We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Remembering Rt 66”
Review of Globetrotter Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Globetrotter Lodge
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Holbrook
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 December 2013

The motel from the outside looks like the old motels along rte 66. Holbrook is a town out of the era with much unchanged S of the freeway. The motel was built in the 50's and so far 10 rooms have been updated. Although the bathroom is unique and quite modern, and the room itself was updated, compared to nicer motels, this still does not compare. No closet, few amenities, and a noisy heater/air conditioner unit that did not allow my wife to get any sleep cause me to rate this no better than average. The breakfast area was nice and the host were pleasant, but we would probably travel either to Flagstaff or to Gallup (depending on which direction you were going) to get more modern, new lodgings.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (634)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

350 - 356 of 634 reviews

Reviewed 16 December 2013

We stayed one night on our way to the Petrified Forest. As another reviewer said, this felt more like a B&B than a hotel. There is actually a pump soap dispenser in the bathroom rather than those little slivers of bar soap! The room was sparkling clean and decorated in a fun southwest atmosphere. It did look recently renovated, everything seemed new. The owner was delightful and came to chat with us during breakfast. Breakfast included fresh bagels from a bakery - delicious - in a delightfully appointed dining room. GREAT value for the money, we highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rebecca Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

Drive up to this place is like passing thru a time warp to the 1950s. Looks like the old motor courts complete with an old Lincoln and a station wagon in front. Super nice owners made sure we were happy. The room excellent from the comfortable bed to the delightful painted sink in the bath. As others have stated it felt more like a B&B than a motel. The breakfast a very good continental style. The best bagel ever with at least 5 different types of fresh jellies and jams along with toast and 3 different cereals, very good coffee but the oj tasted like tang. A really nice place to stay with many special personal touches you will not find at the chain hotels.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
2  Thank madyess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We stayed at the Globetrotter for one night in order to visit the Petrified Forest, and loved the motel, which is more like a B&B than anything else.
Beautifully renovated by Peter and Mona from Kitzbuhel, the rooms were delightful, with their painted sinks and thoughtfully chosen local artwork, plus some old fifties items (for decorative purposes only!). The rooms were also immaculately clean and well appointed. Although it is possible to hear the trains they really didn't bother us and the pros of staying here far outweigh the sound of the trains.
Breakfast was high quality continental; delicious bagels. In all, the motel is an absolute bargain, at a particularly reasonable price and one of the best places I've stayed in the US.
We would have liked to have stayed more than one night to enjoy the place further but our itinerary didn't permit this.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Briony K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013 via mobile

After a long day on the road, the Globetrotter was a pleasant surprise. More like a B&B than a motel, the rooms were perfectly clean, creatively decorated, and the staff were friendly and accommodating. The included breakfast was a nice touch. Highly recommend the Globetrotter.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank cokematt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

May not necessarily stand out as anything more than a typical Any Town motel, but it is definitely much more than that! Excellent service, decor, and price. Very clean. Lovely decor with interesting antique pieces. Lovely bathroom with walk-in shower and a delightful decorative painted ceramic sink. Very fresh and clean textured painted ceiling and walls, no detectable odours, free wifi, new flat screen TV, coffee in room, mini-fridge and complimentary breakfast. Chose it because it was rated #1 on Trip Advisor for Holbrook and although i was somewhat apprehensive when we first pulled in the driveway, it actually significantly exceeded my original expectations when I made the booking!

Room Tip: We stayed in a King room (#1)...very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tristan492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We spent one night here while travelling east from Las Vegas. It was great. Spotlessly clean, really comfortable, quirky decor that makes a change from the chain motel/hotels, and an easy walk to the bars and restaurants of Holbrook, there's not many! The hosts are friendly and helpful and have done a fabulous job on the place. Young's Coral is a bar in the town and probably the most lively, it does not do food but has good beer. A really nice place for a stop over.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JonFromUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Holbrook hotels
2.7 mi away
Travelodge Holbrook
Travelodge Holbrook
#6 of 17 in Holbrook
1,421 reviews
2.9 mi away
Days Inn Holbrook
Days Inn Holbrook
#3 of 17 in Holbrook
480 reviews
1.3 mi away
Lexington Inn - Holbrook, AZ
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#5 of 17 in Holbrook
105 reviews
3.0 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 17 in Holbrook
179 reviews
3.1 mi away
Howard Johnson Holbrook
Howard Johnson Holbrook
#10 of 17 in Holbrook
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Globetrotter Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Globetrotter Lodge

Address: 902 W Hopi Dr, Holbrook, AZ 86025-2346
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Holbrook
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Holbrook
#2 Family Hotel in Holbrook
Price Range: £74 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located on historic Route 66,, 902 West Hopi Dr. Holbrook, AZ 86025. We have 10 cozy rooms Two King, 1 three bed room, 7 double rooms. Every room has a flat panel TV and an artistically original handmade sink. The rooms are uniquely different and individually decorated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Globetrotter Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Globetrotter Hotel Holbrook
Globetrotter Lodge Holbrook, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing