We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place”
Review of Globetrotter Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Globetrotter Lodge
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Holbrook
Certificate of Excellence
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
353 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

This was yet a different type of motel than we had previously stayed in, with a sort of horseshoe layout and you could park right outside your door.

The rooms were immaculate, spacious, with a fridge desk and big tv. Each room has a unique hand painted sink (nice, but I don’t know why). It was probably the cleanest place we stayed in all trip.

The hotel also had a pool (open 24hrs) and small pool area which was immaculately clean.

Opposite the hotel was the Wigwam motel where you sleep in concrete teepees. I had considered booking us in there, but decided against it due to the lack of air-conditioning and the small size of the teepees. The decision was justified by the fact the Globetrotter Lodge was superb. We had a complimentary continental breakfast at a reserved table in the large reception area. Very nice and very clean.

Recommend.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank LiciaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    415
    152
    22
    5
    3
See reviews for
153
301
24
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
121 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Family business run by a German couple. Very nice and friendly. This is a quirky little motel on Route 66. The rooms are a Southwestern/Mexican decor...we liked our room a lot. There is a bookcase in the room partially filled with books but all in German! Beds were comfy and the room was clean. The pool is small but sufficient with different types of outdoor seating. The breakfast was nice. Glassware used with no plastic or foam...nice for a change and in a nicely decorated setting . No hot food but plenty of food anyway. We definitely would recommend the Globetrotter.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank FloW68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
148 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Heading north in Utah, we chose Holbrook for its great location to the Petrified Forest, and the road to Canyon de Chelly. The Globetrotter owners were charming, and hospitably showed us to our room. The room was comfortable and very clean, with cute little touches like a freestanding cabinet TV as a table, a 50's dresser, and a lovely pine paneled bath. The pool looked clean as well, but there was a lightning storm that night, so we didn't use it. Breakfast was the best-- we were greeted by the owner and walked to our table with a flag from our state on it. The breakfast area was decorated with Austrian touches (since the owners are Austrian), like lederhosen, and images from their home country. We left with a warm feeling.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueBirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryan
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

If you are traveling Route 66 make a point to stay here for a night! It's clean, quite, cozy and has all the modern things that we are use too...wifi, fridge, microwave, tasty breakfast in the mornings and most important very friendly oprators.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MmpayneAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

This is an exceptional place. It is so cozy and warm. It has all the perfect little touches like real glasses and mugs and even a retro decorative tv in the room. The pool was beautiful and well kept. The owners were so friendly and welcoming. The breakfast was very good and they had a nice selection of fresh fruit. They even made place markers with our state on them in the breakfast room. The room was spotlessly clean and the bathroom was beautifully done. Best place to stay in Holbrook, AZ!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NRMedlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

The Globetrotter and this part of Route 66 was the best part of the trip so far for our kids, ages 8,12&14! We booked the family room (be careful when booking through booking.com, we didn't realize that a family room was only for 3 people so they tacked on $30 when we checked in).

Besides the young woman at the front desk who wasn't that pleasant, everything else was great. The breakfast was delicious, the pool was so fake looking and clean that we had to try it and the room was clean and quiet.

While you are there, go check out the Wigwam across the street and see all the Cars from the movie and eat at Sam & Aggies, the couple who started the restaurant were the couple the movie based a bunch of one-liners on!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Hilary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mobile, Alabama, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stayed at Globetrotter Lodge for 7 days. Peter, Mona and Larissa made our stay very peaceful and comfortable. Our accommodations were clean and tidy with thoughtful extras; like real coffee cups and real glasses for our use in our room, instead of the motel standard Styrofoam cups. The breakfast area was very charming...and again with real dinnerware and accessories. The pool area is privacy fenced with awesome lounge furniture that Peter built. This is a wonderful place to stay and right on Route 66. Good variety of places to eat close by. Globetrotter is also motorcycle friendly; that's how we travel, and met other bikers there just passing through to their destination. We all love Globetrotter Lodge. Looking forward to another visit with Peter, Mona and Larissa. Thank y'all so much for a wonderful stay!!!!! :)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Holbrook hotels
2.7 mi away
Travelodge Holbrook
Travelodge Holbrook
#4 of 17 in Holbrook
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,366 reviews
1.3 mi away
Lexington Inn - Holbrook
Lexington Inn - Holbrook
#5 of 17 in Holbrook
4.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
2.9 mi away
Days Inn Holbrook
Days Inn Holbrook
#6 of 17 in Holbrook
4.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 17 in Holbrook
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
2.3 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#7 of 17 in Holbrook
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
3.1 mi away
Howard Johnson Holbrook
Howard Johnson Holbrook
#10 of 17 in Holbrook
3.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Globetrotter Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Globetrotter Lodge

Property: Globetrotter Lodge
Address: 902 W Hopi Dr, Holbrook, AZ 86025-2346
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Holbrook
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Holbrook
#2 Family Hotel in Holbrook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located on historic Route 66,, 902 West Hopi Dr. Holbrook, AZ 86025. We have 10 cozy rooms Two King, 1 three bed room, 7 double rooms. Every room has a flat panel TV and an artistically original handmade sink. The rooms are uniquely different and individually decorated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Globetrotter Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Globetrotter Hotel Holbrook
Globetrotter Lodge Holbrook, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing