We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1926”
Review of Jerome Grand Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Jerome
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Jerome Grand Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Jerome
Certificate of Excellence
The Colony, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“1926”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Our view from the 3rd floor balcony was wonderful!!!!!!!!!!! Staff was great, decor is funky cool.
There are no "modern" conveniences, and that was a plus!!!! Riding the original 1926 elevator was fun!! The Ghost Tour was informative, and we did have a "bumpy" couple of nights. I would definitely recommend the Grand Hotel, and staying in Jerome to anyone!! No fast food here!!!
You should visit all the quaint artsy shops, and The Gold King Mine. Truly unique!!

Room Tip: 3rd floor balcony!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    145
    37
    7
    9
See reviews for
88
187
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We visited the hotel and had lunch in the "asylum". The hotel was absolutely stunning up on the hilltop. The staff were very friendly and were very open to sharing this grand hotel's history. The price for such a landmark, was very fair. We are planning on coming back over halloween when the "spirits" are most likely to say hello.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nancy8383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 September 2013

our room was on the top floor, with a private balcony overlooking the valley. We could sit on the balcony and watch the rain fall miles away or sit there in the morning and watch the fog roll over the mountain to the valley below. it was so beautiful. the room itself was nice, very clean. but be warned- there is no a/c- but it's really not needed. The building has some kind of super attic fan that keeps the air moving and we were very comfortable. The staff of the hotel and the restaurant were great. the food in the restaurant was good but a little pricey. over all it was so very, very nice to stay there

Room Tip: get a room on the top floor, balcony makes the view even better
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ugamsudawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

The hotel was nice, especially in light of the fact it had previously been a hospital many years ago. The renovations are really nice and they have made great strides to throw off the "hospital look". The rooms are quite large & spacious. The town of Jerome is a bit quirky and odd, in a good way, and this hotel fits right along with that profile, mainly because of it is history. It also has a really old elevator that was an adventure in itself. It is the old-timey kind that one has to close the metal accordion doors; pretty cool. When one arrives into Jerome, it is the most imposing building that will catch your attention and your eye is drawn to it. The views from here are great and our main objective for our visit was to participate in the ghost hunt. We were not disappointed. Chris was very accommodating & friendly. The hotel provides equipment and cameras for the hunt After the tour, the hotel will consolidate all photos taken during the your tour and sends to participants on CD; very nice touch. :) We definitely had some experiences on the 4th floor. One photo caught a very bright light anomaly that was not seen with the eye & we heard humming as well, with our ears. We did not try the restaurant.

Room Tip: The suites were very nice if you want to spring for the $$, especially the ones that have access to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wbacowgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We stayed at the Grand Hotel for one night so our Grand-son could go on the ghost tour. He was looking forward to this for months. The Tour was great and he loved it. I thought they made you a book of your pictures that you took to give you in the morning but instead they gave you a disk of everyone's pictures. It was nice but a book would have been better since he was so excited to see them and had to wait until he returned home to do so which was days later. We were told we had to stay in the hotel 1 night to do the ghost tour but when we took the tour a lot of the people just showed up that day for tour and did not stay there.
It was OK to stay over night and everyone was nice but would not do it again. They also say continental breakfast but there was nothing for kids to eat. It would have been better if there restaurant would have been open so we could go there and sit down. We ended up going to eat in Jerome. Our Disks were not completed when we left either. We had to stop back for them after breakfast. All in All everything was good stay.

Room Tip: Get one with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Robin-mara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

We loved the building and accommodations. We actually got an unrequested upgrade from a double room to a 2 room suite. We were celebrating our anniversary. The suite had access to an atrium that was beautiful. The beds were comfortable although a little hard for me (I like very soft mattresses). The bathroom was big and very clean. The rooms were also very clean and neat. The view was incredible.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marthacarolina1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peoria, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Where do I begin? My Husband and I stayed here for the weekend. After reading previous reviews, we were not sure if it was going to be worth the stay for the variety of reviews it received. Well, all I have to say is, to each their own. Don't base your opinion on someone else's experience until you have stayed here yourself. Jerome is a great town to explore with its eccentricities and historic charm. What to expect with the hotel, it's an old building filled with antiquities and quaintness. The rooms and bathrooms are nice and surprisingly spacious. The beds were comfortable and the rooms clean. The balcony view (on the 3rd floor) was spectacular. Also, they had a hair dryer and febreeze in the bathrooms. (Side note: I had read that they had no cable and only one channel and no coffee). Well, that couldn't be more further from the truth. They had several cable stations from HBO, History channel, TNT and some other good ones. They also offer coffee in the lobby, along with a fridge with coke products. (There was a little gift shop to the side of the desk). There is evaporative cooling throughout the hotel, and to keep rooms cool, they have what would be a window above the doors, but is open with a flap door to close; this is what keeps the rooms cool along with ceiling fans. If you bring a little floor fan or keep the flap open and fan on, it helps to keep the room cool. As for the ghosts, we personally did not hear or see anything. But then again, we weren't exactly seeking them out. We did, however, hear rude and obnoxious people in the hallways screaming and laughing. (So just be aware of this.) Take a bottle of wine and ear plugs and you should be okay. Another note on the ghosts, unless you seek them out, they won't bother you. I say respect their space and they will respect yours. (You can even politely ask them to respect your space and they will do so.) Overall, if you want the convenience of coffee in your room, ample outlets, an outgoing phone line, wifi and air conditioning, then you should probably go somewhere else. But if you are willing to sacrifice a few modern and luxurious amenities, then allow yourself to stay here. It is a beautiful hotel and full of history. The staff was friendly and professional. Oh and the old elevator is the bees knees. We were happy we stayed here and experienced the charm and history it had to offer. And would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ASUSunDevil08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jerome
6.4 mi away
Pines Motel
Pines Motel
#1 of 7 in Cottonwood
298 reviews
4.9 mi away
Quality Inn - Cottonwood
Quality Inn - Cottonwood
#6 of 7 in Cottonwood
152 reviews
19.0 mi away
Casa Sedona Inn
Casa Sedona Inn
#3 of 48 in Sedona
927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.6 mi away
Hassayampa Inn
Hassayampa Inn
#9 of 22 in Prescott
814 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ghost City Inn
Ghost City Inn
#1 of 4 in Jerome
274 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Iron Horse Inn
The Iron Horse Inn
#1 of 7 in Cottonwood
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jerome Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jerome Grand Hotel

Property: Jerome Grand Hotel
Address: 200 Hill Street, Jerome, AZ 86331
Region: United States > Arizona > Jerome
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Jerome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic hotel in Jerome, Arizona overlooking the Verde Valley. A National Historic Building offering fine dining, ATV rentals, ghost hunting nights on Tues and Thurs, trolley tours Wed, Verde Canyon Railroad Train tour packages, close to hiking trails and state parks. We offer accommodations from standard guest rooms to our new 2000 sq ft grand suite. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grand Jerome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing