We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding Anniversary in a Cave”
Review of Baviaanskloof

Baviaanskloof
George, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wedding Anniversary in a Cave”
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We spent our 50th wedding anniversary in one of the cave houses in the Baviaanskloof. What awesome serenity! Beautifull scenery, absolute tranquility and near perfect lodging. Thank you Henreëtte for preserving nature and the environment for ourselves and our children.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Johann & Annatj... S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    14
    1
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The Valley of the Baboons”
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Do not try to drive from Patensie to Willowmore in one day. You will be exhausted and you will miss all the beauty, humor and peace the “kloof” has to offer. Slow living is the way you do it in the Baviaans so take a few days. Sleep over in one of the many self-catering cottages along the way and make sure your camera is charged and ready for action. Look out for the wild long hair donkey’s and baboon troops that can easily be 50+ in a group. Remember – 4x4 vehicles is the only way you can do this.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Wiesie1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Stunning”
Reviewed 15 May 2013

Have yet to do the whole of it - have only done sections and they have been worth it. We did it on bicycles, motorbikes and by car. The amazing rock face, streams and scenery is breath taking. Good for the soul!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sedgefield, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“CedarTourism”
Reviewed 18 April 2013

A wonderful guest farm amongst hills and valleys. A number of cottages to choose from depending on your numbers. We stayed in the cottage just for two which was really lovely. An outside bathroom to stargaze whilst soaking in the bath or having a shower. Great walks and places to swim. Although we did not see a leopard we did see a print which was pretty cool too!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank MoniqueSeaGypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hogsback
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Eastern Cape”
Reviewed 12 April 2013

We live in Hogsback in the Eastern Cape and are always trying to travel the different routes and visit smaller towns if we have to go somewhere. This time we were on our way to Cape Town and decided to stop over half way. Just outside Willowmore on the way to De Rust is the most tranquil spot to stay. Rens Reich Guesthouse. The owner Amour Strydom was the best host we have ever stayed with. It is a beautiful farm overlooking the Olifants river and when we walked out that evening we found stone tools and fossils. The sunset towards the Baviaans was amazing. We certainly plan to go again and spend much more time discovering more of the Baviaans.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank HogsbackNerina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Baviaanskloof also viewed

Eastern Cape, South Africa
Graaff-Reinet, Eastern Cape
 
Prince Albert, Prince Albert Municipality
 

Been to Baviaanskloof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing