We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well-run Long-time Jerome Tradition”
Review of Haunted Hamburger

Haunted Hamburger
Ranked #4 of 17 Restaurants in Jerome
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating
Sedona
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Well-run Long-time Jerome Tradition”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Part of The Haunted Group which is known for understanding how to run good restaurants. Haunted Hamburger has survived when others have opened and closed so that says that they have got the formula down to a science. First and foremost, the gal at the desk could lead a brigade into war; she handled everybody who walked through the door with ease, politeness and calm even though it was Saturday rush hour and they were coming at her with rapid-fire speed. She was true to her word with a 20-25 minute wait. When we were seated the server arrived promptly and didn't seem too rushed to answer our questions even though we knew that the place was packed. Hamburger choices are great with the possibility of adding extras to your basic burger plus the condiments etc. inside so I had a Pepper Jack cheeseburger adding green chiles and fried onions and then went inside to add salsa plus sliced tomatoes for my coleslaw. Only negative...we were seated out on the patio where the sun hit the tables and made it hot in spite of the umbrellas.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lili1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HauntedGroup, Owner at Haunted Hamburger, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Thank you for the very nice review, we appreciate the details you provided about our group! We are happy to hear that you were well taken care of and we apologize about the table being hot. The new table tops we picked do get warmer then we would like, so we will be looking into a different table top for next summer. See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,299 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    683
    428
    124
    41
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Decent food and experience”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We wanted a table with a view but it was crowded and we were starving so we agreed to eat lunch at the bar. Fortunately, we got our food quickly, which we appreciated. We got a small salad and burgers and fries. The food was better than average but not great.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ASL85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HauntedGroup, Owner at Haunted Hamburger, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
We are sorry that you were not able to enjoy our incredible view. It is also disappointing that the food was not up to your standards. We hope that next time you are in the area you give us another shot to provide you a more memorable experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“A Hauntingly Great Place to Eat”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We stopped here for lunch after hiking the Wood Chute Trail on Mingus Mt. Jerome is just down the road, we have eaten here many times but always for dinner. As usual the place was packed but we were seated in about 15 minutes. We ate up stairs for the first time and didn't even know this existed as we have always been downstairs inside, or out on the patio. We were seated by a large window which had a great view. Folks were waiting for us to leave so they could grab it as we left! We shared the original hamburger and baked potato.. great baked potato! Anything you get at the HH is great food. Vanessa was our server as she was when we last ate there the end of June. Very efficient, fast and sweet.
One of the serendipities was that in June, I had left a beloved shirt there but didn't miss it until we were back in Sedona, where we were staying. I called and was told it would be mailed to me and I, of course, offered to pay the gal back. It never arrived so I left a note with Vanessa that day and lo and behold it arrived today and it had gone to the wrong address. Cheryl had taken the time to mail it back to me with the correct address. The shirt had traveled with me to Africa earlier in the year and I hated to lose it. I appreciated the willingness to send the shirt to me so that is a bonus to eat there! What service!
Read the story behind the Haunted Hamburger when you visit. They have daily lunches and specials for evenings each day of the week as well. May you enjoy the HH as much as we do!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JaneTucson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HauntedGroup, Owner at Haunted Hamburger, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thank you for such an amazing review. It makes us so happy to hear that our staff took such great care of you and that you were able to get your shirt back. We appreciate you taking the time to recommend us to future customers and we look forward to welcoming you back next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Good food, mediocre service, good views”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Ate here for lunch during our trip to Jerome and got the grilled veggie sandwich with fries. The food was really good. The services was average, but the servers were not friendly. Prices were average. Ate outside and the views were great!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank princesszha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HauntedGroup, Owner at Haunted Hamburger, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the views and the food. On the other hand we apologize that the service was not that great. Your feedback is very important to us and we hope to improve in this area. Hopefully we will see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Tourist Trap”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

The whole town of Jerome and this restaurant is a tourist trap and the food at this restaurant was terrible. Burgers, fries, salads...all bad.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jorgef98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HauntedGroup, Owner at Haunted Hamburger, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
We are sorry to hear that you felt to poorly about our little town, there is a lot of history here and we feel bad that you were unable to experience its charm. It sounds like it was a bad day for you and we are very sorry to hear that. We apologize that are food was not up to your standards. If we knew more specifically what you did not like about it maybe it would give us more of a chance to correct the things you did not care for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Haunted Hamburger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing