We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty good BBQ but not the best I've had...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bobby D's BBQ at the English Kitchen

Bobby D's BBQ at the English Kitchen
Ranked #1 of 18 Restaurants in Jerome
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$25
Cuisines: American, Bar, Barbecue, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, View, Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Bobby D's BBQ is a 90% scratch kitchen, family owned and operated. All of our meats are hand trimmed, rubbed and smoked on premise. We have delicious sandwiches, salads, and entrees. The specialty of the house is our slow-smoked, St. Louis cut spare ribs, they literally fall off the bone. We also feature a full bar, 8 microbrews on draft and a full service outdoor deck with bar.
NC
Level Contributor
90 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Pretty good BBQ but not the best I've had...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

I was bummed that the ribs were not baby back ribs but the others were fine. They were nicely cooked, tender, and the sauce was good but for some reason it just didn't strike me as the best I have ever had. I think it might have been that the wait staff was a bit less than friendly. Rude is not the exact word I am looking for but maybe worn out and ready for the day to be over...and it showed...with a bit of unfriendly impatience. So maybe if you go when the staff is less worn out the BBQ will strike you as the best you have ever had.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pitayaqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    444
    150
    27
    7
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maumee, Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Delicious food and friendly service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

We enjoyed dining at Bobby D's while visiting Jerome!

They have excellent beer choices and mixed drinks! I especially enjoyed the Arizona Sunset drink.

My husband and I both had burgers and they were huge and tasty! It was also nice to sit outside and enjoy the sunshine.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Verity23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cave Creek, Arizona
Level Contributor
225 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“BBQ Their Specialty”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

Had lunch on May 13, 2014. The restaurant was very busy -- there is a limited amount of restaurants in Jerome. Service was very good and the wait staff was constantly moving quickly. My wife & I had the basic BBQ sandwich which in our opinion was just average. We have had better.

Would we go back to this restaurant? Yes & No. There are a limited amount of restaurants in Jerome & it maybe one of the better ones -- we don't know. I know if this restaurant was located in an area with a lot of competition we probably wouldn't go back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Scott L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Smoked Meat Treats”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

Bobby D's has some of the best smoked pork, brisket and ribs west of Memphis. The meats are lathered in exquisite house made dry rubs, 12 hour smoked over hard wood and then served with 3 delicious sauces. Pair all this smokiness with a Prickly Pear margarita and your taste buds and appetite will be more than satisfied.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank JCC15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moline, Illinois
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Hard to chew”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

I ordered the most popular sandwich, bar b que beef tips melt. There was hardly any meat on it, and what was there was so dry and crusty that I could hardly chew it. Stay away from this $12 sandwich! My husband had the regular beef brisket sandwich, and it was ok.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JoyHein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bobby D's BBQ at the English Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Bobby D's BBQ at the English Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing