We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Special Stay on Route 66”
Review of Globetrotter Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Globetrotter Lodge
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Holbrook
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 January 2014

During our recent trip across Northern Arizona, my wife and I had a very pleasant stay at the Globetrotter Lodge in Holbrook. The Lodge is rated as the #1 hotel/motel/lodge in the city and also highly recommended by several of my "Route 66 Guidebooks." For travelers seeking an "Updated Route 66 Experience," similar to ones travelers had in the 1950s and 1960s, the Globetrotter Lodge is a "must stop." Travelers seeking an upscale room with all the amenities of a first-class hotel probably will find their stay at this Lodge less satisfying.

Our room was very similar to ones experienced by travelers on Route 66 in previous decades, but with lots of nice updates. The room included two double beds with comfortable mattresses, a television set, and a refrigerator. Interesting, the sink and vanity were in an open area and separated from the toilet and shower. The room also included a number of Southwest art pieces, bed coverings, and other decorations. We were impressed by and surprised to find a new, brightly colored sink in the bathroom and restored tile from the 1950s(?) in the shower. Obviously, the Hoeller family, owners of the Lodge, have put lots of work into lovingly restoring each of the eleven rooms currently available for travelers.

In the morning we enjoyed a "Continental Breakfast" in an attractively appointed "breakfast eating area." Our breakfast included a variety of hot and cold beverages, freshly made bagels, mini-loaves of raisin bread, and other breakfast items.

For about $65.00, we received a clean room that was very much a "1950s Room," had a delicious "Continental Breakfast," and enjoyed what I describe as an "Updated Route 66 Experience." It was a "Special Stay" for us. For travelers seeking this type experience and a comfortable stay at a reasonable rate in Holbrook, I recommend the Globetrotter Lodge and see why it is rated by TripAdvisor Reviewers as the #1 Hotel/Motel/Lodge in the city.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CPGTheATeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (634)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

347 - 353 of 634 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2014

Room was very nice, but heating unit, which was combined with a/c unit never stopped cycling off and on...it would go off for 30 seconds or so, then come back on. Very noisy. Also had to unplug refrigerator since it was loud, as well.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Howard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

I was a little apprehensive when I made the reservation but that all disappeared on arrival. The proprietors have spent a lot of time and money polishing this jewel and it shows. The room was very clean with much attention to detail. The old feel remained with modern touches. The continental breakfast was excellent and we had a wonderful time chatting with the owner. Sad to see the old highway and surrounding buildings go into ruin. Thank goodness entrepreneurs such as these are trying to preserve the history and feel of a by-gone age.

Room Tip: They're all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TechyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

The motel from the outside looks like the old motels along rte 66. Holbrook is a town out of the era with much unchanged S of the freeway. The motel was built in the 50's and so far 10 rooms have been updated. Although the bathroom is unique and quite modern, and the room itself was updated, compared to nicer motels, this still does not compare. No closet, few amenities, and a noisy heater/air conditioner unit that did not allow my wife to get any sleep cause me to rate this no better than average. The breakfast area was nice and the host were pleasant, but we would probably travel either to Flagstaff or to Gallup (depending on which direction you were going) to get more modern, new lodgings.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We stayed one night on our way to the Petrified Forest. As another reviewer said, this felt more like a B&B than a hotel. There is actually a pump soap dispenser in the bathroom rather than those little slivers of bar soap! The room was sparkling clean and decorated in a fun southwest atmosphere. It did look recently renovated, everything seemed new. The owner was delightful and came to chat with us during breakfast. Breakfast included fresh bagels from a bakery - delicious - in a delightfully appointed dining room. GREAT value for the money, we highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rebecca Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

Drive up to this place is like passing thru a time warp to the 1950s. Looks like the old motor courts complete with an old Lincoln and a station wagon in front. Super nice owners made sure we were happy. The room excellent from the comfortable bed to the delightful painted sink in the bath. As others have stated it felt more like a B&B than a motel. The breakfast a very good continental style. The best bagel ever with at least 5 different types of fresh jellies and jams along with toast and 3 different cereals, very good coffee but the oj tasted like tang. A really nice place to stay with many special personal touches you will not find at the chain hotels.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
2  Thank madyess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We stayed at the Globetrotter for one night in order to visit the Petrified Forest, and loved the motel, which is more like a B&B than anything else.
Beautifully renovated by Peter and Mona from Kitzbuhel, the rooms were delightful, with their painted sinks and thoughtfully chosen local artwork, plus some old fifties items (for decorative purposes only!). The rooms were also immaculately clean and well appointed. Although it is possible to hear the trains they really didn't bother us and the pros of staying here far outweigh the sound of the trains.
Breakfast was high quality continental; delicious bagels. In all, the motel is an absolute bargain, at a particularly reasonable price and one of the best places I've stayed in the US.
We would have liked to have stayed more than one night to enjoy the place further but our itinerary didn't permit this.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Briony K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Holbrook hotels
2.7 mi away
Travelodge Holbrook
Travelodge Holbrook
#5 of 17 in Holbrook
1,420 reviews
2.9 mi away
Days Inn Holbrook
Days Inn Holbrook
#3 of 17 in Holbrook
478 reviews
1.3 mi away
Lexington Inn - Holbrook, AZ
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#6 of 17 in Holbrook
104 reviews
3.0 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 17 in Holbrook
179 reviews
3.1 mi away
Howard Johnson Holbrook
Howard Johnson Holbrook
#10 of 17 in Holbrook
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Globetrotter Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Globetrotter Lodge

Address: 902 W Hopi Dr, Holbrook, AZ 86025-2346
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Holbrook
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Holbrook
#2 Family Hotel in Holbrook
Price Range: £74 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located on historic Route 66,, 902 West Hopi Dr. Holbrook, AZ 86025. We have 10 cozy rooms Two King, 1 three bed room, 7 double rooms. Every room has a flat panel TV and an artistically original handmade sink. The rooms are uniquely different and individually decorated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Globetrotter Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Globetrotter Hotel Holbrook
Globetrotter Lodge Holbrook, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing