We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Different experience. Well worth the stay.”
Review of Wigwam Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wigwam Motel
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Holbrook
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 September 2009

The real life version of cars the movie. Complete with staged vehicles actually used in the movie. Even has a tire shop across the street. The rooms were quiet and I slept very soundly.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank evrlast92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (958)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

751 - 757 of 958 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2009

My wife and I stopped here for one night while driving from Phoenix to Dallas. As others have said, if you've seen the movie "Cars," you have an idea what the motel (and Holbrook, for that matter) is like.

In a word, staying here for the night was: an experience. From the moment you check-in to the morning you check-out, you're going to have a very memorable experience...it's unlike any other hotel I've stayed in. If you're looking to make memories with your spouse/kids/road trip buddies, this is a perfect spot for it. Originally built in the hayday of Old Route 66, the owners have restored the Wigwam Motel to what it must have looked like in the mid-20th century...down to the very last detail!

While thsi is a distinct part of the Wigwam's charm, it's also wehre the motel starts to show a little bit of its age. Aside from the A/C unit and the cable TV, your reservation here gets you a room out of the 1950s. As such, be ready for a slightly lumpy bed, no in-room phone, no WiFi, and no in-room coffee. As long as you're OK with this, you'll be very happy with your room (just as I was).

However, I can't help but think: with a modern renovation, the Wigwam would really "CLICK" with a wider variety of modern travelers. Give me a modernn bed, high-speed WiFi, and some modern decor inside the rooms, and the Wigwam would be a total knockout! The character of the hotel would certainly survive, and it would simultaneously offer the modern comforts that travelers have come to expect from hotels.

All that said, I'd still strongly recommend the Wigwam to a friend. If you're driving anywhere near Holbrook, you NEED to plan on a night here. Just do it!

That said,

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fury220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2009

Think of the movie "Cars" and you've got this place nailed. The Cozy Cone was probably modeled after this motel. The Wigwam is unique with its plaster teepees, each with a 50s classic car parked in front. They've got a little museum inside the guest check-in and the clerk we dealt with was very sweet. But, the rooms are extraordinarily small, the beds (doubles) and mattresses ancient and squeekey and the room AC noisy. Don't look under the beds because the carpet hasn't been vacuumed. There are no outlets in the bathroom. The motel is adjacent to the RR tracks and trains seems to pass at all hours of the night (though you can barely hear them in the room).

When you think about it, you're not really staying in a teepee anyway, only an exterior replica of one. My suggestion is to stop to take photos and then stay at one of the modern motels on the other side of I-40.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MAZ4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2009

We were on a road trip around the States, and on Route 66 going West. We had this trip organised for 10 months. The last place we had booked was the Wigwam in April 2009. We had reserved 3 wigwams. So we turned up very excited about the prospect of sleeping in the historic Wigwam Motel. The motel itself had even called to confirm our booking a week before. HOWEVER, the front office had no record of us. Bummer! They apparently now had us booked in on another day! Of course they had no idea how it happened and could not offer any explanation and they had no room. The guy behind seemed quite flustered and overwhelmed. So there we were in Holbrook with no where to go! We know we had dates right and we had meticulously planned this trip with no other problems. The Wigwam does not use the computer just a phone in reservation...so my advice is that you confirm your reservation many times before you get there so not to be left wigwamless!!! Talk to as many people as you can to make sure they have it right!

We ended up next door at Best Western.....not so great but it was place to stay.

Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
Thank Jane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2009

Had kind of mixed thoughts about the Wigwam Motel thinking that since it's an older motel it may be on the shabby side . Our concerns were unfounded , from start to finish our stay was a blast . The front desk clerk ( owners granddaughter ) was very friendly and helpful , welcoming us to view the backroom museum . Our wigwam was a double , freshly painted with spotless tile floors and new bed linens . The beds were on the smallish side but worked out very well . The bathroom and shower have sloped sides - after all you are in a wigwam ! I would go out of my way to stay again . The only downside is that the office is open only from 4-9pm so reservations must be made between those hours .

Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
1  Thank danielgriffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2009

This is a place to stay for thrill of sleeping in a Wigwam. The unique layout maximizes all available space, which as a result is a surprisingly big.

The downside...the beds are NOT comfortable (hard as a rock, and not made for tall people). Other than that, this place is absolutely cool.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hypshark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2009

We stopped at the Wigwam Motel on our Route 66 roadtrip. It was the best!! A true highlight of the trip! We stayed in Wigwam #1 - the room was roomy and spotlessly clean. The original furnishings are so cool and I loved taking a shower in the teepee. The little bathroom was so cute and I actually loved how the mirror was on an angle (along w/ the wall of the wigwam). The owner is so sweet and offers to let you go through her museum. She will also give you ice if you request it - be sure to take your ice bucket. The a/c worked awesome in our teepee. We ate a great mexican place just up the street and had the best navajo tacos! Be sure to stay at the Wigwam if you get a chance - it's well worth it!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ajay0876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Holbrook hotels
2.7 mi away
Travelodge Holbrook
Travelodge Holbrook
#5 of 17 in Holbrook
1,424 reviews
2.3 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#6 of 17 in Holbrook
109 reviews
2.9 mi away
Days Inn Holbrook
Days Inn Holbrook
#3 of 17 in Holbrook
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Holbrook
1.3 mi away
Lexington Inn - Holbrook, AZ
0.1 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Adobe Holbrook
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wigwam Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wigwam Motel

Address: 811 W Hopi Dr, Holbrook, AZ 86025-2853
Region: United States > Arizona > Holbrook
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Holbrook
#6 Family Hotel in Holbrook
Price Range: £36 - £41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Wigwam Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wigwam Hotel Holbrook
Wigwam Motel Holbrook, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing