said that they could have let our room twenty times over! With that size of supply and demand the price must be said to be very reasonable. Go for it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavidB027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Holbrook hotels
2.7 mi away
Travelodge Holbrook
Travelodge Holbrook
#5 of 17 in Holbrook
1,411 reviews
2.9 mi away
Days Inn Holbrook
Days Inn Holbrook
#3 of 17 in Holbrook
462 reviews
1.3 mi away
Lexington Inn - Holbrook, AZ
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#6 of 17 in Holbrook
98 reviews
0.7 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Holbrook
0.1 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Adobe Holbrook
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wigwam Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wigwam Motel

Address: 811 W Hopi Dr, Holbrook, AZ 86025-2853
Region: United States > Arizona > Holbrook
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Holbrook
#6 Family Hotel in Holbrook
Price Range: £35 - £40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Wigwam Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wigwam Hotel Holbrook
Wigwam Motel Holbrook, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing