We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Step back in time”
Review of Jerome Grand Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Jerome
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Jerome Grand Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Jerome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2014

When in Sedona area, be sure and visit Jerome and stay at the Jerome Grand Hotel perched high above the town with wonderful views of the valley below. As there are only a few rooms connected to a balcony on the upper level, Reserve your room early to guarantee having front row seats with valley views. The hotel reeks of history and you can feel the ghosts around you as you walk through the halls. A ride in the hotel elevator can be scary but fun. Be sure and Dine in the hotel restaurant "The Asylum" where the food is exceptional and come early as the bar is a local hangout.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ralph D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (428)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

232 - 238 of 428 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2014

This is a neat old hospital that has been converted into a hotel. There is a cool elevator that must be from the 1920s? Very interesting to just roam around and check the place out. You don't want a room facing the back mountain, get a front facing room. The rooms are not fancy, it is just a neat old building with lots of history.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Bud F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Very impressed with this hotel. It was an old hospital and one of my favorite things about the hotel is that you can really feel that it was an old hospital with the fixtures and green paint. BUT it has updated amenities and is very clean. Stayed in room 32 and it was very clean and comfortable. I'm confused that everyone is posting about there being no AC because when we stayed (5 days ago) it was actually FREEZING in the hotel and we were very comfortable at night. The cooler is very loud in the hallways, but once in our bedroom we couldn't hear it at all. We actually brought a fan because of these reviews, but left it in the car because we didn't need it. Unfortunately, we didn't experience any paranormal activity. Highly recommend staying in a balcony room because the views are incredible!! Would highly recommend staying in this hotel and can't wait to stay here again!

Room Tip: Balcony room has amazing view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank princesszha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

It was a fine hotel. You just can't go in there expecting much because they made a good effort to retain the original feel of the hospital. Concrete walls (thin) and no AC. There is a swamp cooler in the room and it works but it is loud. You need it on though because it gets hot and people are loud in the hallways. Don't stay on the 1st/2nd floor. The hallway to the restaurant and the old clanky elevator is right next to your room. They charge you almost double to get away from the noise..

Room Tip: try to spring for a 3rd floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

This was my second trip to the Jerome Grand Hotel, and like the first we had a wonderful time. We got the connecting rooms 31 and 33. The rooms were great, and even had a couple of experiences...Our daughters were in room 31 and our oldest was woken up by someone grabbing her arm and then the bathroom door that had been closed was found wide open in the morning and no one had gotten up. In room 33, my husband and I felt someone sit down on the side of the bed. We looked up expecting it to be our 9 year old and to our surprise no one was there. As for the hotel itself. I was a great stay, keep in mind it is a older hotel so I would bring fans as there is no air conditioning in the rooms themselves. The hallway is where the AC is at and there is a opening at the top of the doors to allow the air in...But guest can be rude and loud so you might want to shut them to keep out some of the noise....Other than that, another wonderful stay! We will be back!

Room Tip: I would try to go during the week as weekends there are more people there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Amarquez2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

I enjoyed my stay here a lot. Did the ghost tour and found it interesting especially with the added history of the building. The rooms are nice, it's an historical building and well cared for. Nothing fancy - but that's not why you stay here. Ate at the Asylum - an excellent meal and great service. Could only afford to stay here one night though, then changed to a local motel to save money. If I could afford it I would have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank claddagh666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

After lunching at their fabulous restaurant, The Asylum, a few months ago, I decided to return for a 2 night stay, booking a 3rd floor room with a balcony. The comfortable chairs and table on the balcony overlooking the town was a perfect place to read and watch the sun set over the valley. The rooms can be a bit noisy at night as the transom over the door (an interesting vestige of the past not seen often) must be opened to let the cool air into the room. However, an overhead fan and doors to the balcony help cool the room during the Summer months.

Complimentary coffee and bagels or Danish rolls are offered every morning to guests, and the Asylum is open for lunch and dinner each day. Don't miss their trademark Squash Soup.

For the incredible view and the proximity to a fine restaurant and charming small town filled with some unique shops, it was worth the price to me.

Room Tip: 3rd and 4th floor rooms with balcony are pricey, but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank nst2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jerome
4.9 mi away
Quality Inn - Cottonwood
Quality Inn - Cottonwood
#7 of 8 in Cottonwood
159 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Tavern Hotel
The Tavern Hotel
#1 of 8 in Cottonwood
340 reviews
21.5 mi away
The Inn Above Oak Creek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.8 mi away
Grand Highland Hotel
Grand Highland Hotel
#2 of 22 in Prescott
553 reviews
19 mi away
Casa Sedona Inn
Casa Sedona Inn
#3 of 49 in Sedona
986 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ghost City Inn
Ghost City Inn
#1 of 4 in Jerome
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jerome Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jerome Grand Hotel

Address: 200 Hill Street, Jerome, AZ 86331
Region: United States > Arizona > Jerome
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Jerome
Price Range: £87 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic hotel in Jerome, Arizona overlooking Jerome and The Verde Valley. A National Historic Landmark Building offering fine dining in the separately owned/operated Asylum Restaurant, Verde Canyon Railroad 'Room & Ride 'tour packages and exquisite views. The Jerome Grand Hotel is close to shopping, galleries, numerous restaurants of varied cuisine, wine tasting rooms as well as The Jerome State Historic Park. Accommodations vary from standard guest rooms, Garden Rooms with private sun porch, Valley View and Mountainside Balcony Rooms to our 2000 sq ft, fully equipped Grand Suite. All rooms have heat pumps for individual climate control while we still utilize our 1926 Kewanee Boiler for steam heat throughout. All 5 levels of the Jerome Grand Hotel are serviced by the original 1926 Otis elevator. Jerome Grand Hotel offers WiFi on all levels, HD television, as well as a 24 hour Front Desk. Complimentary continental breakfast provided. Service animals only, please. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grand Jerome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing