We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”
Review of Grapes

Grapes
Ranked #2 of 17 Restaurants in Jerome
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch
Kansas City
Level Contributor
99 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

This restaurant was interesting. It was an updated version of a restaurant in an old mining town. It had that modern feel with keeping the mining theme present. I loved it! The food was fresh and flavorful. I had gazpacho and my husband had a squash soup that he loved. We also had salads which were fresh and delicious.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank easterbunnykc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HauntedGroup, Owner at Grapes, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your meal. Thank you for taking the time to share you experience with others. We look forward to seeing you next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    475
    204
    31
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wickenburg, AZ
Level Contributor
78 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good menu, good service”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Even though the day had been pretty hot, we enjoyed a cool evening on the patio for dinner at Grapes. The menu had some interesting selections and all the food was fresh and tasty. The pizza at the table near us looked good, but we opted for sandwiches and salad. I particularly enjoyed the combo meal because I could try two different mini-sandwiches (turkey/cranberry cream cheese and salami/pesto) and also one of their salads (Mediterranean)... all good choices. The waitstaff was friendly and efficient. We really enjoyed our time here.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ArizonaDawna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HauntedGroup, Owner at Grapes, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
We are happy that you enjoyed dinner on the patio with us! Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with others. We look forward to seeing you next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
237 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Good food, good drinks and mostly good service”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We have been to Grapes about three times and find the food to be well prepared and fresh. There is a nice selection of wine and cocktails. The fare is reasonably priced and the service is reasonably good. Although not an excuse, I can sympathize with the wait staff as the restaurant is small (but has outdoor seating) and crowded and they are constantly having to say, 'excuse me, excuse me, excuse me...' as they try to pass by and around customers who are waiting to be seated. Often, you can see the frustration in their faces and that has to translate into less than desirable communication with their customers.

This restaurant is rated #1 on Trip Advisor for Jerome. I do not think it deserves that rating because a #1 rating, in my opinion, should be reserved for a restaurant that has a sophisticated menu, excellent service, and provides a 'fine dining' experience. (The ratings on Trip Advisor are not based on specific standards but rather on a popularity contest. There is nothing wrong with that but people ought to be aware of it before choosing a place based on the ranking.) That said, we definitely enjoyed our meals and would return again. Also, they have specials running most nights (e.g., the $5 pizza night) that is helpful to those on a budget. There is a good selection of sandwiches, salads, pizza, pasta and dinner entrees and is good value for the money.

Overall, it is a good place to drop in for a quick meal (you do feel like you have to be quick because there is usually a line of people waiting to be seated and because of the small size of the place, they are almost in your face. Definitely not a place to linger over a glass of wine after your meal.)

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Coltsneck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HauntedGroup, Owner at Grapes, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
We apologize that the service was not up to your or our standards. All of our restaurants are a little tight, it's part of taking historic buildings and turing them into modern restaurants. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the food and drink lists. A suggestion based on your review would be to come up for one of our wine dinners if you are looking for a more unique experience with more sophisticated food. The menus are posted online a month and advance and reservations are required, maybe this will charge your opinion on our number one rating. Thanks for the feedback, we look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
73 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Love the decor, excellent food”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Visited this restaurant for lunch based on other reviews we'd read. Sandwiches featured unique preparation, great taste, pleasing to the eye and generous portions. Would love to get back there for their upcoming wine dinner or for an evening event, but only if we don't have to drive down the mountain after.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank travlrover55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HauntedGroup, Owner at Grapes, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
You definitely have to come up and join us for a wine dinner, they are so much fun! Thank you for the great review, we are glad that you enjoyed dining with us. We look forward to seeing you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elk Horn, Iowa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“All around”
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

Wanted to visit the historic city of Jerome AZ drive was breathtaking, and we had been on the road for awhile so we needed a break we stopped in front of caduceus cellars, and decided food was first as we looked up the hill we noticed Grapes it looked inviting from the outside with clever signs and sayings out front we were a bit late for the lunch crowd 2pm or so we we greeted and seated right away started off with a cocktail and some lemonade for the children I had the special which consisted of a roast beef with cheddar and green chilies, on a baguette, it was tender and seasoned perfectly with cracked black pepper and spices and the flavor of the chilies in the background and the sauce was a chipotle aioli ....delicious, Caesar side salad was good too I love homemade croutons. My wife had a
Mediterranean salad with a Cabernet vinaigrette she said was also amazing and fresh with too large pieces of toasted focaccia, one of my daughters had the soup of the day a southwest chicken cheddar .. also very good and last my other daughter had spaghetti with a very nice marinara sauce and two pieces of the garlic focaccia also the food was excellent and the prices were spot on not highway robbery and that is a huge plus to this place I would recommend this to anyone in the area lastly the staff were very friendly and warm thanks to Grapes for a Great lunch

Helpful?
Thank Audiogod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HauntedGroup, Owner at Grapes, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review. We are so happy to hear that your meal was great. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with others. See you all next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Grapes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing