We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My first review! HORRIBLE!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Magnuson Hotel Adobe Holbrook

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Magnuson Hotel Adobe Holbrook
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Holbrook
Prewitt, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“My first review! HORRIBLE!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

Bathroom door fell off the hinge in my hand when I shut it. There was no hot water in the sink. The towels had scary yellow stains on them. The potty would not flush. The heat was stuck on high, so we could choose to freeze or melt. The bed was really hard. The soap labels had been whittled on ad to not reveal what hotel they had been stolen from. The TV reception was so bad you couldn't see the screen.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronnie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    42
    46
    18
    17
See reviews for
42
51
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
81 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

I have stayed here several times while traveling between Arizona and New Mexico. I usually get a great deal on this hotel using Priceline Express Deals.

Pros: Good internet service. The rooms are nicely updated with a comfortable decor, good sized and clean. The staff was friendly and helpful. Great value through Priceline. Definitely a solid 2 star property.

Cons: Strangely enough, the ice machine and vending machines are located out inside the fenced pool area which is basically in the parking lot. If you don't ask, you'd probably never find it.

Other: The AC worked okay and was not too noisy, for a window-type unit. I felt comfortable and fairly safe staying here, despite rooms that open to the exterior, which I am normally not fond of. There is a free breakfast but it's just the basics, yogurt, cerial, juice, fruit, small pastries, hard boiled eggs, toast, english muffins, and make-your-own waffles.

Holbrook itself is about half ghost town, like many of the smaller towns in the Southwest that are past their "Route 66" heyday, but I like the quiet nature of this little town. It's very convenient to I40 and there are a few interesting shops in town.

Room Tip: Near the end of the building would help minimize foot traffic past your window. All rooms open to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LW26102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
268 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

Stayed 1 night at this property while on personal business. Booked the room through hotels.com and got a great price considering all the other properties in the area. The room was very spacious, clean and well maintained. The bed was most comfortable, the A/C worked exceptionally well. We had a train track near the motel, but didn't get disturbed by them at all during the night. Exercise facility was good considering the age of the property.

Breakfast was good as well with a pretty good variety of items.

Would stay again if in the area.

Room Tip: Bottom floor near the lobby seems to be quieter than most.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

Arriving at the hotel we thought it was closed down as the outside looked derelict. When we went to check in the guy on the desk really didn't want to be there. He never once looked up, greeted me or smiled. He just slid the key over the counter. The rooms themselves are ok I suppose ( we were only staying one night thank heavens ) the bathroom had a bit of a smell and loads of little flies in the bath. When we came back from having tea there was a cement mixer, a wagon and a horse box with 3 horses in parked in the car park ( pretty strange I know ). The next morning after a sleepless night with the trains we went to try the breakfast , walking across the car park the guy with the horse box was mucking the horses out, this was just swept out onto the car park. The breakfast was ok except the lady cleared everything away around us and put out the lights ( it was only 9.15 ). Going bak to our room the whole place smelt of horse manure. Time to go thank god. We had stayed in 14 different hotels whilst doing Route 66 and this was the only bad one we had. CUSTOMER SERVICE SHOULD BE YOUR PRIORITY, EVEN JUST A SMILE MAKES A BAD HOTEL A BETTER ONE.

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank harty_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Holbrook hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Glasgow
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

We arrived at this hotel expecting the worst having read previous reviews. My husband and I stayed for one night whilst travelling route 66. The hotel is right on route and next to the Wig Wam Motel. The male receptionist managed to check us in without so much as glancing up at us. The female receptionist who we met upon check out was much more friendly. The room did have a strange smell and was a little tired however it was clean enough and we slept well. They offered free wifi and parking outside the door. There was a decent size pool and vending machines in the middle of the lot. Breakfast was also included; boiled eggs, waffles, muffins, biscuits and gravy etc. We did not have any issues with train or people noise and we did not at anytime feel unsafe. I can see how the first page of the welcome book may concern guests. (don't answer doors, dead bolts, never leave valuables etc) We ate at a local Chinese and overall had a great night in Holbrook at the Empty Pockets Saloon playing pool. The Hotel was fine for a one night stop over.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikki L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gadsden, Alabama
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

We didn't plan to stay nowhere we was going to drive thru the night but got so sleepy we had to find a room.We are so happy we found this motel I couldn't have found one online any better.They have coffee,frig,microwave and a flat screen tv with HBO and they also have free wifi and it was right on Route 66.I would plan to stay if I went back thru.

Gadsden,Al

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristiglencoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

We arrived in Holbrook on our journey along Route 66, tired+ dusty, to find an almost derelict looking building. The pool was almost on the Main Street, the bath had little flies in it and every time a train went by the whole room shook. The staff at reception were surly and appeared as if they'd rather be anywhere else.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ki11eshin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Holbrook hotels
2.7 mi away
Travelodge Holbrook
Travelodge Holbrook
#3 of 17 in Holbrook
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,337 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lexington Inn - Holbrook
Lexington Inn - Holbrook
#4 of 17 in Holbrook
4.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
2.9 mi away
Days Inn Holbrook
Days Inn Holbrook
#6 of 17 in Holbrook
4.0 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Howard Johnson Holbrook
Howard Johnson Holbrook
#10 of 17 in Holbrook
3.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
1.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Holbrook
2.2 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#7 of 17 in Holbrook
4.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnuson Hotel Adobe Holbrook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnuson Hotel Adobe Holbrook

Property: Magnuson Hotel Adobe Holbrook
Address: 615 West Hopi Drive, Holbrook, AZ 86025
Region: United States > Arizona > Holbrook
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Holbrook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Magnuson Hotel Adobe Holbrook 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests of the pet friendly Magnuson Hotel Adobe of Holbrook can enjoy a free breakfast, outdoor pool, on site exercise room, and free parking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Magnuson Hotel Adobe Holbrook reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Adobe Hotel Holbrook
Best Western Holbrook
Holbrook Best Western
Magnuson Hotel Adobe Holbrook Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing