We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“BEWARE” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jacob Lake Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jacob Lake
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Jacob Lake Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Jacob Lake B&B and Inns
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“BEWARE”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

BEWARE Their business practice is to keep ALL your money even when unforeseen circumstance causes you to change plans. We have stayed there before when touring by motorcycle. We organized a 4 couple motorcycle tour this year and booked rooms. The day before our trip the weather forecast turned nasty and we had to cancel the bike trip. They were totally inflexible. When told we would take them off our list of places to stay for future tours they could care less. BEWARE once they have your money they will keep ALL of it....even though they didn't earn it.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacobLakeFamily, Owner at Jacob Lake Inn, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
While we regret any inconvenience you may have experienced, you were fully informed of the policy at the time you reserved your room. If you buy a concert ticket and then decide not to go, you will not get a refund. You have to appreciate our position. If we are able to fill the room, we do refund a percentage of your deposit, but we fully inform all our clients before making any reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,811 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    448
    742
    342
    179
    100
See reviews for
492
884
78
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Idaho Falls, Idaho
Level Contributor
147 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

Jacob Lake Inn is located in the middle of a beautiful ponderosa pine forest near the North Rim of the Grand Canyon. We stayed here for 2 nights and found the staff very friendly and helpful. We stayed in the two story building in the back and had a nice quiet room with a king bed. The room had two chairs, a small table, a TV, and a porch outside with chairs. WIFI was available. The only problem with the room was that the LED from the smoke detector shined right on the bed making it a little difficult to sleep.
We were there during the off season, so the dining room was closed, but the lunch counter was open. The food was good and reasonably priced, just don't be in a hurry. If you have breakfast, I recommend the Kaibab Pancakes. They are really good!
The Inn is famous for its fresh cookies. Stop in at 10:00 am when they are just coming out of the oven for a real treat! We hope to return during the time that the road to the North Rim is open. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AJC_travlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacobLakeFamily, Owner at Jacob Lake Inn, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Thanks for your review. We are glad you enjoyed the food and our cookies. Come and see us during our high season when we have our full selection.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
266 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

We stayed at Jacob Lake for 2 nights as part of our road trip and it was one of our favourites. It wasn't one thing in particular, but the whole package together made it special. It's one of those things it's hard to put your finger on why it was so special, but it was. We stayed in one of the cabins which are located in a wooded area not far from the main building. It was small [ish] and basic, yet very cosy and relaxing. We do a lot of camping and prefer this type of experience than we do the added luxury of a hotel resort, it was just so relaxing. The shop, the bar, the dining and the people were all very nice and we could not fault the service. If you are looking for a understated homely/family feel over pure luxury and fine dining then this place is excellent, if not you might not agree. We also found it to be great value considering it's location to the Grand Canyon North rim and will definitely be back if we find ourselves in the area again, which hopefully we will. Thank you to all at Jacob Lake for making it a special stay !

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gomms13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacobLakeFamily, Owner at Jacob Lake Inn, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Thank you for your positive and thoughtful review. We are so glad you enjoyed what we have to offer. We are not a fancy place, but we do offer good food and great service in a beautiful location. We love our area, the native cultures around us, and the people we serve. We hope you will come and see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, Netherlands
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

We stayed in a motelroom with two queen beds. The room was pretty spacious and quiet. We enjoyed staying here, close to the Grand Canyon. Friendly and clean, would stay there again, no doubt about that.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelerinUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacobLakeFamily, Owner at Jacob Lake Inn, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
We are glad to have had you as our guests and are so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us. Please come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

We stayed HEE Asa. Stop over after seeing the Grand Canyon.

We stayed in the motel section at the back. Comfortable room. Good food in the main building, including a bakery counter where you can get cookies for the journey.

Friendly staff.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Travellingbear44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacobLakeFamily, Owner at Jacob Lake Inn, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
We are so glad you stayed with us at Jacob Lake Inn. We work hard to make our guests comfortable and to help them discover the magnificent North Rim of the Grand Canyon. Also glad you enjoyed the cookies!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utopia, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

We could not get reservations at the Grand Canyon Lodge, so we stayed here. We were glad for the trip advisor reviews that recommended this inn. It was great to check in to a comfortable, air conditioned room after spending the afternoon in the heat at the GC. The cabins looked nice, but we wanted a room with a/c. The onsite restaurant was average, but the service was slow at dinner and breakfast.

Room Tip: The even numbered rooms face the forest; the odd numbered rooms face the parking lot. We were lucky...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luellen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacobLakeFamily, Owner at Jacob Lake Inn, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
We appreciate your comments and will work on serving you as quickly as possible. We hope you will come and see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. George, Utah
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

We stayed in a cabin for the sheer pleasure of it. NO TV, NO PHONES, NO INTERRUPTIONS!
We loved the old cabins and tiny bathrooms, they reminded us of days long ago. We loved sitting outside our cabin watching children and families enjoy the nice play ground. The food was wonderful in the dining room and at the counter and their cookies are the BEST you will find anywhere and the staff members were always friendly! We enjoyed hiking right out of our cabin door and mountain biking on the many forest service roads in the area. We are headed back next week for Valentines day and wish the Cabins were open in the winter! I sure hope they have SNOW! Glad they are they only place in town...keeps in quaint and cozy!

Room Tip: Come with an open mind and adventurous spirit and you will enjoy any of their accommodations!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacobLakeFamily, Owner at Jacob Lake Inn, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Thanks for the great review! It is always great when people get what you are trying to do. We hope soon to be able to update our cabins, but until we can afford it, we are glad you had a good time at Jacob Lake Inn. See you at Valentine's.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jacob Lake
24.9 mi away
Grand Canyon Ranch & Outfitters
Show Prices

Been to Jacob Lake Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jacob Lake Inn

Property: Jacob Lake Inn
Address: US 89A & AZ Hwy 67, at State Route 67, Jacob Lake, AZ 86022
Region: United States > Arizona > Jacob Lake
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Jacob Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Jacob Lake Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Also Known As:
Jacob Lake Hotel Jacob Lake
Jacob Lake Inn Jacob Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing